Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underneath Your Skin

by thinkster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on the heart to create a blood cell and deliver it to your limbs without bumping into your veins! Save your limbs before they turn blue!

First time making a game with unity so spend most of the time figuring out how things worked. Hope you enjoy and find it frustrating but fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#116Theme3.83
#121Innovation3.80
#362Humor2.74
#420Fun3.17
#574Overall3.17
#702Mood2.84
#854Audio2.14
#892Graphics2.63

Comments

zerebruin says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Cool idea, needs a highscore of some sort!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Wow. What a fantastic idea and game, and nicely on theme. It would have been nice to know if I was progressing towards anything, or how many points I was scoring while in-game, but that's me being fussy. Brilliant!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Wow. What a fantastic idea and game, and nicely on theme. It would have been nice to know if I was progressing towards anything, or how many points I was scoring while in-game, but that's me being fussy. Brilliant! My fave game so far.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Does it ever end? Anyway, really cool mechanic, the whole game screems of urgency when the limbs are about to become blue! Very nice work!

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Wow, it's hard being the circulatory system. I really like how the camera control works -- feels really well tuned.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice idea!

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Ok, who needs feet anyway? They are way too far to get the blood cell there! :D

Nice work, a really original use of the theme. It makes you feel more nervous as time passes, adding pressure to the player very effectively.

But it's way too hard for me, that waist is too thin! Haha

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Awesome job! :D

Wir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

AWESOME idea!!!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Once I got the hang of it it was actually a challenge and somewhat fun!

Nelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Any rules/tutorials will be nice for it)

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Really fantastic idea, well made. I'd love to see where one could take that game!

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16pm

nice idea, nicely done, quite hard but it built a good sense of urgency

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

That was awesome! Super simple and really fun!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Yeah, a highscore would be fantastic, very addicting game!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I loved the idea. It had the "right amount" of frustration. A very simple, yet original game. Good job! - The heart beat sound did get a tad too annoying when you were about to fail- Good job!

Kate Kligman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Great idea and very nicely done.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Oh wow! that was stressful lol very well designed tension!

gnerkus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:31am

You're a very talented game designer and developer. Thank you so much for the inspiration.

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Best idea so far. I love the art too. You die pretty fast so it wasn't immediatly obvious to me that I was doing the right way. Maybe successful actions should have more visual or auio feedback. And I agree with the first comment: it needs highscore ranking.

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:04am

Interesting idea and fun, not sure the difficulty balance is quite right, but I suppose that if you made it easier there is a small risk the player could play indefinitely.

Good entry. :)

drilltail says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:58pm

So this is why my feet are always numb.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]