Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Breathless

by Wakka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yehaaaaw, I finished my first LD ;-)

Breathless is a puzzle game where you have to build pipelines to pump fresh air out of the water.

Stuff used (and learned)

* Engine: Godot
* Gfx: Pyxel
* Sfx: Audacity

* UPDATE April 29th: fix GFX glitches
* UPDATE May 1st: Sounds working now (Turned out I was playing them wrong :[ )

2014 by Nils Kuebler

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#231Overall3.55
#248Fun3.42
#498Innovation3.14
#528Theme3.30
#611Graphics3.09
#801Mood2.71
#887Humor1.97
#919Audio1.93

Comments

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Really cool puzzle game, i love that you have to move some parts of the environment and the pipes, and i especially love that there is no timer making me nervous heh.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

You've got some nice puzzles going on!
It gets hard pretty fast, but it's cool that there's never any pressure. :)

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I really enjoyed this! As soon as I realized it got challenging rather fast I was hooked. I liked the no rush factor too, that was nice!

gmaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

really cool puzzle! ) nice palette you used, how many colors?

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I'm in love with the idea. The only source of air is... underwater. It seems ingenious.
As some people already said, the levels get hard very quickly, which I didn't expect at the beginning. This sets it apart from the usual "lay pipes to some place" game. How ever, I personaly find that this difficulty rather comes from sticking all the tiles together in a way that is a pain to disasemble than that the puzzle is realy difficult.

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Finished it in 348 actions total, what makes me wonder how many moves one would get in a perfect run. Maybe someone is up for a challege?

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Liked it, it got difficult fast for me because I'm terrible at puzzles but I like the action of moving the pipes.

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

@Griz I just completed it in 80 Actions =) Who beats that?

Baknik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great animations and effects!

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Wow that's a really neat puzzle game. Would have been cool to have a lock on the raster for the pipes while moving them, though this is not at all necessary. Good job man!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Fun puzzle game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very well thaught out puzzle game. Challenging and fun.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26am

Completed the game in 165 actions!

The game was pretty fun - the fact that the pieces got into each other's way was pretty interesting. There are a bunch of graphical glitches, and no sound (as you mentioned), but this is a solid idea that just needs some more polishing!

Wakka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

@caranha thanks, GFX glitches should now be fixed :-)

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I don't normally enjoy puzzle games like this, but the absence of the timer made it way more relaxing. Got difficult quite fast for me, by I still enjoyed it.

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

Neat little puzzler. Completed in 294 actions.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

Fun puzzle game. The tube snap works perfect.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38am

Very fun little puzzle game, took me a second to figure out you can move some of the environment. Great work!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

neat puzzle! took me 180 actions

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

HOORAYYY!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Enjoyable little addicting puzzle game, well made and looks nice. Not quite exactly hitting the theme but that's okay.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Cool puzzle game! Reminds me a bit of Pipe dream

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice puzzle, simple yet challenging. Good entry

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Fun puzzle game! Wish I coulda heard the sfx, though...probably woulda made it even better :(

144 actions on my first shot.

Wakka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

SFX is fixed now

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:56am

There is some nice puzzle design here. Well done!

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Very Cool!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Really not a fan of such puzzle games but nevertheless well done :-)

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Yay, another pipe-game! Although the gameplay in this one is that of a piece-moving puzzle instead of our traditional Pipe Dream approach. Managed to complete it in 223 actions total, but it crashed when I tried to quit it. I usually end up brute forcing my way trough these kind of games instead of taking the time to figure it out. Really enjoyable puzzler though.

Noticed a bug I guess. When I had a square piece in the slot of an L piece I could only select the L piece. Same with any kind of piece in the slot really. Would've also liked it if releasing the piece without moving it didn't count as an action.

I'm not sure if posting this comment was too wise though; now the people playing this might play our game too and hate it, seeing how people have been praising the lack of timer and all that :D!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 3, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Interesting take on the whole pipe-game concept. I like the sliding puzzle aspects, having to move the pieces around and manage your space. Pretty fun to play and decent presentation. Good job!

May 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Very interesting premise with the shuffling gameplay combined with the very pipe dream-esque gameplay

ripatti says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Really nice small puzzle game! Finished in 189 actions (about 100 moves for the last puzzle). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]