Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submersion

by chase - Jam Entry

The Missiles Follow the Mouse Cursor

The controls for the Red Player are:
A : Move Left
D : Move Right
SPACE : Jump
Q : to toggle leftward of a device
E : to toggle rightward of a device, also fixes leaks
HOLD LEFT SHIFT : Toggle Grapple
w, a, s, d keys to use grapple

The controls for the Green Player are:
LEFT ARROW : Move Left
RIGHT ARROW : Move Right
UP ARROW : Jump
< : to toggle leftward of a device
> : to toggle rightward of a device, also fixes leaks
HOLD RIGHT CONTROL : Toggle Grapple
up, left, down, right arrow keys to use grapple

Credits:
Chase Hutchens -> Lead Programmer
Malachi Smith -> Art Director
Joshua Schlemmer -> Programmer
Joshua Louderback -> Programmer
Linus Chan -> Art
Mike Fields -> Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#129Innovation(Jam)3.59
#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#353Overall(Jam)3.24
#375Audio(Jam)3.06
#388Graphics(Jam)3.35
#427Mood(Jam)2.97
#515Humor(Jam)2.19

Comments

whendricso says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

Coudn't start the game - main menu not working

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Nice concept! I did something similar during the last Ludum Dare. It'd be helpful to have a reminder of the input in the game, it's a bit complex at first.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

This is actually super fun with two players. The first playthrough as single player was memorable at least - I sank, helplessly, as the green dude did nothing.

Best game i've played yet.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25am

Fun and interesting when I figured out what I was meant to be doing. Love the graphics and sound/music too

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Did not know how to play :( Art and Audio is nice, fits the theme and seems reasonable!

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Cool first multiplayer game ive played so far :D I wanted to try couch multiplayer with my game but diddnt have a chance. was pretty fun but really hard!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Had a great time playing this together with a friend! Liked the art style and the feeling of 'us two against the dangers of sea' :) Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

Cool idea, reminds me of Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime. But the controls are just too complicated. Well, this could be a great game, but it needs a lot of polishment.

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50am

Okay this was kinda fun. Controls are a little finicky but overall cool game!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:13am

Wow, a very nice concept, but maybe a little two difficult :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

Played this solo. After a few tries I managed to survive for 2 minutes and 8 seconds- Would probably better playing it with a friend- I loved it- Best game I've played so far!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Really nice game, controls compleex to start off

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

Overall, the game was OK. It did suffer from some major issues though. First and foremost was lack of any tutorial. I had to experiment to see what each equipment did, which sometimes had catastrophic results (such as flipping the submarine upside-down). Second, when I died, there was no "game over" screen, no way I could see to restart, so I had to refresh the page instead. If those issues (and better control for the torpedoes) could be solved, it'd be a decent game.

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:25am

Seems like it could be very interesting, I didn't fully understand exactly what to do:( but I really liked the character sprites:) and the gameplay did seem interesting, I just wasnt fully in control;)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Couldn't hold my attention for long enough to work out the game. Great art. Didn't use players walk, only the grapple. The screen-wrap was also very weird.

mortus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Great concept! I didn't figure out what was the orange thing for though.

May 4, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice concept, but the grapple controlled kinda weird.
Besides, a simple explanation at the beggining would be a big help haha

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:33am

I love the innovation, I really like how there's two players

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:35am

Fun game overall! A bit difficult to move around the ship in the beginning.

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Hard to control and to play as well, but I love the concept.

Check my video about further explanation.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Input heavy 2 player games often don't do well at LD, clearly you put a lot of thought into this, I wish you good luck, because you made a solid game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]