Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarves & Goblins

by PlasterPhantom - Jam Entry

Well, that sure was a whopping first game jam ever!
The beginning went very smooth, ran into some difficulties later on but we didn't back down. The man with the hammer couldn't get to us! Haha. Oh, the irony.

Instead, we took the man with the hammer to our own game.
In Dwarves & Goblins you take the role of a little fella with a gigantic hammer. It's up to you to protect your precious miners -- your kin -- from the dangers that lurk beneath the surface. A well known dwarven enemy, the goblins, will do anything that it takes to get a tasty bite from your juicy fat dwarven mining belly. Tremors through the earth's surface are going to be your best best to smack these hideous creatures into a warm kiln, namely the center of the earth.

Controls:

Move: Arrow Keys
Attack: Q, W, E, R
Jump: Space

EDIT: Okay, we are aware some people don't really understand what the power-ups do because of minimal feedback.

Powerup 1: Regenerates health of your miners
Powerup 2: Makes your miners invulnerable
Powerup 3: Get 2 extra miners
Powerup 4: The stability meter won't decrease
Powerup 5: Increased damage

All powerups, except powerup #3 have a duration. When the duration ends, the powerup ends also. Have fun!

Try to reach the highest score! Want to share your score? Mention us on Twitter! That'll be all cool and stuff. Twitter @PrzewalskiPaard.

Stay legendary.

-Team Jamplifier

Music: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/494588

EDIT: Little hotfix, controls now display on the page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#55Theme(Jam)3.86
#60Graphics(Jam)4.34
#71Innovation(Jam)3.77
#77Overall(Jam)3.74
#84Fun(Jam)3.59
#141Audio(Jam)3.60
#177Humor(Jam)3.12
#242Mood(Jam)3.35

Comments

Riko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

dis gayme is awesozmee!1!!

davidc. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:14pm

great game, loved it, keep it up, ad add more quippy quotes now and again, would of kept the humour up

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22am

this look really solid

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

Best game yet, really well done. Good Job.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice idea, nice art, great job!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Great game! music and graphics are awesome!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Great game, a little pause between the waves would have been nice. Looks amazing

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

nice job, It was quite challenging, specially controlling the bar

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32am

Oooh, this is a great start to something rad. Needs some obvious additions and fixes and stuff, but what you have here is really compelling. I love the 'balance/tilt' mechanic and the wave progression. I say keep working on this one.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36am

Interesting and fun Game.
Very nice graphics and good music.

In the beginning I always destroyed my own mine because I did not understand that I affect the "health" of the mine with my own hammer.
Once I got this it was actually a bit to easy and a bit boring... Just waiting for the stability bar to go up before striking again.

I got to wave 17 until I accedently destroyed my mine again...

My suggestion:
The dwarf should not be able to destroy the mine. With the stability bar you could control how many times the dwarf could strike with the hammer.
The goblins should be more powerful against the miners. I still had about 8 miners at the end of wave 17 until my infamous self destruction.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

@DanEEStar The growth is exponential, so it'll get more hectic and it is definitely difficult at some point. We have to make some compromises on balancing and finishing the game, but we sure had re-balancing in mind. Haha

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

Thanks for the amazing responses guys! They mean a lot to us!

Valandre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

great concept, very fun!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Cool! Great job guys!

Verspagen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

Yeah Awesome game ! I like it

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

I saw a lot of black boxes instead of enemy sprites. Made it harder to tell what's going on.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

We are aware of this black boxing issue. We are trying to fix this. But weirdly enough this issue did not appear to us a single time during the jam.. And it still does not. :p
Trying to fix it though, @Crowbeak :)

HernanZh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

FYI: I've seen the black box issue appear on people with Mac. Worked fine on my Windows machine.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

It's a WebGL related thing with sprites that are not in a power of 2, atleast that can be one of the reasons. PIXI JS should be able to handle this, but seemingly that doesn't always work. We'll look into it!

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Wow. Excellent graphics, smooth controls and nice and original gameplay that perfectly fits the theme. Good job !
By the way, I'm on a Mac and I didn't have any black box problem.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Thank you so much jujule! We appreciate your kind words a lot :)

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45pm

very innovative! the music gets a bit repetetive, but it fits the goblins style i guess, some soundeffects for the special hammer moves with be the finishing touch..solid game..

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

We've been smashing on tables and throwing stuff on the ground but we couldn't really get to a good sound effect. Haha. Too bad we didn't have a sound designer :P Thanks!

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Amazing looking game, it had some problems figuring out how the pickups worked, because i missed some when i jumped somehow. would recommend adding some sounds for the attacks

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

this game is so awesome. highest rating for me so far and added to my favorites list. outstanding.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I found that managing the stability bar to be a bit awkward, but otherwise this was a stupendously excellent game.

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

got to level 14, but didn't hear any music? Firefox 12.0 on Mac.
This game has great potential! Was a bit strange at the beginning though, because I pressed W twice and lost 2 times before I understood who I was

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Haha, oh well. Firefox doesn't like standard HTML5 audio unless they're in an ogg format. The game plays best in Chrome.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Wow. Really addictive and good game :D
Awesome work!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice game!, really polished. You guys did a great job.
I had some issues with chrome on OSX. I could see some black squares, but that's only rendering issue, the game it self is pretty decent! good job

KooBazz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really great game! Interesting and original game mechanic.

calvinsm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

its a really fucking game!!!
congratulations!!!
but I confess to you, was very hard to understand I need to do in the first 10 fucking times. In beginner, all the things looked so confused, "what I need to do?!", "fuckkk", "what I do wrong, Why!!!"

ok its that. =)

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very nice! Could definitely do with some sound effects though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Thanks guys! :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Wow, that's fun! Excellent graphics, great use of theme, nice music and solid gameplay. Made it to wave 23 before I accidentally collapsed my mine :[

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Awesome sound, graphics and solid gameplay!
Really cool game, love it :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Looks very good! Wish there were some sound effects, but the visual appeal is very nice! Nice song too!

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Love this, felt really good to smash the goblins into a pulp xD

May 1, 2014 @ 8:39am

Hahaha yeah it's awesome, if I may say so myself! :)

Kingtrez says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very nice game, i really enjoyed playing it. The only thing I didn't like was the confusion of the left and right controls when the character was upside down xD but no worries. Great job!

TeamEagle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

black box issue, can't seem to play it :(

Kate Kligman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:48am

Liked the music and the graphics. Nice game!

May 4, 2014 @ 3:40pm

We are aware of this issue and we'll attempt to fix it, but we're not exactly sure what might be causing it. I'll have some free time when I get home, so I'll google some stuff. Please stay tuned.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really good entry.. but no sound effects? Awesome game!

May 5, 2014 @ 1:06am

Nice graphics and music!

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:24am

Damn, that is a really solid and polished game! It was pretty cool to be moving on the outer side of the world whilst the conflict within was going on. I think the death triggered by fatigue is a bit too unexpected, perhaps slowing the character down a little would make the effect feel more detrimental. As is I thought he would just need to take a little breather and then I'd be able to move again.

The powers were really cool and the enemies were varied enough to be exciting. Amazing amount of work you managed to get done, had a ton of fun playing it :)

Rednas says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:37am

A good and solid game, i just found it getting boring after a few minutes.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Also getting the blackbox issue here. I know you're working it. If it helps though, the ones I got seemed to be stationary small ones - perhaps animated miners when they aren't running from goblins? I couldn't see them the whole time. Other than that some of the attack animations were black boxed but then went away afterwards (W attack I think). The most problematic was using R, which I assume to be 6 giant hammers all at once. Those blackboxes stayed the whole rest of the game, basically ruining the whole experience because they cover so much.

May 7, 2014 @ 11:33am

It's because most of our textures aren't in a power of 2. So we'll have to do some really solid refactoring for that. Currently we're all at our internships and we don't have as much time to work on it, communication is a bit of a problem due to that. We'll see what we can do, thanks for the feedback!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Hey congrats on your first LD!
The graphics are awesome and the controls are pretty solid: the game is nervous and you feel powerful with that hammer.
However, I think that the lack of actual game sounds is really hurting the experience.

May 12, 2014 @ 9:27am

We hit up with a sound designer for the sounds. However, I do not think we may actually place the sounds in the entry as it's quite a huge change. Especially because you can rate sound.

May 16, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I loved the music! Great entry overall

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]