Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by NoTrueSpaceman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Downloadable versions now available!

Use arrow keys to move your ship around. Deploy the diver with spacebar. Only the diver can collect treasure or disarm mines, but he can't travel far from the ship. If he spends too much time in the water, the sharks will get him.

The big feature is probably the level editor ;) Your level will be saved, but you can only have one "user level", like the old NES carts.

Feel free to share your levels in the comments!
Here's one to get you started:
1511111111
1011140011
1011101101
1011101101
1011101101
1011101101
1011100011
1011112111
1000000111
1111111111

This is a true "from scratch" game. No libraries or base projects. I was able to devote just under 12 hours to this game. It is playable, but incomplete. I really wanted time to do sounds and music this go, but real life intruded again.

I didn't plan on making any graphics, so I'm fine with the squares. I do miss the sound and music though.

I like the concept and have some ideas for some neat animations, so I'll probably extend this game in the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#295Innovation3.45
#459Fun3.12
#681Overall3.06
#793Theme2.97
#981Humor1.80
#1064Mood2.35
#1226Graphics1.81

Comments

Jamcount says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I like the idea, a diver goes "beneath the surface"

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

fun innovative small game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice concept!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice little puzzle game! If you make the solution tighter, I can really see it taking off on it's own.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Really fun, very nice concept. Although saying "from scratch" isn't really true with Unity...

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Wow, really awesome idea! You might think I'm crazy but I thought the graphics for this were almost perfect. A little sparkle might not hurt, but I loved the simplicity.

I think if you made a decent chunk of levels and added in maybe one or two more hazards/mechanics, this could be really great. Keep it up!

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

I thought "Web" would be JavaScript. I don't have Unity Web Player so I can't rate this, sorry.

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:21am

Proves that it's possible to make a good game with very simple graphics. Well done!

LinusPrime says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:09am

Very fun and innovative game. Good job!

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:37am

nice idea for a cool puzzle game.
But at this stage, we only have to go near a treasure and at one case of shark. Maybe forbid to recover the diver directly can be solve this?

conno1234 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:51am

Cool game!

mark.goetz says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:43am

Not bad for a little puzzle game! It could've used a bit more polish visually, but I liked the tradeoffs in the mechanics - using your diver to clear mines, deploying your diver to draw sharks away from treasure, etc.

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:26am

Decent turn-based puzzle game. It was not very obvious that the diver could disable the mines, but I figured it out eventually. At first I didn't want to risk the miner touching them. Doesn't feel finished yet, but with some further development it could show promise. I'd replace the squares with some pixel art icons that reinforce the meaning of the color, and add sounds, and more levels.

May 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

I liked the editor. I would want to save the maps that I make.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:34pm

@csanyk Good advice! I want to tweak the behavior of the diver: it should take more than one turn to defuse mines or collect treasure, so that there's more danger of the sharks showing up.

As it stands, I think some challenging levels could be made, so the base mechanics are there.

XrXr says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice little game! simple gameplay but fun!

May 15, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Wasn't able to reach the web version (Chrome), and the windows version won't launch (Vista).

May 17, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Minimalistic and interesting, it reminded me of chess a bit with the turn-based nature and requirement of planning several moves ahead. Nice entry!

Sestren says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:02am

I absolutely love that you allow user-submitted levels. Here's my attempt at one:
# Shark Bait
3333333333
3020202023
3252020203
3020202023
3202020203
3020242023
3202024203
3020202423
3202020243
3333333333

Also, here's a simple little spreadsheet I made to make it slightly easier to edit a level: https://db.tt/UV5Ar10J

May 21, 2014 @ 6:50pm

@Sestren Hey, nice! I liked that level. People should check it out :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]