Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Nail Gun Warrior

by Vidsneeze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's a disturbance in the city. The city calls on its only hope.... The Nail Gun Warrior.

Go underground and discover the mystery that lies.(lays?)

Press arrows to move
Press X to jump
Press C to shoot

Twitter
@Moraleszez

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Innovation3.44
#411Graphics3.39
#537Theme3.29
#792Audio2.28
#837Overall2.89
#1118Fun2.28
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Sadly didn't really get farther than the darkness level (I did figure out how to light up the level, but not how to get out of it...) Still a decent game for what I've seen.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Yeah I couldn't get past the initial two dark rooms, but the idea is really interesting!

LewisW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I quite liked it. Though after the 2nd dark room I found I could just get through the level holding down C and randomly jumping everywhere.

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

This white level is weird...

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30pm

What he said^ But I liked the mechanic for making tiles visible!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Like the other reviewers, I also didn't get any farther than the dark room... I expected that I'd use my gun to blow a hole in the wall and progress (like last time, where the way out was denoted with white), but that didn't seem to work...

Still, nice character design. Thanks for the game!

ricklesauceur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I am here for flixel :) Interesting concept, the gun noise is very annoying though.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Interesting idea. But "detecting" level takes too much time and isn't so fun after first underground room. :(

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Reminds me of the Unfinished Swan, but the nail collide sound effect was really bad.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:06am

Okay, now THAT is something you don't see very often. Neat reveal mechanic!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]