Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Down Beneath Us

by Woo Sang Hwang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is supposed to be a horror game, that combines with 2d platforming + RPG element to it.

HOWEVER, the game is not complete yet, and there are places you won't be able to go through. (maybe :D)

press R to revive.
stamina will recharge every time you move to next map.

FYI, the file size is abnormally big due to extra sound/graphics sitting inside the library :)

EDIT: All sound effects are from freesound.org.
I used python's pygame to program the game.
For now, I only managed to try the game on Windows.
just FYI!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#568Theme3.25
#656Audio2.58
#736Mood2.79
#1110Graphics2.25
#1130Innovation2.20
#1193Fun2.00
#1210Overall2.29
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The platforming is a bit awkward.
I accidentally pressed some button (debug key?) that let me fly across the map :o
The background sound sets a good cave exploring/horror mood, good job here!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30am

T button allows you to fly! but that's a debug key :D

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

The "Web" link is a bit of a misnomer... Is this a Windows build?

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Ditto, the "Web" thing is confusing as it is not a web-playable game. Perhaps switch that label to "windows"?

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice start for a platformer, needs some more interesting challenges. Going back to buy extra jumps was a bit tedious and from the final level it appears as if I wasn't able to go back at all. The music got a bit loud, might have some problem with playing the same sound multiple times at once.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

sweet little game, downloading 50 MB was a bit awkward. How about a real "web" link ?

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

The web game link is actually a windows download :(

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I wouldn't recommend EVER limiting your number of jumps when making a platformer. At the very least, let your stamina recharge, otherwise players are going to get stuck almost immediately.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Yeah T button!!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Explanation to Armanky:
This game was meant to be very hardcore.
I know how frustrating it is to have unrechargeable stamina.
That feature was supposed to be included in the shop, but I ran out of time. The character was supposed to start without an ability to climb (and later may unlock it in the shop). The whole game will be zoomed in, and stay much darker, such that players will actually be very careful to advance through. I may try to post the finished product on next ludum dare game jam (not compo) if theme matches luckily :D

Anyway, thanks for the good advice!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Platforming seems a bit clunky. With more refined controls this could be a pretty solid game.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Controls are a bit hard to grasp, but jumps are manageable once you get the hang of it.
However, once I got to the 4th level down (the one with lots of coins at the end), I get stuck because I cannot go up to spend coins on my stamina to get one last jump to cross the gap.
That being said, it could become a good game with some polish. The background audio was nice too.

Junber says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:11am

Its always nice to see another pygame-game. I think you should flip the charactar when he walks to the left or at least show a dead guy when you die instead of just disappearing. I could buy Health upgrade in the store and as Delca said I wasnt able to go back from the level with the coins at the end. Except from that nice game.

May 15, 2014 @ 6:33pm

FYI: Freesound effects are not allowed in the compo, everything must be self-produced. No one seem to care though, but heads up anyways.

The fact that you run out of jump power doesn't seem like a very good idea, since it gives a lot less freedom, and feels frustrating. It seems you suffered from Not Enough Time, better luck next time!

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:28am

I think the controls need some polishing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]