Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shady has to eat

by anvoz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't focus much on game development but always try my best to participate in LD.
Here is my second entry, using Phaser and Adobe Illustrator.

Jump: up - Move: left, right
Hunger: -1 HP/second - Sunburn: -25 HP/second
Eat: +5 HP/human, +1 score/human

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#523Humor2.47
#535Innovation3.09
#537Theme3.29
#693Graphics2.95
#849Fun2.68
#892Mood2.61
#953Overall2.76
#1058Audio1.31

Comments

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

I liked the way you interpreted the theme and how you used it with the colour scheme you chose. Collisions are a bit strange sometimes, maybe it's just me...

anvoz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

@alvarop Did you mean it's quite hard to go up/down the surface. Maybe because Shady is too fat for those holes.

anvoz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

@alvarop Oh I forgot that those holes were expanded already few hours before I decided to submit the game. Can you describe more about your strange collision experience?

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I love the graphics, interesting idea!

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

i found the idea very interesting (monster has to eat!), but the gameplay was kinda average. a very more bloody eating animations, or a dying animation would have made a huge difference

anvoz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

@pythong Yeah, some cool animations could make a huge difference. But that was all I could draw. I didn't even have enough time for adding some sound ^__^.

mattpattie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

nice game. like the hand drawn look.

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Well, I can say it fit the theme at least. In the end, the game is very simple: exit through the left hole, follow a cloud, enter in a right hole, and repeat. The quicker clouds do increase the challenge, but the jumping issues are a bigger challenge (as in loose controls). Mostly an average entry in my opinion, below par in many areas, but does well for the theme.

anvoz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

@StencylTuo I wish I could spend more time on the gameplay. Since this is my second entry, using the same tools as the first one, I thought I could take it easier but unfortunately the new version of Phaser was giving me more troubles than I expected. The quicker clouds challenge is just a backup plan. I were glad that I could make it playable in the end.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Nice concept !

vogon101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

This is a great game. Fantastic job! Really great idea and fun to play!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Awesome job! Nice graphics ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I like the global aspect, it's very sweet !

I would agree about the scenario : "exit through the left hole, follow a cloud, enter in a right hole, and repeat" it's kind of breaking the gameplay but anyway i had fun !

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Exploitable and repetitive but you had a very good idea.
Fits the theme properly.

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The graphics were nice and good use of the theme. Your phaser skills are obviously better than mine, but as a framework it is very promising.

For gameplay's sake I would consider having clouds at different height going at different speeds and in different directions. Also making the shadow less transparent so to make it clearer where it is. An animation of shady burning when exposed to sun.

If bottom layer of the dark-zone was patrolled by people with flashlights it would also up the gaming experience I think.

Maybe even a dark/light cycle on the above world where night implies safe roaming but fewer people or so?

Nice start, but some more work on the game-aspect so it's not only about running around in a circle.

anvoz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36pm

@local minimum The cloud variations feature like you said was cut because some technical issues. I really like the idea about people with flashlights in the bottom layer. They should cause some damage to Shady too.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I have to agree with StencylTuo about the gameplay aspect, the idea was okay but with clouds moving the way they do the game is too repetitive. The collision detection also feels a bit unforgiving when jumping near the edge. The graphics are nice though, overall the game looks well finished.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Neat little game with simple mechanics. It's fun being the bad guy sometimes too

triforcespark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23am

Gameplay feels repetitive, but good graphics.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:24am

Pretty neat, I liked how I could use the clouds to avoid sunburn.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Interesting game. It would be cool, if the clouds moved randomly, not just in one direction. This way, I can plan my "strategy" easily. But that's just an idea.:)

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Interesting idea. Would have been cool if the clouds came from different directions and at different speeds. Extra levels would have been cool too. Nice simple art style. Good work.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:49pm

The game doesn't have a ton of challenge once you learn to just run back to the left underground and jump up and follow a cloud across the top. I like the idea though.

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:32am

You'd think that if a monster was eating people on the street, at some point, people would stop coming out. :)

May 4, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Quick and fun arcade goodness. I like the way the gameplay works, but i think adding different behaviours for the clouds would make it much more interesting

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:14am

Liked it. I would just change the gameplay a bit: you could have more layers of food apering in different times. A little bit boring once you get the way to play forever.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]