Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Louis and the Louse

by Kerdelos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left and right arrow to move.
Up arrow to interact with each hair.
Down arrow to go through the dialogues.


You are a louse named Jean-Pierre and you must help Louis have a good day if you want to survive. In order to do that you are able to interact with Louis' hairs to influence his emotions. The game is really short but is featuring 3 different "endings".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#136Humor3.33
#365Innovation3.35
#588Theme3.23
#738Graphics2.88
#789Mood2.73
#892Fun2.63
#895Overall2.83

Comments

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Good concept! Wasn't sure what I was doing until a little ways in, but it's a clever / silly story and the PiP was well designed / executed.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Interesting setting. Hoped for more content but enjoyed what was there. Good job :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Looked nice, wasn't too sure what I was supposed to do exactly, but was pretty cool anyway. Nice job

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Interesting concept. Wasn't sure what I was doing until I noticed the faces on the signs next to the hairs.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Veyr interesting concept.
A little more content wouldn't have hurt, but regardless, well done. :)

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great concept and very cool graphics! You should keep developing it :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

A new head to colonize... Jean Pierre the louse is an evil genius D:
Nice job!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Took a while to get the controls down, but this game was pretty neat. I can't wait to see where it goes from here. picture in picture was in genius!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice Idea I like it.

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

fun concept, would like more content and wasd keys added:P

anvoz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Fun and interesting little game. Need to inform when you're able to interact with Louis' hair.

gikdew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

At first I was like "what the hell is that?", but then I realise that all those things are hairs LOL. Very fun and the game concept is really good and nice story telling.

(It's good to have some spanish people on ludumdare)!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Haha I loved the concept! There wasn't much gameplay to the game, but I was fun to play! :)

Rad Star says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I really liked the concept, cool idea!

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very interesting idea! I like the dialogues. Good job!

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Really cool concept. Fun story!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cool graphics. Interesting idea.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:29am

Love the graphics, and innovation

Jiggawatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Streamed this. The game ends before it's even started, and it's a bit of a shoddy run even for that short length.

May 8, 2014 @ 4:53pm

An original setting for a story, for sure.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:24am

Funny story and interesting concept. Would have like some voices and music effects. Keep going with less bugs and little more gameplay, sure it will be an great game!

alvivar says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Cool idea.

I recommend:

+ More direct feedback on the actions.
+ A fast way to play it again, it's so easy to lose.
+ Sound FX.

Atmospherium says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:18am

It took a while to figure out exactly what I was supposed to do, but once I figured it out everything went smoothly. I finally made it to the other head to colonize.

Interesting way to integrate the story, and a fair bit of humor for such a quick game. You definitely have a tendency toward unique gameplay and art, and I'd definitely encourage you to keep experimenting. Keet it up!

TheSheep says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Please don't tag Unity 3D games as "web". They are not web games and won't work on some platforms.

Kerdelos says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Duly noted !

Sink says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Really humorous and cool game! I liked the multiple responses to every interaction!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]