Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Deep

by DannyG59 - Jam Entry

So I made this game for the 48 hour Game Jam.

After about 35 hours of straight work I fell asleep and missed the deadline by I think around 30 minutes :(

Woe is me... but that's behind me now! Cause I found out I could submit to the Jam!

So here is my game the deep!

It's a Rogue like set underwater. If you make it to the bottom then you will be in for a surprise! But it is hard...

Arrow keys to move
Just walk over the top of enemies to attack them

and enjoy!

Thankyou for taking the time to play.

Arrow keys to move.

Regards
Danny Gallagher
@DannyG1888

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#8Audio(Jam)4.36
#41Mood(Jam)4.08
#59Theme(Jam)3.85
#68Overall(Jam)3.76
#78Graphics(Jam)4.27
#106Fun(Jam)3.52
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#370Humor(Jam)2.57

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

A pretty good game overall. I thought it was very pretty. I was sad that there wasn't more content. I definitely would play it as a full game with multiple chapters and some strategic decisions.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

You have a really cool game on your hands. I'd flush it out more for sure.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Really nice intro, sets the mood, game felt short without too much content, but what can you do. I really liked the intro and the music, made me really relaxed after stressing to finish my own entry.:)

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

This game was fun to play. It felt very polished, everything fit well together. :-)
I loved leveling myself up by catching fish. I didn't really see where my health was shown... but I survived anyway. :D

Matt Hartley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I love the graphics and the music was awesome too, great job! :D

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Really fun game - I made it to the surprise before dying :). I really like the smoothness of the intro cinematic and the background music is really nice. The game feels polished, and is an interesting take on the rogue-like genre.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Thankyou guys

Schnüt your HP is your oxygen count sorry! haha, it's up the top left and you can recharge it by hitting the surface. There is prompts if you fall short

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nooooo! Sorry you didn't make the jam cos of pure fluke! I was up for 46 hours straight so I definitely feel your pain!

Anyway great game! So well polished! Great music, the visuals are awesome, I love the little touch of seeing air bubbles where fish are and the radar mechanic. So well designed!

Dunno why but there seems to be a plethora of fishing games (not just talking about this LD) lately in indie circles, I guess Ridiculous Fishing awakened the fishing soul in us all :P

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

It's too bad you missed the compo, but at least you made the jam. Still an awesome game. I would love to see more levels and such in a post compo version or something.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Nicely balanced, playable rougue like. I'm really into it :)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Looks great!

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Awesome level of polish and atmosphere, but making me go through the lengthy intro sequence every time I died kind of soured the experience for me. Great effort overall though :)

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Yeh sorry about that, I literally had no energy to make it skippable, I'm sorry :(

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

this is brilliant! It feels so polished and nice, the music is totally killing it aswell. Man can you post a soundcloud link or so to that track? Im totally digging at, aswell as the graphics

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

Brilliant idea for a rough like and great sound/atmosphere.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

I will try Rick!

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nicely done rougelike in a very unusual setting, great music and art, created a very moody atmosphere:) Great Job:)

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Really cool visual style, I like it. Music is also awesome!

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Love the visuals and the music. I keep dying tho! Well done in producing something so polished over the weekend!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

At least managed to kill a few Robo-sharks :D Nice little moody Roguelike! The lengthly intro did bug me a bit but only after the first death where I didn't know what I was doin'. Second attempt went a lot better :D

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38pm

ha! did anyone manage to kill the boss ?

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:43am

Great intro and music! Wish I could restart faster though. I would love see this fleshed out into a bigger game, I played through and beat it. I was able to spawn camp the robotsharks and leveled up to 53 pretty fast.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:41am

Interesting game, I had a similar idea in the beginning.:) My bigest complaint is, that it takes too long to restart after I die. That's a kinda big issue, since the players doesn't want to wait so long.
I like the Game Boy like graphics tho.:)

DannyG59 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:18am

Thanks, yeh the big issue is definitely retrying, it's a pain in the ass. Currently smashing out a bigger version so I will post a link soon

May 5, 2014 @ 5:24am

The music is awesome!

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice game. Took me a while to figure I had to go down, as the intro showed the character going upwards.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Oooo just loving that visual style and audio, seriously. The gameplay itself was straightforward but engaging.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Cool concept. Like the music.

DannyG59 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:24pm

If you want to keep uo with the dev you can find me here http://funnylookinggames.wordpress.com

or on twitter as @DannyG1888

It's going on android and iPhone and I have a few nice ideas for the progression etc.

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:38pm

The intro took too long to get back to playing after death. You need to work on this more and release it expanded.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice intro, music and atmosphere. Too bad there's only one chapter! Would have like more content and game play :)

DannyG59 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:39pm

@wademcgillis it was the first thing I fixed ;) it isn't the same anymore

@BadPaul thankyou paul! there will be a full game soon

copain says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:46pm

nice look game.
A little problem for balancing: ennemies respawn at the same point, so I just had to make left right (respawn), right right (I kil the ennemy); then left right (respawn) etc...

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:37am

Great game, love the music and graphics! There's a lot of strategy, and a simple and effective level system - I like how your oxygen meter was also your HP. I was hoping for a bit more progression but given what you had in the timeframe I think it's fine. Can't wait to see what you come up with!

And yes, I beat the boss.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]