Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sail

by DrPrettyPatty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: If the start button doesn't work in the web player, refresh and hit 'always run on this site' then refresh again. This should fix it for any game that uses the Unity Web Player (in Chrome anyway)

Sail the sea, discover underwater treasures, and befriend a squid! Gather all six treasures to see a special ending :D

WSAD: Sail boat
Left Mouse: Drag fishing net
Right Mouse: Use hook
Space: Use spyglass

Hint: If you can't figure out how to get fish, the squid dialogues "Bird like fish" and "Left click might help" are important to keep in mind ;) Also, the hitbox for where the hook detects treasure is actually on the front of the boat, not the side.

I used Unity3D, Blender for modeling, Gimp for texturing, SFXR for the sound effects, and the fantastic music generator by Per (thank you!!) which can be found here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/02/19/procedural-music-generator/

Website: http://zakjr.com/blog
Twitter: @RealZakReynolds (I was pretty inactive until recently, but I'll be tweeting more game stuff on there now!)
Postmortem (my site): http://www.zakjr.com/blog/?p=97
Postmortem (LD.com): http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/03/sail-postmortem/

Beginner's Blender and Unity Tutorial Series: http://www.zakjr.com/blog/?p=25

EDIT: Gah, of course the one bug I found minutes after the submission period happened to be game breaking. Reuploaded and it's all good now :)

EDIT2: Uploaded a new Web.html file which disables the annoying popup menu in the web player when you right click

EDIT3: Uploaded new standalone versions to fix the GUI popping up too early during the end scene (counting it as a 'typo' bug, I forgot to click "Save and Close" in Scaffolding). I'm leaving in all the other GUI bugs though, out of fairness.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#25Graphics4.42
#45Overall3.96
#54Mood3.93
#96Audio3.66
#96Fun3.72
#113Humor3.42
#269Theme3.60
#333Innovation3.39

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

This game is beautiful! Just moving around was a joy! And the way the Squid spoke to you and gave you hints about the controls was great. Excellent game!! Will be playing more!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Great job. With the quests, music, and general feel this brought me back to the PS1. Good stuff!

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Top marks all round, adorable and fun!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Beautiful artwork! Fun gameplay. I enjoyed sailing around. :D

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice atmosphere.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Really love the low poly :D

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Reminded me a lot of Legend of Zelda Wind Waker (looks like you emulated the water texture too). Only problem I had was that right click diddn't work so great for the web version as it kept bringing up the browser menu.

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Incredibly beautiful, reminds me of Wind Waker.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Beautiful graphics, really cute concept. I could see this game getting developed further into something bigger.

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

This game is gorgeous! My computer crashed midway through and I came back to keep playing. This game is great!

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

Amazing production for a compo. The gameplay is simple but fun, I wish I had more time to put into it right now, only found one treasure so far. The sailing animation is nice, wish there was a turbo item to make moving around a little easier when I go far out of my way.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Wonderful! Now how did you know I liked Windwaker so much. HOW DID YOU KNOW.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Thanks everyone! @otato and Move127, yeah I've been playing Wind Waker again recently haha.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

And Lacaranian, sorry I didn't refresh the page for a while :P

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

What a beautiful game. The character is pretty cute!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

Low poly graphics are awesome, I dont really see the theme here but the gameplay is very enjoyable!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

The graphics definitely stood the most out about the game. It took a bit to understand things about the game, and to be honest I did not figure out the element of treasure hunting in the game. Also I glitched and got items I wasn't supposed to yet as it counted me as having enough fish as I was next to the squid while it was counting down. Still, an enjoyable and calm game, and impressed you managed this in 48 hours!

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Charming visuals, great audio, and addicting, though in a very relaxing way.
Played it all the way through! Great game!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

First, a couple of minor issues: I had to fullscreen the Unity web player in Firefox, because for this game right click brought up the menu. I think there's some way to have right click work even in windowed mode, but I don't know it myself. Also, the hook sound is kind of annoying and it's slow. Last complaint, the treasure in the star was hard to find compared to the map. :P

That said, really well done. The graphical style is great, the boat controls are great, the music is soothing, and the whole thing is cute. Being able to look at the map from overhead while looking at the map is very helpful!

skppo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Really nice! Got around the right click issue by running fullscreen. Loved the animations.

BeardedCow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great Game, don't want to give spoilers but just say that I showed some emotions at the end.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Love your art style!

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

I love this. I love everything about this. I love the cool octopus friend. I like the treasure hunting. All of it.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Awesome! Nice work!!!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

Beautiful game. Very nostalgic!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50am

Beautiful game. I will be sharing this game around.

euske says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48am

This is a kind of game that I wish I could make. Good job!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

This is a very pretty game :)

Reminded me of Wind Waker. I couldn't figure out how to catch fish, but I really did enjoy using the boat :)

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Great low poly and consistent artwork. I absolutely love the level design with the spyglass. This is so polished for compo...excellent work!

I didn't figure out the fish icons on the treasure map until the last map though..I was searching crazy for those fish. Kinda funny. Also the very last spot/trigger for right-click must be small or I didn't understand because it took me about 10+ tries around that area.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Really enjoyed this, very charming, and relaxing

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

This is amazing! Definitely reminds me of Wind Waker. Very good work. The squid was a nice game mechanic.
~funkeh

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

This is very cute !

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

So charming!

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

This is pretty impressive for 48 hours ^^ You've managed to make something very solid. Tight controls, clear objectives, good overall design ^^ Somewhat to overlay the map (maybe make the treasure maps transparent)while in 'eagle' mood, would have helped with the difficulty of treasure 6.

With the default toon-shader, a way to make all the edges line up well in engine, is to grab all the models and make sure that they're all completely soft edge. Hard-edges cause the lines to raise unless you rewrite the shader. That isn't a detractor for the game, but just a heads up for future work with the toon shader. ^_^

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22am

I love the character, he looks so fluffy ^^ it's nice to sail around, great job on the game.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

You're a monster.

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44am

Not bad. It recreated the sailing from windwaker decently well.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Has a very nice Wind Waker vibe to it.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Great entry. Controlled quite well alongside nice graphics and audio. :)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

This really is great. Really nice feel to it, kinda therapeutic and light-hearted. Great art and music.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:31am

I couldn't figure out where to find fish -- but this looks and feels lovely to move around ;)

May 1, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Took me a while to understand that you have to find zones where small lightning to fish but after that, incredible experience. You made this in 48hrs?? Congrats man, it's impressive, and this windwaker mood.... brilliant!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:31pm

very very fun game to play. im surprised you managed to capture the windwaker feel into a game in such a short time. great visuals fun gameplay and the dialog is awesome :p

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Well, this is nice entry.. Unfortunately I've seen only half of every dialog - center of text dialog wasn't placed in the middle of the screen , but rather left side was in the middle.. so I've seen only half of it with other half being offscreen. (Linux, standard notebook resolution: 1366x768)
But still I really enjoyed this :-)

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:42pm

really lovely move, couldn't seem to actually find any fish, but sailing was nice anyway

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Beautiful and relaxing game, with a clear objective, a bliss :D

May 2, 2014 @ 8:30am

haha I loved sailing around!!!! Top marks!!!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:52am

Wow. Just wow. Loved it. One of my favourites so far!

Frump says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Bummer ending. Loved the game!

MaesK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great game, it reminds me of Wind Waker too, and that is good. Nice work with the sea and graphics, specially the toon shading effects.

It seems a lot of us preferred the sea for the theme :)

May 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I loved this! Fantastic graphics and overall tone to the game. Really great work.

May 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I couldnt figure out how to fish...
Great graphics!

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:27pm

REally a great entry! One of the best I have played.

Sink says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:53am

Really cute and relaxing! I really like the visuals and music. The hook was a bit too precise, but other than that it's super fun, Great job!

Quady14 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:20am

Really fun little game. Had a great time sailing around and searching for treasure! Very silly ending. Great work on this one!

ElStevo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:39am

Wow ! This is so beautiful ! I love cellshaded graphics. We just miss the wind mechanics :)

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:08am

Absolutely loved it! Great graphics and music. Lots of fun looking for treasure. Definitely scratched that Wind Waker itch. One UI suggestion: it would have been nice to be able to select a map and see a miniature version of it in the bottom right corner of the screen.

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:10am

Wind Waker inspired for sure. I love the aesthetic, and the feeling of moving around felt nice!

GarethIW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:06am

Oh my that ending - I did *not* see that coming :D

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:14am

This reminded me a lot of Wind Waker (which I loved). It was pretty well put together, though the sound effect for the crane got pretty annoying. The graphics are great though and the the game plays nicely. For 48 hours it's quite impressive!

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Like the idea and mood. But lot some thing wasn't obvious for me while playing.

RikardKarlsen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Very beautyful and fun!

recursor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:11am

A first I was running around dropping my nets in places where I thought there should be fish, then I figured out you can see where they are. This was quite fun, and I really like the graphical style. Very Nintendo-ish.

javierecf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:11am

Excelent visuals and audio. I did not figured out how to use the hook. But fishing and feeding the octopus was relaxing and funny. Good gameplay but it can become repetitive after some minutes.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:21am

This was really ambitious for a 48 hour project and you totally pulled it off! I would love to see a version where you have even more time to refine these themes because good job.

stvr says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really fun! The obvious inspiration is OK in my eyes, it's still pretty neat!

fallingBear says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:03am

Amaizing, such joy to play.

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:05am

I'm getting serious Zelda: Wind Waker vibes from this game, and that's awesome! I love the visuals, I love the environment and, wait, did you put in a "maze island" in there? Hahaha, more please! My only recommendations: 1. the music is too tinny for something so grand and relaxing, and 2. the ability to move the camera would've been a nice bonus. Holy cheese, if you did something this good for a 48 hour compo, what'd you do when you actually have time to port it?

Brodenino says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Very clean and charming graphics, and well polished. I can see where you found your inspiration from as well :)

DesignerNap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I was going to mention windwaker... but everyone else already did. Instead I will just say I played this a lot and had great fun with it. You have done well to make such a great looking and fun playing game in such short time. Well done!

TijmenTio says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Really nice ambient! Didn't really get why he sunk at the end though haha.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:11pm

@TijmenTio because BENEATH THE SURFACE! Haha I threw the ending together last minute, and a nice king of the sea ending seemed too cliche at the time :P

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:00am

Very beautiful, loved being in that world :)

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Good Game!
Fun, paecefull, easy to play ^^ (I'm between want some action, and more sailing...)

But... why I died? I give all my effort on this game to finished and bad pirates take my glory and gold... :(

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:00am

Dude, graphics are so amazing ._.

radmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:14am

Nice wind waker vibe :) Was a bit unintuitive to figure out at first since I didn't realize you needed to hold left click, and there's no feedback aside from the counter when you get fish. The top down view is a great touch. Nice work!

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:39am

Adorable and fun, the sheer presence the boat and low-polyness gave me a windwaker feel!

TeamFlare says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Windwaker ! :) realy nice little game

May 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Super cute looking little game! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

May 10, 2014 @ 7:04am

What a great 48hr entry. Was fun to figure out where the fish were. Was fun to just drive around and explore. Was SUPER fun to use the treasure maps and pull up treasure. Well done. Would expand on this and keep doing on it.

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice art!

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:40am

This game did a great job at making me want to pop the 'ol Wind Waker back into the GameCube and start sailing the seas again. The last treasure was a pain in the arse to get, but other than that the gameplay was solid and fun. The graphics are ace, and the audio even sounds a bit like something out of a Zelda game, which is nice.

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:09am

It feels like you might have been inspired by wind waker. :P

Anyway obviously amazing graphics. Solid gameplay, though I might have wanted a chance to make the end different. But that's just me. Amazing amazing job.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Adorable! Really impressive for 48 hours too!!

Tifu says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:16pm

On web version, my game froze when when I got the fifth and sixth map (at the same time, which seemed odd, I don't think I had twice the necessary fish) - music and animations continued, but I was frozen looking at octi :(
Restarted on download version, worked fine, got all treasures. Fun game! Love the visuals and the nice relaxing vibes :D

JonathanG says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:05am

Good fun, clearly inspired by Wind Waker. Enjoyed the subtle zelda references. Got 5/6 treasures but struggled to find enough fish at the end, so couldn't get the last map. Well put together.

JavadocMD says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:32am

Simple but beautiful. All the elements combine to form a peaceful but challenging experience. Well done!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Wow, this is absolutely delightful, the level of polish and amount of content is very impressive! Nice work! That ending though :(

Garris says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:10am

Game was cute and the music was nice. The squid was helpful in moving the game forward, but I wished there was more direction.

daredevildave says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very nice game. Nice looking, shame the UI wasn't as good as the rest. :-)

LeReveur says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:20pm

If I was the only one to note, you would won. :D

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I really enjoyed this =]

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:36pm

You somehow took all the worst bits of Wind Waker and made an awesome game, I have no idea how.

The ending was hilarious, the aesthetic was great, the level design was great, it was a nice homage to WW as well what with the triforce. Really calm and relaxing, great set of game mechanics.

Loved every minute, amazing. Definitely checking out your entries in future.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]