Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Caeruleo

by robodylan - Jam Entry

A platformer where you must navigate the map using your ray-dar. You must collect as many coins and rubies and shoot as many enemies before the time runs out.

Controls:

[A] = Left
[D] = Right
[Space] = Jump

[Left Click] = Shoot
]Middle Mouse] Scroll = Climb Grappling Hook
[Right Click] = Throw Grappling Hook

This was made as a team with Webfreak001

Please don't submit a complaint without reading the FAQ or reading the description above

Any problems, read the FAQ

http://pastebin.com/BfrJqGU1

Music Author:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Blaehubb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#407Innovation(Jam)2.93
#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#603Humor(Jam)1.90
#680Mood(Jam)2.31
#716Fun(Jam)2.10
#719Theme(Jam)2.05
#738Graphics(Jam)2.10
#742Overall(Jam)2.20

Comments

mimiga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

hey pretty cool idea but it kind of had some problems i'll just share my thoughts:
- as far as i know there isn't a restart button, which means you have to restart the exe every time you want to play again, which is tedious especially considering how quickly you die
- should have put full controls tutorial in the game as well as just on the LD page
- the game is very fast and difficult to make sense of, i almost feel like a unlimited time, slow pace puzzle platformer with these weird navigating mechanics would have been cooler

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I couldn't get the game to work for some reason. It may have just been my computer, but I wasn't sure which application to run. I tried LD-29.exe, but nothing seemed to show up.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I have no idea what the heck is going on...
1. The control is very hard to get used to.
2. I can't see crap!
3. All these different colors of circles in darkness... what's going on
4. my character dies randomly... sad.

I think the idea of a game is good, but it was not executed well. I really hope to see the finished version of this :D

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

The game needs a better explanation, I couldn't figure out what to do intuitively.

robodylan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

@Woo Sang Hwang The Game Is In the Dark. The only way to see is by using the ray-dar: AKA the spokes. That's the hard part of the game. You are not dying randomly. The Time Is running out. Read everything above, it will expain everything. I don't think I can add more explanation without breaking the rules

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

I lose myself sometimes,,, but the game is cool

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Wow, at first I didn't know what is what, I tried reading the description and was confused. I found out I shouldn't resize the window or else the ball isn't centered on the spokes which cleared things up for me. After a while I got the hang of it but is it supposed to be this short or can you increase the time somehow? I love the music, after the time out I would leave it like that to hear the music play :D.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

I couldn't figure out what to do. Too many controls. But I scored 80!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12am

I'm using Windows XP. I extracted all the files, and I can run the launcher, though the images are half-hidden. But when I click the orange button, it crashes with this error:

Unhandled Exception: System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load file or assembly 'sfmlnet-graphics-2, Version=2.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format.
at LD_29.Launcher.<>c__DisplayClass1.<button1_Click>b__0()
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart_Context(Object state)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean ignoreSyncCtx)
at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart()

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13am

Too bad this game doesn't have better graphics so I could see what is happening. Still did some swingen. The idea and music are good.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Took a while but finally got the hang of it. Everyone wants to be a radar Tarzan!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The music is nice, but it's pretty difficult to figure out what's going on.

Vulpus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Really confusing on what I'm supposed to be doing.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Is the timer supposed to be 60 seconds? It counts down about 5 a second for me, making the time very short.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:47am

Hey, cool idea, but missing some key components. Definitely need a way to quit/restart the game. The timer seems to countdown exponentially, rather than at a fixed rate. It was very hard to see or understand what to do. The 'seeing with radar' is a good idea, but needs to be developed visually a bit more.

trueyomic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:49am

I couldn't see a thing. I didn't quiet know what my 'webs' were attaching to. The timer was too fast and I had to close the whole program to try again. The controls weren't very responsive either. Definitely needs a re-work because the idea and descriptions of the controls made it sound interesting.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

That was hard to play. There wasn't enough time at all to get started, and at least for me, having to switch input modes to something that WSAD works for, meant I lost the first 1/4 of the time anyway. The idea of a platformer in the dark is kind of cool, but the rest of the design really held it back.

robodylan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:41am

I don't understand the timer error everyone seems to have. I am unable to recreate it, The game runs at 60 frames per second and subtracts 1 / 60 each run then rounds it to newrest integer.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Music is very good!, the idea is cool too

danbo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:58am

Very interesting idea, but difficult to really get into due to the timer bug. Other than that, I like the combination of two ideas that have seperately seen a lot of use here - the radar and the grappling hook.

KuGrou says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:08am

Really liked the concept and music. However I was also having issues with the timer, which may of been related to the inconsistent performance I was seeing each time I restarted the application to play again.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]