Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Goat Guzzler

by rorycooke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Troll just wants to have a nice relaxing time beneath the surface but the goats won't stop pooping


- Troll follows you mouse
- Right click to jump in and out of water
- Left click to eat

Troll gains heath in the water but loses score multiplier and smells of poop


I generated the music in wario ware DIY - that's why it is terrible :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Humor3.97
#66Graphics4.23
#160Fun3.57
#191Overall3.61
#329Audio3.12
#354Innovation3.37
#367Mood3.20
#568Theme3.25

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

More people need to play this. It's so satisfying to jump out of the water and guzzle down a bunch of goats! Great game. Art style is good too and an original take on the theme.

oenvoyage says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

one of my favorites so far

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Sweet music :)

rorycooke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

oh the music is terrible, thanks for the comments, I really wanted the jumping out of the water mechanic to be satisfying so I am really happy that you think it is

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Really digging the sort of papercraft/felt look you gave the game.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Simple and entertaining! This was seriously fun. Dat soundtrack xD

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

One of the best! Graphics,sounds,gameplay... Very unique work!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Awesome graphical style and concept. Controls for eating goats seems kinda random, I'm just clicking as much as possible.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Great art. The aesthetic of everything worked together well, and there is quite a lot of detail if you look at it as a whole. Music was a little bit on the annoying side on it's own, but with the gameplay and graphics it does set up the mood.

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This is the best game ever.

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The music is great also love the papery feel.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I love this game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

One of the most hilarious and fun entry I've played so far. I love the idea which is well executed and graphics and music are really nice. Solid entry !

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03am

hahahah I loved it! Art was beautiful, concept was kept simple and nice and the audio was good!

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04am

This is so fun :)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Finally a game that does something against the goat domination! Nomnomnomnomnom :D

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

This was a lot of fun. :) I dig the art style and the simplicity of it! Thanks again for playing NOPE and commenting!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

Love the art and game play such a nice combination, lots of fun :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07am

Just a fun and good looking game. The graphics and idea are great!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

I love the art style on this :D
I feel like eating goats should maybe restore some of my lives?
Anyway, this is really fun to play! Great job! :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

Haha, I didn't expect the goats to attack you with poo. Simple, but fun game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

Hard, but fun. And hilarious. Great graphics and sound, too.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17am

I love you art style, and it´s very fun!

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:07pm

that troll is awesome looking, very muppetish.

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:18am

That game made my day! Very funny! The music match it.
The gameplay and the game mecanism is also well done. Also a good innovation.
My favorite so far!
Not sure to get the take on the theme though.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26am

rofl! That was fun! Kill the goats! :D Good job,dude!

Tardowyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11am

How the goats crap off the bridge is hilarious! Great work

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:08am

Haha, I loved the music. And the game! High scorer here. :D

Maniulo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Love the art style!

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Had to try this because of the title. An amusing use of theme -- and just even more generally amusing. Graphics and music had a certain charm too, And I enjoyed the extra challenge provided by the defecation of the goats.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:24am

Pretty good. Difficult though.

Mase says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I'd prefer keyboard controls.

The troll is too muppet-like but otherwise nice work on the visual style.

I like the instrumentation on the music and I'm amused that you created it in Warioware... but it does get a bit annoying.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I think this is my favorite game I've seen for this Dare. Very nice job! I especially love the animations.

May 4, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Haha the paper style is great and funny! Love the eating animation ^^ (just change the music ;)

xbcw says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:48pm

great idea and great art style

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This is...strangely satisfying. Damn goats...STOP POOPING ON ME!

Looks like the papercraft style art worked out for you :)

mcapraro says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43pm

nice! the paper fel of the visuals is really nice

vilya says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Brilliant! And I absolutely love the papercraft look, works perfectly for a game like this.

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:51am

Love the art style. It's like South Park meet Muppets.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Oh, I just love how the troll looks lurking in the water!
I like what you did with the theme.
The graphics look great as well.
Quite a hard game to survive for long I think. I was misled by 'Troll regains energy in water'. Not if he's pooped on!
The music gets on your nerves pretty quick, but I guess you know that :)

conormn says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:40am

Great art and style! Lots of fun :)

May 11, 2014 @ 5:36pm

LOVE the graphics! Pretty funny game as well! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

IAmSpencer says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:17am

The paper look to the game is truly amazing, and the animations are beautiful. It was pretty fun to play as well, nice job overall! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]