Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

River of Souls

by Jiyambi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

River of Souls is my entry for the 48 hour Ludum Dare 29 Competition for the prompt "Beneath the Surface".

You play as the soul of a recently deceased person, dragged to the bottom of the River of Styx ("Beneath the Surface"). You must make your way back to the top (and to your eternal rest) by popping memory bubbles, releasing the memories which are weighing you down. The game is a window into the life of this lost soul, showing random vignette memories from their life.

Trigger warning: Abuse, alcoholism.

The lack of sound is totally an artistic choice and not at all because I ran out of time.

Tools used include:
- Unity 2D
- Inkscape

Like it? Follow me at @Jiyambi, and my indie team at @BounderGames.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Mood4.22
#53Graphics4.28
#62Theme3.94
#107Overall3.78
#299Innovation3.44
#1019Fun2.44
#2090Coolness14%

Comments

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Nice game, not very easy to understand at the beginning

Crumpet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Honestly, I'm surprised this game hasn't gotten more attention than it has.
The art is the best of the 13 games I've looked at so far, and by such a huge margin that I doubt it'll get dislodged from that spot anytime soon. I just love the cohesion of the style. Pentagons! Hardly the most common of art styles either.
It's a right shame about the lack of sound, because if you did have some nice sound design in there, the game would feel like such a captivating experience. I can't help but feel bad for how this game was robbed of such potentially moving sound design, by the ever powerful Ludum Dare deadline.
The story is well written, you follow the "Show don't tell" rule very effectively, and can tell quite an extensive background in only the first few lines of the game.
Overall, a really stunning entry. If not for the absence of sound, I would have confused it for a higher level jam entry. Already with what you have, I had to double check.

Jiyambi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Crumpet - thank you very much! I know, the sound is such a shame :( I knew as soon as I came up with the idea that it was going to need really good atmospheric sound, and I knew I just wasn't up to the task, especially not in the time allotted. Luckily I know a great sound guy so I might add some one just for my own personal portfolio entry.

Anyway, thanks so much for the kinda comment Crumpet, makes me feel much better about this work, which is quite different from anything I've done before!

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Very thought provoking, and an interesting take on the theme, all in all I'm glad I played it and hope you win.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:52am

Great graphics. Lacking actual gameplay ,but pretty heavy stuff - contrasting the happiness of marriage and birth with the later destruction is saddening.

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45am

Lovely atmosphere, lacked a bit in game-play.

NuSan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:20am

Great mood and style, nice story, but more interaction would have been great. Keep up the good work.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:48am

The art of this game is amazing. You worked really well in the effects and all, created a really nice atmosphere. I missed a start screen just so the game don't abruptly and a bit of gameplay, but overall it's one of the best entries I've seen.

Zccc says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Good entry, tough I would like to see more gameplay in this.

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice aesthetic and playstyle. Liked it too much.

Crefossus says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:54am

Lighting was great and help set the mood (along with the dialogue). It could have used some music to really push the mood over the edge.

It was an interesting way to tell a story although somehow I didn't realize that collecting the objects progressed the story - it was just constantly progressing until near the end. That's when I realized I was actually in control the whole time.

The mouse was a little laggy although the trails were beautiful.

Excellent graphics and detail (like the skulls on the sides).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]