Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Terror from beneath

by v_n_j - Jam Entry

There are hungry worms beneath the surface.
And they're going to eat you alive.
So pick up a rock and throw it in their head :D


Kill the worms, thats the goal. Only head is vulnerable.
When worm is coming, ground starts to shake(and strange noisy sound grows louder). So prepare to jump... a lot.

Not sure if it's fun, but pretty sure it can be hard to play, sorry, even extra third day was not enough for me to polish mechanics. And there is still a lot to do. Add more sounds(normal sounds), more weapons etc.

CONTROLS

!XBOX controller compatible!
!controller recommended!

left, right / left stick - move
up, down / right stick - aim
space / Y - jump
q / X - pick up
e / right button - attack
s / start - obvious :)
r / back - restart, only when prompted
and most important - m to mute repetitive music

Protip for slaying worms: you actually don't need to aim precisely, you can aim just a bit down and hit a worm every time it's descending


Update
- Fixed small bug with constantly shaking ground

Update2
- It was noted that unity web player is not fully cross platform =/ so I added Linux & MacOS builds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#225Audio(Jam)3.39
#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#423Humor(Jam)2.43
#451Innovation(Jam)2.82
#455Fun(Jam)2.84
#548Overall(Jam)2.90
#566Mood(Jam)2.71
#625Graphics(Jam)2.68

Comments

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

This is tough XD I like it! Good music and definitely challenging/ addictive. Great Job

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31am

Love the music. I find it hard to control the character on the keyboard. Maybe just me. Good fun overall.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

Cool concept - it's like playing the human side in Mega Worm. Pretty hard to get the worms head, but I felt boss when I did. I think it would control really well with a gamepad or with a mouse - a was bit awkward just on the keyboard.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice music. Liked the movement of the worms but found it difficult to move and aim with the keyboard.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Yeah, controls are not so easy, sorry, my bad.
Somehow I decided to try it this way, and then I believe just got used to it.
You can aim in advance though :D makes things more manageable.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I liked the music! Doesn't play too well on the keyboard through. Also I don't like how the aim arrow has momentum to it. Pretty good!

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Wow this is hard. I like the music :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

nice one,love the music

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

Nice idea. First I thought this would just be a deathworm clone - so glad it isnt :-)
I think you could have improved the controls a lot by making them simpler.
Why not auto-pickup the stones? Or why pick them up at all, just give the player infinite stones. Also, I would have put the aiming on the mouse position, this would have felt much more natural. As a last thing, I like the feedback sound you have before a worm appears. Having a little particle effect on the earth where he will emere would have seriously helped players to feel more in control of the situation.
OVerall a nice idea and very true to the theme.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17am

Lovely little game!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

Nice take on hunting worms. Fun game!

triforcespark says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:43am

Gamplay feels difficult because of controls, and the worm itself is unpredictable.
The music is excellent, though...

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48am

An interesting twist on the death/mega worm games. I feel it should give some indication where the worm is going to break the surface, maybe have a mound appear first. Could be fun multiplayer with some extra weapons/items if you continue development.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:21am

nice game. but pretty hard. wish I had some nukes or at least a shotgun :)

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:13am

I didn't feel like the game was hard. If you run far enough it forces the worm to come at you horizontally. Then you just bop it in the head before it dives and it won't hit you.

The music is great and the gameplay is nice once you get the hang of it. I think that the aiming could be better and the controls need a little work. Simply moving left and right feels very limiting. You could probably add a jump or a double tap to leap left and right.

Overall I think you did a nice job and it was fun to play. Thanks for sharing!

v_n_j says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:05am

@shadow64
you can jump, actually, or do you mean something else?

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:23am

Oh crap. Really? I'll try it again. Sorry. And thanks for rating and the compliment on my game! :D

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:24am

Ahhh, jump is in your LD website control list, but not the intro screen for the game. I was wondering how I missed it. Sorry about that. I'll re-rate after I play.

shadow64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:31am

Okay, sweet. I bumped you up in a rating because of the jump and also I was able to get through to the later levels (with a glitch) and the new weapon makes it really enjoyable. Nice work! :D

javierecf says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:35am

I played with a 360 controller, and even then it was hard, maybe using RB to do the same "pick" and "use" would make the controls more easy to use. The music is nice and the animation and movement of the worms is really well done.

The jumping movement seems slow to me, i dont know why a lot of games are doing this thing of a lot of inertia and slow jump velocity, seems like useless and frustating for the player if you ask me. But overall it is a fun little game.

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice :) I would like to see a mound before the worm jumps. And bigger rocks! Hell yeah! :)

gwa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Tremor :)

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Underground worms!!! Nice music and graphics.
Beetlejuice Beetlejuice Beetlejuice

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:10am

Too haaaard ;(
Loved the music!

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Awesome music! And I like the gameplay as well, even though I didn't manage to kill the worm once :) Maybe you should make the worm visible below the surface. This would allow to aim a bit sooner. Oh man, I am still hyped by the music! Great work!

loxo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Really great idea, but the game is rather challenging with those keyboard controls. It took me a while to get past the first worm, but I didn't manage to get past the second level.

v_n_j says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:56pm

@loxo
maybe I didn't make it clear enough but you can skip levels, just die and press "s", there is melee weapon later that makes it more easy and fun

BMacIntosh says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I played with an XBox controller. This was very fun, even though like others I had trouble with the controls. For gamepad, the best way to do aiming in a game like this is to aim (immediately) in the direction the right stick is pressed. I was expecting the trigger to be "throw", but it was actually the bumper. Also, jump is traditionally on "A" (it's much easier to reach quickly).

jsmars says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice game and music, but quite hard :)

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Game was awesome, although I was really bad at it. The movement arcs of the bad guys are really well done.

I would add mouse controls in the future if I were you by setting the rock velocities to throwpower *(Vector2)(Camera.main.ScreentoWorldPoint(Input.mousePosition)-character.transform.position).normalized, but other than that, absolutely great game, great music, very cool concept that ties in with the theme very well, especially for your first entry.

Hope to see more of your games in the future!

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Oh, also, screenshake was awesome, screenshake is always awesome, forgot to add that :P . Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]