Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sky Shepherd

by kumoi - Jam Entry

This is Sky Shepherd, a weird game spawned from the sleep deprived minds of a few VR lab rats. It all started with an odd dream and now has become a mobile game centered around keeping sheep safe on a tilting platform. A platform which has been launched into the sky by rockets hidden BELOW THE SURFACE. From rams breeding new sheep, wolves eating, bombs exploding and cotton candy being sticky, it becomes challenging to stay alive as you plummet through the sky.

iOS builds will be coming soon.
If enough interest is generated, app store submissions will follow.

Android Controls
===================
Bottom Left and Right to tilt platform
Swipe at Wolves to knock off platform
Swipe at Bombs to detonate (try to avoid doing this)
Swipe at glider items to release them onto your herd.

Web & Windows Controls
===================
Use A/D or Left and Right arrow keys if you don't have a touchscreen
Click on Wolves to knock off platform
Click on Bombs to detonate (try to avoid doing this)
Click on glider items to release them onto your herd.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#83Humor(Jam)3.55
#136Fun(Jam)3.44
#143Graphics(Jam)4.00
#159Audio(Jam)3.54
#224Innovation(Jam)3.33
#228Overall(Jam)3.43
#292Mood(Jam)3.22
#728Theme(Jam)1.95

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Cute game, took a little while to sort out how to play it though. Played it on PC but its a much better fit for a mobile device, so the android apk is probably a better experience.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very good looking game. Controls were a tad wonky on the PC version, but I would imagine it would play well on a tablet.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Very entertaining little game! Love the audio and art!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

(My rating's based on the windows version--it loaded, but the controls were completely wonkus and the guide to gameplay only made it more apparent how unsuited it was to Windows)

This is neat in concept and the art is pretty, but the audio gets dull really quickly and it doesn't seem to suit the theme at all.

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Cool!

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

I really like the visuals, but this feels much more suited to play on a tablet than a PC - may give the APK a go later.

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07am

Tried it on computer and then installed on my phone felt like tilting instead of tapping would have been a better platform control mechanic.

Fun game though, enjoyed it.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

That was fun! The music, graphics and the gameplay complement each other perfectly. It was so hard to save the sheep ;-;

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34am

Cute and fun game, perfect for android. the music is very suitable as well. You should develop for app store submissions! I feel the theme link is a little weak, but the sheep's cuteness makes up for it.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36am

Cute and fun game, perfect for android. the music is very suitable as well. You should develop for app store submissions! I feel the theme link is a little weak, but the sheep's cuteness makes up for it. I love the wolf in sheep's clothing BTW.

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

This didn't seem to respond to any of my input (tilt or touch) once the game started. I'm on a galaxy nexus with jelly bean.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

nice job guys!

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

so fun!, love art, music and sounds. laugh a lot :)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05am

I didn't really get the connection to the theme at all, but I still had a pretty decent time rolling sheep around.

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15am

Great realization of the concept; the visuals, sound and controls all feel so fun. I wish it were possible to juggle the sheep so I could avoid things!

Wakka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

really amusing game :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]