Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Haunt

by rojo - Jam Entry

Some warmongering knights have invaded your castle and found their way to the dungeon! Unfortunately for them, beneath the surface of those walls lurks a being of terrible power. Use ghostly might to possess objects and create blasts of force to rid your domain of the vermin in this sandboxy physics game!

I created this game including all art and music solo.

Software Used:
Unity, Rotorz Tile System (Unity plugin), FL Studio, Audacity, sfxr, Photoshop, Gimp

Check out a brief gameplay video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4roBRrMkOU

Find the game on IndieDB here:
http://www.indiedb.com/games/tiny-haunt



Update 5/4/2014: Updated main menu with some links for branding purposes. No bug fixes or gameplay changes made.

Update 5/11/2014: Updated hosting for web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#188Audio(Jam)3.47
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#393Graphics(Jam)3.34
#715Theme(Jam)2.09

Comments

murbe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

Boss soundtrack yo.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34am

I love it! I think if there was some sort of challenge involved, this could be a really amazing game!

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39am

Cool game

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39am

Enjoyed it. The music was really good.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

Hey nice idea right there. It is fun. I loved how the knights reacted, and jumped after toppled down.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

There isn't really much puzzle or challenge to beating any of the levels, but it was fun to play with.

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

LOVE IT. You could take this game to amazing heights :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

This is a lot of fun. Throwing the knights around is my favorite part.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

Throwing the arrows and barrels around was a lot of fun! Great game!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

Pretty fun. Only major suggestion is to show how many moves we made.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12am

Really fun gameplay and a great a piece of music behind it. I also like how the soldiers are animated.

This is an entry that I could see developed further as a mobile game.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The game is pretty funny, but i don't seem to be able to lose, it would be fun if their would be a little bit of a time presure, (also going to the next level after a button click on completing the level would be nice)

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

Pretty fun

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Fun to play around with but lacking in any real challenge. Music fits in really nicely.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:22am

Cool game. My only suggestion would be to make the blast ability not be able to push the knights. It made the game a bit too easy.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36am

Good game. The graphic are really good !

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:46am

Tossing arrows feels GREAT

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:12am

A bit easy, since I can pick most knights off at my leisure. Otherwise, it has a nice feel and lots of potential.

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:33am

The idea is good, but there's no challenge at all. Also, your interpretation of the theme was a bit poor.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:49am

i can't relate it to the theme, but it's a fun little game.

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:02am

Nice music and graphics. Was fun chucking people against the spikes.

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:22am

I loved the mechanics, but I think I was too powerful because it as easy to play it. I really like the concept, please continue working on it!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:21am

Great start! Needs some challenge?

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:25am

very interesting. liked it.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:02pm

If you added some kind of limit to the amount of moves you could use per level, like 2 telepathy moves and 2 explosions or something it would really add a whole new level of fun. Or perhaps a time limit? Achievements for finishing a level with one move?

Great potential here!

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:22am

That was so awesome! great gameplay, levels, art, and music!

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:26am

The concept of your game is awesome and the music match perfectly the game,
there is no way to lose in your game and it is not so hard to finish all the levels so maybe one way to improve it would be adding some more challenge.

Katamori says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:56am

I laughed as hell when I played it! Check my video if you can.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:02pm

This is fantastic! I got through it pretty quick, but I definitely would play more if you added some challenges for each level, like using one arrow to get all of the knights or only using the explosion to kill them all on the spikes on the ceiling. The game as is is well polished as far as the gameplay, and I loved the graphics and sound. Great entry!

Mr. Jif says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This could be really great. The mechanic is pretty fun to play with. Unfortunately there is no challenge to completing the levels. Something along the lines of a limit to the number of actions you can do or something would be good I think.

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:16am

This is a really fun concept! It was a little easy, most of the powers are currently a little OP. Would love to see a version of this game with more time to properly balance the difficulty, but a promising start.

VictorDoval says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Beautiful!

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Cool game! I like the tutorial, but the levels feel simple and there's not much challenge on them. I think with some time stretches or some other pressure the game can improve. In any case it's quite something for 3 days work :-)

Nanolotl says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice concept and well implemented mechanics.
Good work

Kep says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Neat idea. With some simple use limits on the tools, the game has some potential as a physics puzzler.

NickZangus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Really great job! It's a really cool mechanic, and I would love to see it expanded.

tuxxilla says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Funny game with great ideas. I'd liked to have a little tougher difficulty though.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:48am

Looks and sounds great, cool concept, just wish there was more of a 'puzzle' to it? I sort of lobbed things around until I won. I feel it could be turned into something really cool with those base mechanics!

May 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I loved killing them :) I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

May 9, 2014 @ 7:51am

Man, you've got something there! It's simple yet super fun. More interactions/weapons and a "moves" counter for each level and that'd be a great game!

May 9, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Awesome game, though I didn't see "beneath the surface" anywhere. You could just show the player in a room under the ground controlling all of this. I had fun though, and it seems like everyone else likes throwing and killing things too.

Crefossus says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:26am

I love the sound fx, death effects, possession glow, polished art overall (Besides maybe the explosion icon/hand).

On level complete should have a next level button and menu button.

The boxes/w hand are a little overpowered compared to the arrow. Maybe make it so the boxes can't actually kill guys with armor but can kill regular ones?

Maybe sometimes you could have an arrow generator and if the arrow gets destroyed it respawns? Maybe like portal boxes? It's a little annoying to have to control the arrow sometimes (although the dominate strategy is just blow them up to knock them into spikes/throw boxes at them).

With a little balancing and more levels/challenge this could be really great! Or maybe you could offer challenges like kill them all with the arrow/box/whatever, or something...

voxel says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:49am

Wowzers, would love to see this developed into a full game. Definitely gets top marks from me for innovation

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very cool game! I just think you forgot to limit the blasts!

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:39am

Really like the concept! Some challenge would make this a great game indeed. You can have limited amount of possessions for example, or non-possessable items. Also make it somewhat time-limited (kill knights before they get somewhere / do something). Nice and fitting music too. Knightly and creepy at the same time.

joe40001 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:22am

Creative game pretty well made but ultimately it's super easy to win.

Lafie says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:30am

Graphically, this is a charming game and the music and sound are very appropriate. The physics-based gameplay is fun at its core, but any challenge or difficulty is currently missing. With the addition of a decent failure state (e.g. limited number of moves) and a more satisfying success state (e.g. leaderboards), this game could have quite a lot of potential.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:31am

Really awesome! A bit too easy tho

MidCry says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:25pm

interesting and neat idea that fit perfectly in mobile games ... although need more thought on level design to make it Complete .

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:59am

pretty good :)

Sheepolution says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I like the idea, but it needs a bit more challenge. Limited time, limited amount of actions. Do something like that, polish the game some more, and it could be a lot of fun.

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:21am

This game was pretty cool. It might kick ass as a mobile game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]