Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Project Nether

by TheOZone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For decades people have launched people into space without knowing what's really beneath the surface. Now a group of scientist have put together a revolutionary rocket with a drill strapped to it and pointed it down. Now it is your job to control it, grab the minerals, don't run out of fuel and get to the depths of our planet. Good luck!

Controls:
left arrow: rocket left
right Arrow: rocket right
space: rocket launch, afterburner, retry

This is far from a finished game and it was really not what I was planning to make, but the time got me. So it will probably be really buggy and glitchy. If you encounter one of them just post it in the comments and I will try to fix it as fast as possible.

EDIT:
If you click in the screen your keys will stop working. I have not yet found a solution to this problem so just restart when you encounter it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#408Theme3.43
#428Graphics3.35
#681Mood2.87
#807Fun2.74
#896Innovation2.61
#971Overall2.74
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

does not respond to input - space does not launch rocket
Windows 8.1
Java 1.7.0_40

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Keys are not working

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Windows 7, Java 1.7, keys not working too

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Had to press space to start rocket before doing anything else or the rocket never started. Once underground, controls were ok.

I like the 'refuel' as you dig part. The lava patches came up quickly.

The score did not make much sense if you just burrow back and forth near the surface, you gain a ton of fuel and lots of points.

Linux - Ubuntu 13 - open jdk 7

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

No glitches here. . . good job on the game! :D

eugman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Unresponsive to keys, windows 7, java 1.7.0

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49am

No bugs that I could see, but there diddn't seem to be an end goal? Liked it otherwise, nice graphics and controls!

Exergy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I got the bug that if you change direction of your rocket before launching it would not work, other than that, no bugs that i could notice! Good work.

Druid says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:53am

does not respond to input too

td1801 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:03am

Nice game without the bug described above. :)

zorfmorf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:18am

Worked fine on archlinux.

Spaceoff says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:37am

Love the concept, collecting the fuel and gems was pretty satisfying too. The magma really forced you to slow down though, slowing the pace of the game.

Also, the input ignored bug occured to me the first time I ran it, seems to do with unfocusing the window, it ignores input after that.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:45am

The game doesn't do anything on OSX. It just sits there with the drill animation playing.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Sadly, I can't play either. I have Windows 7, 64-bit OS.

FGM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Pretty cool. You might want to limit the angle to somewhat downward because you can actually just go horizontally. Also maybe an invert option? lol I kept going the opposite direction.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:22pm

On windows 7, and java 1.7.0_03 it stops responding to input keys after clicking on game screen. Doesn't matter when I clicced - just after starting, while digging - it always blocks input. Only restart helps.

Some thoughts:
- Score should grow only when you go deeper underground.
- Short tutorial would be great. At first I didn't know what should I hit to regain fuel.
- More tiles! Ex. water that slows down ;)

And although I don't like this kind of games, I think your idea have potential as mobile.

Delca says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26pm

A nice little game, which could be even better with some audio. I understand that the lack of time can be quite limiting though. Good job!

danbo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:03pm

It's a shame about the input bug, but at least you know about it and flagged it up.

Fun little game. You seem to have given some thought to the general progression, a consideration not usually given to LD entries. You start out with a lot of fuel lying around so you can really get into things quickly, then eventually lava starts to appear in small amounts, eventually ramping up.

Good job

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This is a good start! The game looks good already!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]