Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Miner's Life

by Gap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small casual game I've made for Ludum Dare 29 that deals with the dangerous life of a miner.

##### CONTROLS #####

## MOVE ##

WASD or ARROW KEYS


## RESTART GAME ##

Press 'ENTER' or CLICK when you're dead.


##### EDITS ######

Had to change some stuff I forgot to change (gave wrong credits to a song I did replace with my own one)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Fun3.65
#129Theme3.81
#138Audio3.53
#205Graphics3.77
#251Overall3.52
#276Mood3.34
#438Humor2.60
#837Innovation2.68
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

Amazing game! It fit really well with the theme, and the graphics (along with the audio) were amazing! Really good work, Gap!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Got upto 300 and something. Great game and impressed at how smooth the controls are, can see this becoming an addictive quick game to play.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

A solid little game. The presentation is good although it was difficult to tell the 1s and 5s apart at a glance.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Can't seem to get over 200 - really enjoyed the smooth movement and this slight delay (?) in the movement. Felt very complete.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Like it, complete game, fun!

VQZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really great combination of audio, tone and theme.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I loved the atmosphere. It's amazing how addictive this game gets

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I had fun

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Wow dude this is insanely nice! There's a lot of potential in your execution here and I think it would be cool to see a mobile app of this some time in the future haha :D Great job!

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09am

Very good game built on a Simple concept.

Christophe says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very good controls, nice game.
Good work.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The soundtrack just kept me going, it's so awesome.

Rest of the game is really good as well, a lot of fun. I encountered a bug where it would say I was dead, and not let me restart. It happened when I pressed Enter too quickly after dying.

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Simple game but fun to play. It's harder than it looks. Nicely done.

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Fun game with solid controls. Simple game play but the power ups and screen tilts later on add quite a bit to the difficulty. Quite polished for being a 48 hour submission. Good stuff.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:24am

Not exactly "innovative", but it's charming, polished and it kept me coming back! The audio gives it a great non-serious vibe :) Smooth performance, too (not to be overlooked for HTML5)

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice game :) enjoyed the magnetic power up!

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Had everything you may want for a ludum dare game.

psychonull says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Congrats, this game is one of the most polished entries I've seen so far. Liked the powerups and how the sfxs fit perfectly.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:18am

Magnetic power is awesome!

Nanolotl says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Very well made. The screen movement really helped the overall mood.

TeamEagle says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:14pm

nicely done, wasn't sure what the pickaxes did however? I assumed that that meant I could move through blocks.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]