Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Engineer

by Jeasonfire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Java 7 update 51 made it so applets don't run if they are not signed properly, so if the applet doesn't run, download and run the Standalone version.

You are an engineer in a research facility, something goes wrong, and you want to get to the surface. Top-down puzzle game.

Controls: W/A/S/D, I/J/K/L or arrow keys to move. Enter, space or ctrl to interact. Shift to run.

Music/sound can be enabled/disabled in the bottom right corner of the window.

Story (the text is kinda fast in the intro, sorry about that, forgot to slow down for release):
"You are an engineer in a research facility, researching <REDACTED>."

The game was designed to be frustratingly difficult, so keep that in mind. Especially the last level, it's almost impossible to win within a few tries.

The level editor was kinda thrown in and not designed for the average user, and it will throw errors if misused. Not recommended except if you really want to make your own levels.
Q: How to add my level to the game?
A: First, you need the standalone version. Second, open the EngineerStandalone.jar with winrar or something similar. Third, navigate to com/jeasonfire/engineer/graphics/sprites/ and there should be 10 files named level[1-10].png. Fourth, replace one of those level[1-10].png files with the one you made. Fifth, play! :)

Post scriptum: Check out the timelapses on my channel (http://www.youtube.com/Jeasonfire) and my other games on my site (http://www.jeasonfiregames.tk)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Audio3.23
#270Overall3.48
#272Innovation3.48
#272Mood3.35
#420Fun3.17
#424Theme3.41
#467Graphics3.29
#469Humor2.55
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Pretty cool game. I don't think I got too far though. Haven't really tried the level editor but you get an exception if you try to cancel anything.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice game, even if the camera is a little bit too small in my opinion. The game is a bit frustrating (but maybe I'm just bad ahah), but overall it is very good !

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

@IcyLava Yeah, I updated the wall of text above, the level editor wasn't designed for non-dev use.

@sam101 Yup, I try to make my games very hard to complete so there's more playtime. :) Well, at least in Ludum Dare since I don't have time to make many levels.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

A bit hard, mostly because we don't see where the shots are coming from... The level editor was a fine addition as well!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

Nice game! :) I enjoyed it, good work.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

Really enjoyed playing, good job :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Good game. Who is the main charcter? It reminds me Spongebob...

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

@Covenant Yeah, I was thinking of implementing like a marker that would indicate where the shots are coming from but didn't have the time :(

@AmmoreChicks He isn't Spongebob, but now that you mention it, he does kinda look like Spongebob. :o He's "The Researcher Guy" though, if you want a name for the "face".

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Good game, but difficult! Good attempt never the less.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I really like the simplistic graphics, looks nice, and easy to do in a dare!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nice! a level editor, wish i could see the turrets more :(

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I think the game could have used a mini-map or shown the enemies before I encountered them. Now, the player has to die at least once before he can finish a level.

I enjoyed playing it and the puzzles are pretty cool. The music is nice too.

Wakka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:32am

nice little game

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I've got the idea. But playing is a little bit hard because of very small visibility range and dying often.

thaaks says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:32pm

A bit too difficult. The bullets are too small, I was dead several times before I realized I was shot.
The already mentioned mini map is a good suggestion you might want to add.

Tomski says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice little game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]