Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Subterranean

by MarioY19 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not too bad for my second attempt.

I'm not as happy with this one as my first one. I wasted a lot of time struggling with AI and terrain.

The controls aren't perfect, the physics and the difficulty are a bit odd, and it's not the prettiest of games.

But I learned a lot from this, definately worth the time.

Edit:
So I actually had a 1 instead of a 0 that made only old players see the tutorial. So I think that covers the Bigfix later rule.
Here's a psudocode of the problem:
If (you played the game before){
load tutorial
}else if (you never played the game before){
load level 1
}

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#597Audio2.68
#748Humor2.18
#852Mood2.65
#856Fun2.67
#887Innovation2.62
#1080Theme2.41
#1094Overall2.57
#1105Graphics2.26
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

lonewookie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I LOVE the concept, but the execution is a little difficult to play. Maybe implement an underground map as well? Great idea though!

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:15am

It's hard - I didnt get it to the first place. I like the terrain and the music :)

BasselGaming says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice job! fun little game

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:14am

good effort and glad to see you learnt a lot :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice! The game is funny, though some level allow you to win without enter the underground.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:26am

I really enjoyed the idea of this game. One thing that annoyed me is that the mini map doesn't match the direction that you are facing. it made it hard to plan where to "go deeper" :D

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:51am

Good idea !! There's not enough F1-mole-racer around :D

May 4, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I like the sound and the music. Took me a while even to win the first round.

BooleanByte says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Works grat, and a little challenging, but i don't realy se how it fits into the theme

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Oh my god, I played 3 Levels without knowing there is an undocumented subterran feature. Is this good or bad? I don't know.
After I found it accidantially, it was strange to use it. Even more difficult than not using it in my opinion.
I still don't know if this is good or not...

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:17pm

First of all thanx for having also executables(for us linux-users). Me as a friend of this kind of games this love it. But the one level which was more chaos than clean road was almost impossible, at least to win. One thing I don't see here is the theme, but I do like topdown-cargames :D! Good job

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Couldn't ever get better than 6th place. Not really sure how this relates to the theme at all (besides being named as Subterranean.) It just looks like an asphalt racetrack in a grassy field. The car seems to control fairly well at least.

MarioY19 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I just realised that the tutorial level doesn't load up. For anyone confused there is an underground track you can dig to and from by pressing space.

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:39am

It's an interesting idea, it's hard to use though, having to keep your eye on the minimap and your surroundings in a high speed race D: Would be more intuitive if the race track was parts asphalt and part dirt road, and you could only dig down on the dirt road parts. Also if the minimap would rotate to fit your orientation that would be helpful. The race is pretty challenging on its own, good job there :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]