Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hive

by derdragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keys:

Arrows to Move / Fly
Tab to switch between aliens
D to Dig as a worker, or Throw quills as a Soldier, the Queen doesn't have an action, nor do the eggs, until they hatch

Basically, you're defending your hive against invasion by space marines. As usual had a lot of fun making it, just wish I didn't have so many interruptions throughout the entire weekend. Going on about 4 hours of sleep since yesterday so... that's it for now. Hope you enjoy it! Hope it WORKS!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

Pretty damn funny, animations are awesome, sound balance is a little off balance here and there but damn this was pretty fun!

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Hi there, nice work. I like the basic idea, reminded me of the old natural selection (hl1 mod).

Unfortunately I cannot get past level1 since there is an error occurring:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object proto_actor:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 100265.object_index(13, -1)
at gml_Script_actor_ai (line -1) - <unknown source line>
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_actor_ai (line 0)
called from - gml_Script_actor_step (line -1) - <unknown source line>
called from - gml_Object_proto_actor_Step_0 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Really like the idea! Would love to see a post-compo of this. For now, the bug ^ won't let me get that far :( And there probably should be multiple spots where enemies come from, because I'm spawnkilling them like crazy atm.
And the animation are awesome!!! :o

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Have an error:
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object proto_actor:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 101682.x(0, -1)
at gml_Script_actor_ai (line -1) - <unknown source line>
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
stack frame is
gml_Script_actor_ai (line 0)
called from - gml_Script_actor_step (line -1) - <unknown source line>
called from - gml_Object_proto_actor_Step_0 (line -1) - <unknown source line>

Looking good. Animations are delicious =)

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Not sure what's crashing the game, at first it was after I spammed the Tab key, then I was spamming the quills attack when the 3rd wave was announced. Shame because I was having a lot of fun. I'd like to see more of this.
Remember, the rules allow you to fix game breaking bugs.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Cool ideas, but a little buggy:
- I couldn't see the blocks, only the background, for several minutes. Then I switched to a worker, dug, and bam the blocks started showing.
- I got a crash at the beginning of wave 3.
- Got stuck in flying mod, with the flying sound, for trying to climb a narrow vertical shaft. Had to fall back down for it to stop.

But it's a nice concept and could be fun once debugged.

Dreii says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:26am

Great stuff! very nice job! love the game play and graphics!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:51pm

The game it's pretty nice, it was a bit hard to hit the soldiers but anyway was fun, the sounds are a bit bugged too, overlaping. I have the same error than SaintHeiser when wave 2 starts.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]