Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Turtle Simulator

by Chikun Dev Team - Jam Entry

EDIT: WE CAME FIRST IN HUMOUR! Thank you so very much!

Praise for Turtle Simulator:

"I have played 'Turtle Simulator', for the Gameboy Color, and been inspired by its musings on life, death, love, hate. The teachings of this video game will influence generations to come, I am sure of it."
- Al Gore, 1998

"This...'Turtle Simulator'. It is not a simulator. It is a platform for great ideas. Millions will chant the tenets of the 'Turtle Simulator' ideology. The banners unfurl, the people march for 'Turtle Simulator'. The world watches, and waits with bated breath."
-Al Gore, 1999

"In 'Turtle Simulator', man confronts his own mortality. It is a poignant window to the soul. My soul. Your soul. The world is reflected in the lens of 'Turtle Simulator'. Nothing escapes its capture."
- Al Gore, 1997

Controls:
Move: Arrow keys
Interact: Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.58
Coolness65%
#23Overall(Jam)4.07
#58Mood(Jam)3.95
#62Fun(Jam)3.68
#76Audio(Jam)3.83
#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#193Innovation(Jam)3.39
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61

Comments

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

I'm really happy about this game
1) It's a 'simulator' that doesn't really fall into the goat sim territory of being drawn out and stupid for the sake of attracting lets players
2) the music is really well done
3) fun writing

tomhunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

I like the idea, and the presentation seems about right. I had some trouble getting into the game, though. Wasn't sure what I was supposed to do at the beginning, and I got killed by a dog.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

Cute idea. Who am I to argue with Al Gore? Nice soundtrack as well.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

LOVE KEY ADDED TO INVENTORY

(This game is pretty great. Slightly sad that the music stopped after I died and became a Dead Turtle.)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

this was extrememly fun. i really liked the humor in the game. top notch

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

The gameplay is nothing revolutionary and it's a pretty surface-level interpretation of the theme. That being said, it more than makes up for it with its humor. Learning life lessons from a seagull with a self-help book and Art Garfunkel? Sure, why not!

I laughed the whole time. Really, REALLY funny game and I do not regret playing it in the slightest.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

lol so funny

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

This game gives off a certain Frog Fractions vibe and I love it. The atmosphere conveyed through the dialogue and descriptions is subtle and hilarious.

After the Jellyfish let me through I think I got locked out of progression. I got the Love key, but I think I may have missed an item in the other building that I never entered.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

What did I just play?
That was weird, but funny, but philosophical. Al Gore has the right of it!

There were a few minor glitches with music not restarting after you die, or the blue underwater filter disappearing. They were all pretty inconsequential.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

My absolute favorite part about these competitions is discovering gems such as these. This is certainly a masterpiece of turtle simulation software that deserves a special place on my hard drive.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

This is amazing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Ahahha awesome game ! Everything is so well thought and funny, Tutorial Crab, nice name my good sir :P a real rebel and the pigeon king. Nice sound by the way hahaha :P I laughed a lot. Great work !

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52am

Beautiful work. A master piece of the ages for sure!

TCP786 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

This is truly outstanding work for a game jam. Was the music actually created on a Gameboy?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Some things to note:

1. TCP786, the music was created with GBFont by MaliceX.
2. CharlieLove is probably gone, but the next item needed there is the Hate Key. It's attained by defeating all of the enemies in the Gallery (Body, Head, Face, and then Aphrodite). Probably shoulda signalled that easier.
3. tomhunt - the crab's dialog holds the (metaphorical) key to progressing

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Really well done and very amusing.

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This game is really good. It brought back some Gameboy nostalgia and the writing is good.

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

It's good game, but for me it's not mood.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Funniest game I've played so far :D Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Absolutely loved it!
Oddly, playing this reminds me of Dante, facing philosophers in purgatory and finding Lucifer in the deepest lair.
Really enjoyed playing this.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

In first i think it was a joke and... It's really nice, beautiful & good story. Good job !

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:07am

Nice job! Lots of charm and witt! I wish I didn't die so much though, not without save states :)

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Had me at "turtle simulator".

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

THIS GAME............... FULL MARKS

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:20am

I knew I was in for something special and you delivered. Art Garfunkel and the art fights in the gallery really sold it. So unique, quirky, and amusing. Great job, everyone!

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

This was absolutely beautiful... I actually laughed twice during the game. I finished the game, absolute feels.
Good work y'all! Top 5!

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I agree, why can't that fish just be a fish?

Anyways, amazing and funny game :D

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54pm

This was amazing. I loved the story. Ohhhh maaaan, this is amzing. Oh man.

I like how it was made with Love.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

I really want to play this game but it doesn't seem to run on my phone! (Galaxy nexus, jelly bean)

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:00am

This game is meta!

Lafie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:21am

This is an amazing adventure, and lengthy to boot. Genuinely funny dialogue. The Gameboy Color graphics style and audio put me off a little though, perhaps because it didn't always seem consistent.

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Play my game again!!!

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:31am

You had me at Art Garfunkel.

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:43am

Oh, man... This game. This game is the winner.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]