Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hunger Pains

by apuhl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created by Adam Puhl
Feed on humans to survive. Your every action takes energy, so choose you placement and attack well.
How many humans can you consume?!

Movement: WASD or Arrow Keys
Bite: Space or Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Humor3.41
#227Theme3.64
#299Innovation3.44
#371Audio3.04
#395Mood3.17
#401Fun3.20
#412Overall3.32
#712Graphics2.92
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Little glitchy but very funny physics! Nice work!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

Not a bad game I like how you evolve the more humans you kill.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Interesting game, cool graphics. Not really sure what I was supposed to do though...

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

I didn't feel like there was much strategy. The physics were nice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I was only able to get to about 20 humans eaten, or so. Liked seeing the monster grow underground. Pretty fun and complete for 48 hours. I wasn't sure when I gained from eating a human (I guess when their blood flew out?) I tried to wait for clumps of them to gather up. I didn't grasp that moving cost me energy at first, but once I did, there was some strategy to it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

Nice work man

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

62! RRWAR!!! Fun stuff. I loved the "blood cubes" hahahha, so cool. Felt awesome how everything was piling up, reminding me of World War Z (movie) zombie piles.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37pm

All the little added effects make this game seem really bad ass at times, nice work!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:55am

Heh nice touch making him evolve :)

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Not bad, the main character looks really cool with the lighting and changing shape :) I also really liked the enemy behavior. Next time you should polish your sound effects and GUI!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]