Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

House of Clouds

by Azzar - Jam Entry

Control two characters - one trapped underground, the other exposed to the perils of the outer world. To survive they must cooperate and use various mechanisms to their advantage. For best experiance use the gamepad Controls(gamepad): Analog sticks - move characters L1/R1 - interact L2/R2 - jump Controls(keyboard): Top character: AD - move W - jump S - interact Bottom character Left/Right arrow keys - move Up arrow key - jump Down arrow key - interact To use control a turret, press interaction button near a terminal. Then use the analog stick to aim and interact button to fire. To exit this mode, press jump. Press interaction button near switches to turn lasers on and off. Step on pressure pads to switch platforms on and off. Avoid enemies. Get both charaters to the rainbow to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#261Innovation(Jam)3.27
#271Theme(Jam)3.36
#398Overall(Jam)3.16
#417Humor(Jam)2.44
#458Audio(Jam)2.86
#461Graphics(Jam)3.16
#578Mood(Jam)2.68

Comments

Stratovarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Doesn't seem to even be playable with keyboard

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Erm, is it a gamepad only, keyboard not supported, game? None of my keypresses seemed to have any effect.

Azzar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Thanks for feedback, fixed that!
Also added Web and OS/X builds

Nelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Sometimes it`s really hard)

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

Great!
Please, add jump on W and UP

MonsieurS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Quite short, but good. And has jumping bananas and watermelons (?). I liked how you had to kill the banana remotely.

mortus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Nice game, a bit annoying sound though, but fun mechanics and can be played both alone and with a buddy.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Really nice idea!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Wow, yes. This is awesome, I love this game design. Two play coop on this too?! Nice!

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Short, but nice little proof of concept here. Good work!

wicht says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Interesting split screen concept. The main music loop is a little bit annoying.

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:11am

Nice concept for a cooperative game. Worked well with keyboard controls.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:16am

Enjoyed this one. It's nice you can play it by yourself or two-player. The input works well. Only confusion for me was I wasn't sure which turret I was controlling at first, and accidentally killed my partner haha. Good job!

Cosine says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:17am

Great idea for gameplay! It took me a little while to figure out the controls. I would have liked more checkpoints. Audio got slightly repetitive.

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:27am

Really cool little game, I could definitely keep playing this for a long time if there were more levels, very good interpretation of the theme, very impressive! It was cool when I got to the point that playing the two players could overlap, I knew where each guy had to go and I was controlling both at the same time

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:34am

Pretty fun, Couldn't move both characters with 360 controller for some reason. Nice music and art!

Chaoseed says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:03am

Not bad, not bad. Your basic Lost Vikings kind of game. ;) The graphics were a bit simplistic, but I liked the banana enemies. Sound, kinda the same. The scrolling and level layout was quite good. I noticed something where the turret control only caused one turret to fire, and it was initially offscreen, so at first I thought it did nothing. I don't know if that's a bug or a poor decision, I just thought I'd bring it up. In all, there's a lot of possibility here!

Acuity says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:06am

Pretty nice. I bluescreened after a while though...

gwa says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:26pm

cool idea but its difficult you should have startet with a little easyer level :) but still a cool game

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:50pm

A mix between the theme "Two Worlds" and "Beneath the Surface".
Nice concept and cool different game mecanisms, love it!

Azzar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:21pm

2 gwa
>>cool idea but its difficult you should have startet with a little easyer level :)

We did just a quick concept for ludumdate contest. And we will improve gameplay and we will develop more detailed prototype.

rorycooke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:45pm

it's cool

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:00pm

One of the best dual gameplay games I've seen this far!

May 12, 2014 @ 4:04pm

This is awesome. Such a cool idea, and really challenging to play by yourself.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Good concept and graphics. It's a fun to play game with some nice puzzle elements. Only the music is a bit too repetitive and in-game instructions on how to use the characters would be nice, other than that I think it's a great game.

klianc09 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice little game. The music loop gets really annoying though. It felt like it was only scratching the surface of what is possible with this.

Blanky says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:13am

Really nice game and concept man.

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:39pm

I enjoyed this! It was short, but it shows promise. As a side note, the music got rather grating after a while.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]