Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the City - deepnight - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your sister, Lice, is held inside the Hammer Watch prisons. You must sneak inside and find her.

Beneath the City is a turn based stealth game where each move counts. My initial goal was to create a stealth roguelike using a 3D isometric view (see early screenshots). I finally switched to back to top-down view because of the timing and the controls (3D iso is no good with keyboard controls). Beneath the city lacks proper ending, and different enemies, but all the basics are here.

View deepnight's journal. | View all entries by deepnight

Ratings

#5Graphics4.62
#16Overall4.20
#26Mood4.14
#62Fun3.84
#96Audio3.66
#163Innovation3.69
#376Humor2.72
#497Theme3.33
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

The link gives me a page not found error.

Indie Squid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Amazing puzzle/stealth game. Great concept, amazing graphings and really snappy controls.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nice work as always! Cool mechanic and nice graphics.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Damnit, man! You knocked it out of the park again! I always love your games, and this one is no exception!

skymarionsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

great graphics and fun puzzle. nice work!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

Really interesting mechanics and stunning visuals, Its amazing how much content you got in just two days

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

Mechanically interesting, and the graphics are impressive.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Good job! :)

NateGallardo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

This is brilliant. Great music, atmosphere is really strong. Mechanics are excellent. Really love all the little touches like switching sides when in cover, indicating where guards are heading etc.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Awesome graphics as always. Brilliant job.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Really cool mechanic, and as expected, visuals and audio are awesome too.

Wonderful job!

feiss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I love it! the best I've played so far.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Really nice graphics and music and the mechanics are interesting and innovative., but I rage quitted in the cells floor.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Incroyable, comme toujours. J'adore l'aspect infiltration et réflexion de ton jeu et l'effet que tu mets sur les pixels de tes jeux. Tu es l'une des personnes qui m'a motivé à me lancer dans les Ludum Dare et je t'en remercie beaucoup ! (I'm french too :D)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I like how it can be played in real time if we're bold (I'm not). Great entry, very polished as usual

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Wow, as always.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Impressive, as always :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This is awesome, nice work!

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Amazing work!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Interesting combination of stealth and puzzle game! I quite enjoyed it.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Wow, awesome game! The art is beautiful as usual! The gameplay is interesting, I like the objects that add so much to the game! And it stays really clear, it's easy to predict the movement of the enemies and why they see you.
The last level was quite challenging, but I finished it just using the bell, and I didn't expect this ending at all. ^^

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Very nice game, graphics are very good. Too bad there is no ending

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Awesome. As always :)

ninjabit says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great job!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Wow, I can't believe you did this in 48 hours. Amazing job, great looking game, I loved it! 5/5

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

This is definitly of the gems around here. Great game. :-)

VQZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Very clear and intuitive stealth mechanics

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Wow, this game is through and through finished. Pixel art is top, animations are great and the sound/atmosphere is very deep. 5/5 Stars from me. :D

GFM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I feel divided by this game... I really like this game. But, it's so good overall that I missed even more the lack of a proper ending.
I understand, though, that 48h is few time... and if you have to recode stuff, you're probably in for trouble. XD

Controls are great. Graphics and the music are superb... but I missed the sfx. Gameplay was... amazing. I really dig the hiding mechanic, especially 'cause I tried to use as few items as possible.

So, congrats for the entry. Great, as usual. :)

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I think it's even better with this kind of ending. :D
The game is simply amazing.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Really fun stealth game, very clever.

Mago says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Great work as always. You, sir, are amazing!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Stunning visuals. Deep gameplay. Simply amazing.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Great graphics. Simple controls and mechanic but it's fun nonetheless. The inclusion of a story is always nice to see in a Ludum Dare. Awesome job.

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

I'm not sure that I understand all of the mechanics. Sometimes I can be right next to them and they won't notice, or ahead in a straight line and I'm too far away. Another time a guy saw me from something like a 4 or 5 tile diagonal.

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

Well done. Very interested gameplay, and stellar graphics.

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Amazing entry. Holy crap, how can you guys achieve so much in 48 hours? The art is incredible.

lekochen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Brilliant as always!

mactinite says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Wow, a stealth roguelike. The stealth in this is executed so well. I never would have thought of a stealth game like a puzzle game. This is definitely in my top games this year for Ludum Dare. Bookmarking it for later so I can continue to play.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39am

Very good entry as usual =)
Mechanics is clear and interesting.
One thing I noticed that "Bell" actually useles and dangerous ability. So I can beat the game only with water arrow.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

smooth

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

It's Thief on 2D, really smart & beautiful. So amazing o_o

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nifty!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

As always, you did a really great work !
There is nothing to say, your game is fantastic (:

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Stellar gameplay, and it looks great too.

01101101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

Absolutely beautiful, too bad the story was cut short by the lack of time... Gameplay works pretty well and is fairly intuitive, great job on this!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31am

*o* ! I need a DLC for a really end ! :p

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

This is just amazing

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Gorgeous!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Gorgeous little demake, seriously needs to be turned into a full-on adventure. Excellent implementation of stealth mechanics with Rogue-like movement. Bravo!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

The game is very good. I love the graphics and the game mechanics. Good work.

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Impressive! Amazing graphics and atmosphere, the game flow and level design are very good.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Really nice little game with many well-worked detail. Impressive for a compo to say the least.

Got stuck some levels down, but the first 2-3 were really nicely balanced in their difficulty.

Don't have so much to comment on, maybe giving the back-pack options some further love as they don't have the same standard as the rest of the game.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

AWESOME! Will have to spend a bit more time in it :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

This game is one of the best I played.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Wow, best game so far. I usually don't like stealth games, but this one really captivated me. The last "real" level was quite hard for me, but I kept trying.

You could really turn this into something. The beginning of the story is very promising. To bad 48h is so little time, the ending is really poor :-p

Only thing I'd change: allow to hold the space bar to skip multiple turns.

Also, I never needed the Dash and Bell abilities, but this might change with even more complex levels.

Really good work!

Really nice entry!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

SO BEAUTIFUL! really, I never stop to be amazed by your games and the polish of all them

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Really nice game. Unique, fun, and memorable. Came here through rockpapershotgun, and glad I did!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Very well put together game, extremely nice graphics and audio. Great job on the jam!

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Great graphics as always. Nice mechanics. I never used the bell or the speed boost though.
Shame the story ends so abruptly.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Wow, this doesn't even seem like a jam game, you must have worked without sleeping! Also, hooray for Haxe!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Amazing. I wish I could produce something this polished in such a short space of time. Well done!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

This is a really great stealth game. Nice job :)

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Super atmosphere, great work!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Awesome game! Great job!

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very interesting mechanics. Really great job!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great implementation of a 2D-styled Thief mechanic. A lot of fun to play through.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

quite a nice game here. it has been added to my favorites so I can play it to completion. great job.

Suese says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

Not your strongest entry but it's still pretty good.

MokuJin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20am

Good job man ! 48 hours to do a game which requires at least the same amount of time to finish it ! And Go paris !

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03am

Original, beautiful and set in the famous and loved world of thief. Awesome Entry.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:21am

Dude, this is my favourit so far. Awesome job on...everything?!?

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43am

It reminds of a mechanic introduced in the best LD keynote ever by ChevyRay: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23-keynote/

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10am

Great sens of game design again. Well play! ;-)

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

I found it quite tough - once spotted you nearly always got caught - but the design and artistic quality shines through.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39am

Very nice game. I really like the tight design, visuals are top notch (the crouching pose behind obstacles is a really nice detail). Been playing this now probably the longest from all entries so far.

kikito says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Wow, very impressive game, I enjoyed it a lot, congratulations.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I literally don't know how you do this every year ... Great game, really smooth movement and transitions. It doesn't have the jerkiness tile based games usually do. Sounds would have been nice but I am not gonna be greedy.

Venturelli says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Amazing, great job as usual!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I really liked this, awesome job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Excellent as always from you sir!

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

It's a very well made game & turn-based stealth puzzles make for a really interesting mechanic. Great stuff!

rvmook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36am

Beautiful game as usaul. Lovely puzzles would be cool to have different kind of enemies

treeman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06am

Wonderful.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49am

So impressed!

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Really nice game - great graphics and atmosphere. It is very polished and impressive for 48 hours. The Thief-mechanic works well but it gets devilish hard on the lower levels.

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Amazing work ! A perfectly polished game ! Too bad the story finish like this ;)

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Awesome! Great graphics and gameplay. The ending was just fine :)

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Excellent, as always. Very impressive when I see what I can do in the same amount of time.

Kiyaku says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I love the Thief style of it, stealth is always fun :D

May 3, 2014 @ 12:24am

very cool game. the look is pure delight. <3 sneaking game. works for ppl that like puzzles like this. gj!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:14am

The graphics in this are amazing. Combining stealth with turn-based gameplay was a good call. Very sharp gameplay. Just a slick presentation all round really.

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:55am

The stealth mechanics were really fun, I'd love to see this expanded into a longer game (with a more involved story, too! it got off to a nice start here)

May 3, 2014 @ 10:26am

/applause as usual. Very nice work.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Great game! Nice mechanics, really enjoyed sneaking past the guards. One of the best games in the compo!

May 3, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Very impressive, love the mood of the game and graphics!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:24am

Great graphics, as always :) Shame you didn't get a chance to put in some SFX. The 3D isometric idea looks...intense. xD I think this was fine.

Managore says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:23am

Wow, absolutely beautiful!!

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:36am

Loved it! I always wanted to make a 2d-stealth game like this, loved the mechanics (and I think this basic turn-based setup could totally expanded into a full game).

Great art and gameplay (though I would have liked to do a metal gear solid-style sneak behind and kill). Hope you work on it some more!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:23am

This game is amazing !

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:24am

Amazing graphics and fog of war. Would love to see a fully fledged version of this! Stealth mechanics actually do work!

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Cool! Was sometimes laughable for some locations to be imperceptible to guards, yet they were. Good difficulty ramp.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Lovely stealth-game!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Awesome graphics and audio, but I don't really like to play stealth games where you can't attack enemies.

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:06am

A turn-based puzzle/stealth game with some DNA of the original Thief? This is by far one of the most unique games I've seen for LD29!

I love how your stealth mechanics work, and the whole idea of twisting it into a turn-based puzzle system is truly inspired. Will this be ported into a full game? Please say yes.

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Brillant game

May 6, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This is crazy. I would like to play it on a Gameboy.

recursor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:07pm

This is a quality piece of work as usual.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:18am

Wow. Amazing work. Didn't even realize it was turn based until it told me so. That's was a nice surprise.

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:06am

The pristine pixel lights enchanted me! If you continue to develop this, when I got to the second level and was detected by guards twice at the same place and was not sure how to avoid this a third time around, I felt discouraged.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very good implementation. Quite polished. I like the good tutorial. And the increasing difficulty level. Vell done!

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Really enjoyable. Well done. :)

May 7, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I love how your guy will move to the stealthiest edge of the tile on his own. Nice touch!

I wish the bell dropped an alert marker 10 paces in my facing direction.

epiplon says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Incredible entry, I see the beautiful work you've put in this.

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:08am

Great visuals, game play, music, ... everything. Good job!

loxo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:32am

Amazing graphics, amazing game play. Only some sound effects are missing, I think.

May 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrGIZzJZ1DQ

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Original turn-based game mecanism. Great graphics as always. Nice mood. Congrats.

jsmars says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Really pretty graphics and nice with the turn based gameplay :)

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:56am

Neat game, the ending was a bit of a let down... but 48h is a very short time and what you got done was very impressive.

Adrian says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:24am

An awesome game, as usual. Well done!

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:33am

Very impressing game!

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:01am

Really nice job..... good to see flash is still being used

May 18, 2014 @ 6:11am

Beautiful game that's really innovative in design and a pleasure to play. Easily one of my favourites so far.

mcapraro says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:35pm

wow! i loved the game mechanic here, really neat idea. i had never played a turn based quite like this. well done!

namuol says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:40am

A very solid stealth-em-up puzzler!

The game definitely needs more puzzles that explore the mechanics, but you've built a great foundation in 48 hours, and slapped on a -really- nice coat of paint, to boot. Great work, as usual. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]