Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eat Champ

by mrjohnson22 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nick of time!!!

INSTRUCTIONS:
Eat as much as you can within the time limit, while making sure to keep your cookies down.

CONTROLS:

Z/X: grab food with left/right hand

Shift: take a bite

Control: chew

Space: swallow

A/S: mash these keys to digest

Q/P: PRESS BOTH AT THE SAME TIME to take a breath


RULES:
-Chew your food before you swallow, or else you'll choke.

-When choking, mash Space to swallow what you're choking on.

-If out of air, press Q&P together to take a big breath. But you can't do that while swallowing.

-Don't exceed your stomach capacity.

-You get more time for every food item eaten.

-Eat faster with both hands!

----------------

Sorry for how crude this is! I still had fun making it, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#38Innovation4.11
#66Humor3.69
#754Overall2.97
#826Fun2.72
#874Graphics2.66
#927Theme2.76
#963Mood2.52

Comments

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really interesting game. This must be the most original game I've seen this LD.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Interesting, but Sticky Keys on Windows makes this very annoying to play!

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very original, also very difficult.

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Very difficult, but fun.

cr2crstudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:34pm

So bizarre! :D But really interesting! :D

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:51pm

A little annoying with the control mechanics, but none-the-less difficult and fun, nice job

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Fun qwop-like game ! The graphics are funny and well-made.

Afal says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:27pm

not really a fan of the key layout (or even the amount of keys that was necessary to play this game). Made it confusing for what was what even with the keys telling you what they were on screen :/

fullmontis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Well shit that's hard. I like the idea though! Maybe it's a little overwhelming at first.

AdamSwaggoner says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:29pm

For a while I was lost, but overall this game was neat. Very QWOP-esque

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:18am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! Sorry it's so hard...I didn't give myself time to balance it properly, and I got so used to the bad keyboard layout during testing that I didn't realize it was that big of a problem. I hope to make a post-compo version to fix all of these problems and more, so keep the feedback coming!

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:19am

I believe I have the world record: 4

Can anyone dethrone me?

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:27pm

That was pretty tough! Silly idea too.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:25am

Beneath the surface of your body haha! Original and fun concept. Like the idea and the control key for a multitask player. Would like it in multiplayer game :)

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:42am

Sorry I forgot to rate, now it's done. Also forgot to say that multiplayer would be great and funnier to play with reflexes and speed. Anyway keep going!

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

This is the QWOP of eating. I love it!

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:37am

Awesome game! I was able to eat 9 hotdog things, but could only achieve such an astounding feat once. I feel like I should hold some record for this achievement. Audio would have helped. I had to play music while I played. Overall, very nice job with this; it is silly, crazy, and I played it far too many times.

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Hehe, nice idea. Fun little game. But now I feel sick :D

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Really nice! Reminds me of QWOP.

Zanzlanz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Hahaha wow this game is so strange; I love it! It would be really cool for this to have a high score board to see how good some people get at it xD!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:32pm

ahahahahahahaha


haha

(dies choking)

KuGrou says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:39am

That was fun, high score of 10!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]