Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sea of Deception

by LTPATS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find knowledge beneath the surface of a sea of deception.

Arrows to move
Z or C to dash
X or V to shoot bubble ring

Note: Fullscreen may cut off the borders of the game in some browsers or operating systems which can hide the UI. If this is the case it is recommended to use the Newgrounds link, since it will not scale the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Audio3.88
#129Theme3.81
#157Mood3.59
#158Graphics3.88
#261Fun3.40
#342Innovation3.38
#425Overall3.31
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Nice. The music reminds me of a spy movie, and jumping is super fun.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I had no idea what I was accomplishing, but that's okay. The mood is absurd and swanky.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:50am

wow! i love the graphics in this game! so cool! I think i got pretty far. i don't know where it ends. i went through many of the closed off entrances, but didn't find any end. I made it to the divers, just past them. cool. I didn't see a knowledge bar that you have in your picture.

LTPATS says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Thanks for all the feedback! From what I've seen the UI getting cut off seems to be something that happens with Fullscreen on certain browsers or operating systems. The Newgrounds link should hopefully be better since it doesn't scale the game.

The game ends right past the divers and after the last island jump. There's a little tunnel on right that takes you to the title screen and that's basically the end of the game. I would have liked to do a fun endgame sequence but unfortunately I didn't have the time :/.

kristof says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice game. Very unusual, but fun to play. Even though the music was a bit repetitive, it didn't become annoying in my opinion. The movement physics, especially when in the air felt a bit strange sometimes. But overall, a good entry.

Sodaware says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Really nice homage to Ecco! The music has an awesome Mega Drive feel to it as well - how did you do that? Maybe a more relaxing tune would have worked better given the atmosphere, but it was still a nice throwback.

Controls are almost perfect, and I like the way it just throws you in and you have to figure things out (just like Ecco).

It would have been nice to have an end sequence of some kind, but given the time constraints I completely understand. Really good entry!

May 15, 2014 @ 11:41pm

This was nice, I played it to the end. I appreciated the Ecco the Dolphin influence. I thought you did a really great job on the look and feel, the graphics and music match each other pretty well. I liked exploring and appreciated that there were a little more unusual things to see as the game progressed.

Just be aware that unless Lonely Troll and A Thorny Succulent are the same person, it's technically against the rules of the 48-hour compo (which is intended to be solo). But for all I know they could be, just wanted to make sure you know.

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:08am

Thanks for asking if I wanted sound :) I did play with sound, but that was considerate of you.

Nice idea, not many Ecco-like games around here. I would have liked a little more sense of danger, but the idea of exploring is rather cool as well.

mark.goetz says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:44am

Very nice! The movement is great, the music and graphics are outstanding, and it's a creative use of the theme. I wish the idea of acquiring knowledge would've tied in a bit more closely with the gameplay, though. I think a map would've helped me get around too, but I realize it wasn't really possible in this timeframe. Besides, I liked the touch where if you set another dolphin or shark spinning in a circle, it'd continue to spin.

LTPATS says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:54am

Thanks again for all the feedback everyone :). Just to clarify Lonely Troll Productions and A Thorny Succulent are both me. Here is my site for extra reassurance: http://ltpats.wordpress.com/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]