Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Landmine Wars

by BruceDoh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IF YOU ARE ONLY GOING TO READ PART OF THIS WALL OF TEXT, THE FOLLOWING QUICK INSTRUCTIONS ARE WHAT YOU SHOULD READ.

Please read these instructions before playing, as no instruction is provided in-game and it is a bit complicated at first. It is advised that you click on practice mode to familiarize yourself with the game before playing against an opponent.

-----------------------------------------------------------
QUICK INSTRUCTIONS:
Left click to select units. Right click to give move orders. WASD and mousewheel control camera.

Small unit - harvester. Right click the gold circles to collect.

Medium unit - miner. Press f key to toggle mine placement mode. Left click to place mine. (only works if carrying a mine)

Large unit - minesweeper. Walk around to automatically locate enemy mines and flag them.

DO NOT send move commands to the flags (red lines) or you will have a bad time.

Objective: Collect as many resources as possible.

See below for more detailed instructions.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Yes, the graphics are terrible, but PLEASE give it a chance! I'm not an artist so I decided to focus entirely on mechanics and functionality.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Full Instructions:

Landmine wars is a 2 player networked RTS where the objective is to gather resources, while strategically placing mines to cut your opponent off from resources. Be careful where you step! You never know what's lurking beneath the surface!

The game ends when all resources have been collected, and the winning player is the one with the highest score.
Score is calculated as the number of resources plus 50% of the value of all mines in the stockpile and units on the field. Mines that have been placed do not count towards the final score.
Select units by left-clicking on them. Give selected units move instructions by right-clicking.

Camera controls:
The camera can be panned with wasd
Zoom in and out with the mouse wheel

There are three basic unit types:
Harvester - The smallest and fastest of your three units. Right click on one of the gold-coloured resources with this unit selected to collect resources. The unit will move adjacent to the targeted tile, pause for 20 seconds and then return to your base with the resources. Each resource tile gives 500 resources. A harvester carrying resources will have a gold circle on top of it.

Miner: This medium sized unit places landmines wherever you instruct. Simply press 'f' to toggle in or out of mine placement mode while this unit is selected. While in mine placement mode, left click a tile to place a mine. Please note, your miner must be carrying a mine in order to enter mine placement mode (When carrying a mine, there is a black circle above the miner). After reaching the destination, the miner will pause for 20 seconds, place the mine, and automatically return to base to get another mine.

Minesweeper: The largest and slowest of the units. When moving, any adjacent tile containing a landmine will be flagged. These flags prevent a unit's path-finding from walking over them. This is an important scouting unit to avoid losing your valuable harvesters.

These units can all be purchased using the buttons in the top left corner. Mines that are purchased with these buttons are added to your stockpile and are available to miners standing on the platform surrounding your base.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Have fun! Any questions? Feel free to e-mail me at [email protected]

Known bugs:
-Units do not collide with one another
-Pathfinding is a bit glitchy
-Mines can be placed on resource tiles (unintended). If your own harvester attempts to collect those resources, they will have a bad time.
-If there is a resource tile next to the tile you are trying to harvest or plant a mine on, your unit may get stuck while pathfinding.
-If you target a tile containing a mine with a minesweeper, it will detect the mine, but will still run into it. Your minesweeper will have a bad time.
-Giving move instructions causes units to jump forward slightly. This can give an unfair advantage by causing units to move slightly faster when given repeated move commands.
-Some random issue causing all objects to be destroyed. Has only occurred once for unknown reason.
-Practice mode displays "Waiting for opponent..." for a couple of seconds before loading
-Game does not end until resources have been returned to base. A malicious player could collect the final resource and stand still to prolong the game indefinitely.

Unity project requires importing of Photon Unity Networking free asset from the Unity asset store. http://www.exitgames.com/en/PUN

A* Pathfinding Project free is also required.
http://arongranberg.com/astar/

Note: Only Windows and web version have been tested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#391Innovation3.30
#782Humor2.13
#856Fun2.67
#866Overall2.87
#899Audio2.00
#1002Theme2.60
#1156Mood2.09
#1211Graphics1.90

Comments

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very feature rich, and fun once you get the hang of it. Got the chance to play with BruceDoh, so I know the multiplayer works perfectly. My only gripe is that at first the different units look too similar. Impressive!@

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Things I suggest: scale down map size, 4-6 times in both dimensions
Maybe consider narrow maps (like 10x50 tiles)

A for effort, execution needs a bit of practice :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Awesome concept, but even after reading the length instructions, I felt unsure about what to do. I think if you simplified things as much as possible, you could have a really cool game!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44am

Really nice! I like how it's played over network, adds an element of skill to it haha. Really nice job on this!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Just for those of you trying this out - I am pretty much hanging out waiting for opponents for a large chunk of the day while I test out other games!

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Not sure what happened but during practice mode, both times I tried, everything on the board disappeared after a little while.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Thanks for the feedback Liens, I will look into it.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

This is a really cool idea!

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43am

game tends to be very buggy and there is much room for improvement. but could turn into a great game!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Care to elaborate on it being buggy? Some specifics would be helpful.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Well victory conditions seems to be broken. Just finished a game with someone but it didn't end :(

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Good fun, I tried practice and then the online. Maybe I played you?

A couple of things, it was hard, especially in the beginning, to tell apart the units, but after a couple of minutes that wasn't a major issue.

Also in online there didn't seem to be an end state? When all the resources were gone nothing seemed to happen.

Other than that, a very nice concept, and fun to play against an opponent. Gets more frantic towards the end with all the mines and trying to get first to a resource :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Ah, so I was playing you, then you noticed the same thing as I did :) Good game though!

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I would suggest an AI for practice mode, it is an interesting game, but their is almost no feedback, that's something you would really have to look into further more, and last it would be nice to see what kind of unit you have selected (other than the circle around it) but like the hud in RTS games

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really cool strategy game. Needs a little more feedback to the play and a way to distinguish the units other than there size and speed. I guess what I'm trying to say is a HUD is missing. Great job though for a 48 hour game!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Don't have someone to play it with but I like the idea of a mine-only RTS game. It seems like it would be really easy to just watch your opponent's miners on the map and tell where their mines are, though. Also, the fact that you can die from your own mines bugs me.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:33am

Great idea, simple games are always good. But I think you made it unnecessary complicated to get started with the game. I think it would be much easier, if the different units had more differentiated graphics, maybe a circle (minelayer), a square (minesweeper) and a triangle (harvester). And maybe you could more simplify the instructions.

While playing the game I noticed two problems. At one time the minelayer drove right through a mine it just laid and got destroyed. Interestingly the mine wasn't between the minelayer and the base, so it wasn't even necessary to use the field with the mine. Another thing I had problems with was the placement of units on the base, often more than one unit gets placed in the same spot, so it's not possible to select a specific unit. If you work further on your game, I would definitely like to see an AI for the practice mode to increase the fun playing the game without a real opponent.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32pm

When I clicked practice it said "waiting for opponent?" I was playing the web version. Am I the only one who has had this problem?

May 2, 2014 @ 3:37am

Simple but interesting game, not sure if I played it right... I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice concept

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I didn't get an opponent - which probably doesn't surprise anybody at this point in the voting phase. Should've probably played on the first day, damn :(

I'm not too sure I like the gameplay too much - what I've seen in practice mode seemed a bit clunky and too much micro-management to me, especially concerning the harvesters. What I might've worked better is setting paths/area for automatic harvesting and minesweeping. But then again, 48 hours and all, and like I said, I didn't get to play the actual game versus a human.

Gameplay critism apart though - you finished a working RTS online multiplayer game in 48 hours though, and that's no easy feat! And looking at the other comments, I seem to be pretty alone with my complaints, but maybe they could still help you if you ever want to improve on this game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]