Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Virophage

by eerongal - Jam Entry

Entry for LD 29 Jam Under the surface.

I have supplied builds for windows, mac OSX, linux, and web. The only ones that have been tested are windows and web, so let me know if you have any issues with the other builds! (or those builds)

----------------------------------------------------------

You are a virus. Your goal is to survive in the infected person's immune system as long as possible. Survive and grow, but watch out, the more powerful you become, the stronger the immune system's response! How long will you survive?


Controls:
WASD - move
Left click - Pull viruses towards you and fire projectiles (obtained from bosses). Viruses heal you when they rub over you, so make sure to keep them close!
Right click - Pull projectiles (obtained from bosses. Starts weak)
Middle click/E(web only) - Fire off your super move! Recharges over a long period, so use sparingly!
Space - Restart game after death.

The game will tell you what level you made it to after death, so let's see how high you can get! In the current build, my high score is about 1400! Can you do better? Let me know in the comments if my score is just that untouchable, or if you're a dirty liar and faking a high score!




This game was made in Unity. Other programs used include audacity, fruity loops, and GIMP.




DEVELOPER POST MORTEMS
------------------------------
MechaToddZilla: http://aptitudeinteractive.com/virophage-a-weekend-game-jam-post-mortem/
Eerongal: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/29/virophage-post-mortem-ld-29/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#344Theme(Jam)3.21
#394Overall(Jam)3.17
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#508Graphics(Jam)3.02
#535Audio(Jam)2.60
#569Humor(Jam)2.05

Comments

Mechatodzilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

To provide a frame of reference from another team member on this game's development, I'm nowhere near Eerongal's score and I came up with the initial design.

In all seriousness, props to him. I got to do a lot of the fun parts on this project (graphics, music, complaints) but his unique combat mechanics and his mastery of Unity made this project a pleasure. Hope folks have as much fun with it as we have.
Pro-tip: Start slow and chase those power-ups!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

your game reminds me of my game lol, also i dont have middle mouse button on a laptop :S

torcado194 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

wow i had doubts starting out but it turned out to be pretty fun! i love the concept. its pretty hard and annoying to control, at least at the beginning; very floaty. and it was pretty had to tell what i was doing because It didnt look like i was moving at all.
awesome entry! :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26am

Very cool! It was a very unique spin on the theme. Very good job! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

ZQMony says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

Very unique and addicting game.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12am

@MechaTodd: yeah, coding the mechanics and debugging the game may have helped me get relatively OK at it.

@TomCooper3D: i went ahead and updated the web game to allow E as an alternate to middle mouse click.

@the rest: Thanks all! it was fun to make and turned out much better than i expected! :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

I really enjoyed this game once I actually figured out what I was doing. I made it to a score of 629, killed by a giant white blood cell. I can't seem to beat those even with multiple of the special attacks. The attacking mechanic is rather neat.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

This game is awesome. Nothing else to say. At first I didn't understood it, I pressed the middle mouse when it said to, then died horribly. Didn't even knew that I was able to move ahahah!

But then I read a little, controls and such, and a whole new world of possibilities opened in front of me. I really enjoyed it.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

Very interesting! It took me a while to understand that I was the cell and not the blood haha, it felt like everything else was moving but the cell (maybe a little easing on the camera could help with that). But I enjoyed the gameplay a lot =)

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

It took a few plays, but it's actually pretty fun. After you master killing the giant white bloodcells, it gets a bit boring though, some harder content would have been nice. And no, that score isn't untouchable: http://imgur.com/2lv1lzT

Mechatodzilla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20am

A challenger appears...

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

@Empyrealhell: That was a joke about the score. I fully expect people to make a mockery of my score pretty quickly. :)

Thanks for the nice comments everyone!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Fun game, great music and mood. Lost to the big white blood because I couldn't move fast enough to escape it.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Nice use of the theme, I had some problems clicking with the mouse but that might just be my browser (chrome) I'll try it again later.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

@Mechabit: I've actually been noticing some clicking issues with the unity plugin in general while rating games here, and I use chrome as well. Perhaps there's something weird/bad with the unity plugin going on.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48am

Interesting concept for a game. Pretty original though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Neat idea, I feel like the mechanics are a bit obscure though. A cool take on the theme, however.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

Hi WASD didn't work... I tried restarting game a couple of times. Chrome on Windows 7

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

Level 528 acheived ! Good game, feel like Level 1 un Spore !

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

@mrexcessive: Try refreshing your browser page. I've been having issues with unity in chrome this ludum dare like that as well, where it's not capturing my keyboard controls Refreshing usually fixes it. Or download the standalone for your system.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04am

Unfortunately wasd did not work for me :( I will give the game it's due merit, this is very interesting concept! Nice job!

metkis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:05am

More fun than a lot of entries I've tried. Fun project!!!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:09am

woo level 1199. There are A LOT of powers up all of a sudden. It was weird. and I also called in my middle mouse power up and I got like. 10 at one time. I don't remember even hitting a powerup ball at that point.

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

@LastResortGames: Enemy and powerup spawn increases as you raise in level. Essentially, the game gets exponentially more chaotic.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:49am

Game is quite a clever idea! It fits the beneath the surface theme really well.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

I've worked with some biomedical video applications for bloodstream video and this looks very realistic! It's a lot of fun too. This is my second favorite so far in the comp.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very cool!
It was fun floating around gathering yellow thingeys, and the big attack is quite satisfying, but after 5 minutes I can't seem to die from anything.
I like the concept though!

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:35am

@sevenkingdomssurvivors: the guy who did the art happens to be married to a medical doctor. He ran his designs by her to help be a bit more authentic :)

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:15am

Wow unique

foodzilla says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Kinda interesting... although I don't know how well I can rate it, I got no middle button either... :/

eerongal says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:12pm

@Foodzilla: I added the ability to use the "E" buttong after the first middle mouse button complaint on the web version.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]