Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defend your Kingdom

by wdebowicz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are in times when legends are reality, your medieval companions and yourself have to defend the realm from evil.
The earth cracked open and demons started to crawling to the surface.
You and group of knights you're commanding are bounded to stop them.

Protect the kingdom from demons coming forth! Keep them beneath the surface so that no poor soul get devoured!


Mission:
Check how long You can survive.
Demons are climbing the wall in front of You.
If You let more than 10 demons to slip above the surface, You loose.

Controls:
Z or Left Mouse -> Archers
X or Right Mouse -> Catapults

Tips:
Pointing the place in which your archers will shoot, does not mean, that they will shoot exactly at this place, but somewhere near. The point is that the distance is very long, so you should point above the target, in the place where monster will be in next second. Second point is to keep holding the fire button, so You will shoot so many arrows, that one of them will reach the target.
Catapults have longer reloading time then archers, use them reasonably.



Press SPACE to start..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#408Humor2.65
#613Innovation2.97
#676Graphics2.97
#759Theme3.03
#777Mood2.74
#821Audio2.22
#1016Overall2.69
#1070Fun2.37

Comments

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Lol I thought the demons would come towards me. When they started going the other way, i was like... "Yeah run, you little shits, don't come over here." Then i lost XD. Also, controls are hard to get used to, but overall 'twas fun!GG!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Heheh that was a funny story :D Hope others will handle it before assuming that game is broken.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Bows made of hotdogs. True Pro Moves.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45am

Those bows look tasty!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

wow the mouse is extremely responsive :) took some time to get that feeling right, think I only lasted 43 seconds :p

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I like the idea, the problem is I can't target the demons. Maybe if you could make some kind of helper for targeting.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice game ! It's a nice interpretation of the theme and a good shooting game ! I don't know if its too late, but when you build your game in unity, there is an option in : File -­> Build settings -> Player settings -> Setting for web player -> Resolution and Presentation -> Web platey template : You can chose the No Context Menu

Then, we won't see the context menu when we right click. But don't worry about it right now its totally playable.

It's a great game, not easy as I initially thought !

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Thx for feedback. Yeah, I definitely missed some targeting helper.
Tip:
Pointing the place in which your archers will shoot, does not mean, that they will shoot exactly at this place, but somewhere near. The point is that the distance is very long, so you should point above the target, in the place where monster will be in next second. Second point is to keep holding the fire button, so You will shoot so many arrows, that one of them will reach the target.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Fun game! Agree with archaeometrician that you should disable the context menu. I think this would be in line with the rules as you're simply fixing something that works already and it's not a change to the source code.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Cool concept, but aiming is so difficult! I could certainly imagine some kind of final boss raising from the depths :D

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

Really cool premise.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

Really cool presentation. Real Lord of the Rings shit right here. :) I agree with a lot of people here that an aiming helper could have been useful. But I still had fun :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Hehe, that is kind of fun! Commanding all of those soldiers! Quite unique, I guess. I did like it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

fun! (- : the catapults are kind of useless as you have to wait for them to shoot without moving around. So you can not just shout them somewhere and shoot other stuff in the time they need to shoot.

good work, had fun playing. Thx for making it (- :

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Cool game, but those arrows are super hard to see.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice entry. The mouse was a bit too fast, still I like the idea.

MrBlade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I survived for 61 seconds.

Good game, nice sounds, fine graphics, solid plot, good mechanics.
The animations on the archers were interesting. If you use the mouse and you right click, the Unity Web context menu comes up.

I would have liked a downloadable version. Just like how some people don't like downloadable games, some people don't like games in browser. I get a worse experience when playing a game in a browser, and that impacts how well I rate games.

Aside from my small nitpicks, this game is very solid and feels well made. I liked your unique take on the theme.

Keep making games.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Grafics are ok. Idea was amazing but aiming is almost impossible. Also I dont see advantage in using catapults.

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really cool take on the theme! And I loved the sausage-bows. :D Reminds me of the old battlezone, which is a good thing. :)

gwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Fun but at first I had Problems to regognice the Deamons.

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:20pm

This was Ultra Rapid Fire mod :) liked it

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:25am

Fun concept and well made! Some music and UI would help a lot :) And maybe more feedback when you hit a demon.. it was also really difficult to aim so I ended up just spamming arrows :) Good job overall!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

controls need some work - I was just randomly clicking - nice effort

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]