Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Driller Rush

by Serk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The end is nigh! Drill down and escape beneath the surface. Survive as long as you can!

Use the LEFT and RIGHT ARROW keys to move. Collect the gems, but avoid the rocks and lava pools.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#64Fun3.83
#157Overall3.67
#190Theme3.69
#354Graphics3.47
#391Audio3.02
#456Humor2.57
#499Mood3.05
#757Innovation2.79

Comments

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:08am

Simple mechanics, good game.

garbagetrucks says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Actually fun!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Lol this one is awesome, I was going to make something similar but I didn't know how to code it! Really fun!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

If you touch a rock you are lost! I ended up playing for a while!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nice!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Great fun!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

This game is so awesome!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Excellent game!

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

One of my favorites I have played thus far. It's simple but really fun and addicting, great work, If i had this on my phone I'd definitely play it.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Haha good fun! great job!

r0x0r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

A Linux build would be nice

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

Very nice gameplay! Runs extremely smoothly.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

Mechanics feel solid. Although many times I hit a big pile of rocks and/or laval that made it impossible to continue. Rocks are a death sentence for sure. Also for some weird reason I kept trying to use the arrow keys left/right in the opposite to your settings. I don't know why but it felt unnatural, probably just preference though.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Simple and fun game, although i think at the beginning it should be more forgiving, like letting you dig faster through rocks (cause if you hit rock - youre 100% wont be able to get out of it fast to continue). Also sometimes game spawns 2 rocks taking like 99% of the width of screen, so youre automatically screwed.

Chompson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Great entry, the only thing that really irritates me would be that I couldn't find an option to invert the controls - it just would seem more natural for me if they went the other way. Still, very fun game.

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05am

@Liens: Yes, the generator is completely random. I'd have wanted to improve it so that all maps were beatable, but didn't have the time

Arrow keys: I had it inverted at some point, but it was confusing for me, and I changed it so that left meant left of screen and right meant right of screen. Preferences, I guess. If I upgrade it, I'll add it as an option.

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Fun but a little tough. Luck plays too much of a component. A few slight tweaks could make it much more fun. A slight increase in the speed of Drilling though Rock. To reduce the luck requirement, either a fixed seed or a heuristic to ensure that there is at least _some_ quick path. Getting a couple of rocks spanning the full width kills you no matter how good you are.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

This is the best game I've rated so far. Gameplay is simple and fun, graphics are clean and the sound effects are awesome.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Really enjoyed this one! The random generation can screw you over something rotten but that's part of the fun I guess.

Very satisfying gem sounds and great match to the theme. It just "feels" nice :)

Notch says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I frequently come across two rocks spanning the entire width of the level (as in the second screenshot you uploaded). That's pretty much always a death sentence with no way to avoid. Fun, though!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Great game!

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

@Lerc: I wanted it a bit tough, but you are right that those things are actual issues I didn't have the time to fix, and the game would improve with more work there.

@Notch: Glad you liked it despite that issue!

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Solid game. Good graphics, nice sounds, good take on the theme. Game seems very polished and well done overall.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08am

Good game! Preeeetty sure it'll come out on mobile right? Even the aspect ratio is already done, haha.

Serk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

@zanenga: Thanks, and maybe, I just wanted to keep that option open, so that's why I made something that would be easy to port if I decide to.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:27am

Pretty solid game, great execution. Its quite hard but really fun.
You should give the option to invert controls though, it's sometimes a bit confusing.

alexdantas says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:17am

One of the best entries I saw.
Id'd be hugely addictive if it wasn't for two things:

- The controls seem swapped; at least for me. I think you could at least turn that into an option, because frequently at the verge of death I'd press the opposite arrow without any apparent reason.
- Sometimes it's _impossible_ to avoid some rocks. Try to work on that and we got a glorious game

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:01am

A bit hard due to some unfair random generation, kind of like in the third image you submitted, though I enjoyed the funny context.

By the way, I also kept getting the directions mixed. The drill is moving down so when I wanted to steer right I kept pressing left.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:15am

Fun and solid game. Good idea for a quick and impactful implementation ;) An easier level would have been nice!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]