Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water Temple

by pLaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rise temples from the depths of the ocean and try to appease the gods of the tides.

A simple little puzzle game. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#68Innovation4.00
#118Graphics3.96
#135Overall3.72
#160Fun3.57
#353Audio3.08
#420Mood3.14
#517Theme3.31
#887Humor1.97

Comments

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

sick presentation, love the visual style and the sfx. i'd be curious to know what a 'good strategy' is... the mechanics are very elegant and simple but I feel like each turn has a clear optimal move, and maybe I'm missing something

pLaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

@rylgh: In fact, the startegy part you're addressing was the the part I was struggling with the most during development. At the beginning, either you could build temples ad infinitum and no tide could stop you from growing all over the place or all your attempts to go past two temples would be continuously crushed by incoming waves. So there was some balancing there. The main choices you make in this game are supposed to be how to distribute your build actions, whether or not to build a totem (i.e. convert a high value 3 story temple to a blocking tile) and so forth. I admit there need to be some additional elements to make the gameplay really interesting in terms of strategy. Right now it's just a minimal core of a puzzle game, I guess.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

As you say, it's lacking something. The first thing I did was fill the entire area with totems - it seems wrong that the cost to create totems and the moves it gives you in return are the same.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

It is pretty straightforward, but the graphics/audio are really nice and it's relaxing to play. I'd be interested to see what this could turn in to if you worked on it more!

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Interesting game. I got 107, did some silly mistakes :P
I like the visual style as well. Good work :)

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice game. I think the mechanics are good, but the randomness / balancing is a bit off. This could become something really interesting. Very nice presentation and style. Good job.

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Really cool mix of short-term and long-term planning in the gameplay. Graphics, audio, presentation, everything is very polished.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

It's an interesting idea but seems like is missing something. Fun at the start, bored when I saw that i couldnt do anything more :/

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic! :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Simple, but very well crafted. The best strategy isn't immediately obvious, but with a little thinking becomes evident. Nice work!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Interesting concept and great presentation. Like cageinabird I also misunderstood the strategy to start with, I thought the aim was to create totems and didn't realise you didn't get points for it! But once I got my head around that I had fun.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Wow! Very unique, and very fun! It took me a bit to understand the mechanics, but once I did I loved it! I got stuck towards the end, I didn't die, but I couldn't place anymore pieces. GREAT GAME!

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Great job on the core mechanic! It's got a ton of potential, and is quite unique. I can envision a really interesting puzzle mode, where your goal is to achieve a certain score or final configuration given an existing board. However, I feel like experimenting with more interesting configurations is limited by the small size of the board.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

refreshing and intriguing. haven't figured out the best strategy yet but the game is quite rewarding so i don't mind :)

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

It took me a while to get the hang of it, but then it really works. And after that, I started devising strategies to get higher scores. At first I didn't understand what the totems were good for. Looks great too!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

Now I haven't played every puzzle game every made, so I can't be sure, but this feels pretty innovative to me. Great icons, great presentation. I was about to say "oh, but it's too easy to beat by just making totems .." and now I realize I missed the point, since totems are defensive but gain you no direct score. I guess that points to a need for a little tutorializing or popup tips to clue the player in. You should continue working on this game since the foundation of what you have is excellent.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Really like the graphical style. Also quite fun to play. I think this would be a great mobile game!

simon02 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:13pm

142. Very nice presentation. Minimalistic, but I like it!

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Figured it out, finally.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Excellent concept and realisation.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I liked the graphics, and the game was fun to play!
Since building the totem buys you enough time to build another, there seems to be no penalty to building a wall of them to totally block the incoming wave (the uprising water will still happen because you have to place temples to let the wave come). Maybe you should find a way to let the player "desynchronize" the wave/uprise timers in some way?
Loved the game anyway, good job!

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Awesome Game!

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Really enjoyed this game. Excellent puzzle mechanics. :)

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Interesting puzzle game, ended up with a score of 123.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice design. Very clean and easy to underderstand. I love the tidal wave effects. Enjoyable puzzle.

TeamEagle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

looks pretty cool, but feels like there isn't really a right way to play or balance of some sorts. Or maybe I just feel to see it :)

still great for a ld48!

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Like it

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:38am

wow this was a super great game - love the idea - great job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]