Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Caves

by CoderMusgrove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Monsters have invaded! There you are, you have awoke in a cave not knowing where you are, except you see a simple path, that would seem that you have to jump through to get out. Based on your hypothesis, you are determined and you start. Then, the earthquake starts...
The monsters are testing your skills. Get out of the cave before it collapses! Each level the earthquake intensifies. Get through all three levels to not only pass the test, but to stop the earthquake and win!


This is my first time entering Ludum Dare. I was afraid of being rushed, and so the code is a little sloppy.

WARNING: This game shakes massively. If you have seizures, or any other problems from things that rapidly shake, I advise you to NOT play this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#489Fun3.09
#502Overall3.23
#873Theme2.86
#892Mood2.61
#932Graphics2.58
#1191Innovation2.04
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

That was excellent! I can't believe nobody has voted or commented yet.

I really liked the camera shake, and the challenge

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really cool, only the spikes were a bit hard to see at first. Good work!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very challenging game. Shaking realy adds to the mood :)

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Damn those spikes are sneaky, great character too, loved his sad face!

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I had fun this with this :) The spikes are a bit hard to see and the camera shake is sometimes a bit annoying.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Fun! It would be a lot better with sounds though!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Congrats on your first LD! The shaking really bugged me, unfortunately. I could't see the spikes, either, which made it pretty frustrating. The main thing that could've improved it was more of an indication on where I should go. I found it hard to deal with navigating a maze under a time limit and doing platforming. Still, it's a solid first entry.

brother.byto says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43am

Yup, congrats on your first LD.
I found the shaking really annoying, though.

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I enjoyed this game. I found the camera shake started to get annoying after a while though.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

nice little game, the camera shaking got me a bit dizzy... you should make it harder too! but overall, collision system is pixel perfect and for trying to build one, I can tell you put some effort in it! good job!

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:03am

Nice game

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Arrow tells me to go down and I fall down a pit anyways. what.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Whoever told you, there is no such thing as too much screenshake, lied to you.
The shaking makes the spikes even harder to see.

Still, the platforming is really spot on and well done. It's also amazing how it only has a filsize of 56 KB.

CoderMusgrove says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I'd like to thank everyone for the comments thus far. :)

From the comments, the point of the game for the screen shaking was to allow for an earthquake, but it does go at a constant and it actually does even make me dizzy. It's also supposed to make the spikes harder to see, but they're still noticeable, but I didn't want to overdo the spike size.

My apologies, however, because the game is harder than I wanted it to be, and such as PIXEL^3 said, the arrow does suggest for you to go downwards. There are parts of the map that you cannot see, so basically you would end up having to make it or miss it just on luck.

May 10, 2014 @ 2:57pm

The constant shaking is a bit dizzying - maybe use it at specific points to add some challenge on the hardest jumps instead. Other than that - nice platformer!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]