Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Photographer Simulator

by Jacksendary - Jam Entry

I wanna take my time to say Thank you to all you who have voted and/or left me a comment as well as just showing interest in my game! It is very honorable to get feedback on ones work and it encourage me to further develop this game!

At the moment the best way to keep in touch if I develop this further and you're interested in the progress is on either twitter @jackiechristens or @Jacksendary (Jacksendary is my "main" user) or youtube user: Jacksendary ( https://www.youtube.com/user/Jacksendary ) (gamming channel but also using it for general announcement)

PLEASE!!! Play in fullscreen for best experience, In web player right click and select full screen!

My own highscore 10710 - See if you can beat that :)

The mouse movement is indeed slow and I made it that way since you're under water, also slow movement otherwise you'll scare the fish away ;)

BUG SPOILER: I've got a ton comment saying how they got millions of points by simply follow the fish with the camera, and this bug is noted and I may put a secondary link up to a fixed version (I'm not sure if I may fix the current version according to the Ludumdare's rules) The mouse was slow enough at me to not be able to follow the fish around, but feel free to cheat if you'd like ;)

Please note that I have not been able to test this on either mac or linux I'm very sorry, but you can try the Webplayer version and play from a browser instead. Full unity3D source code is also downloadable and you may use everything from there!

This is my first time in Ludumdare it have been a blast working on this, and hope to get a bit of feedback on this fast and dirty game please enjoy! :)

Change log:

v1.3 (Final)
Fixed a tiny GUI problem

v1.2
Added Cursor lock by requested and 3 new fish and increased time under water to 150 sec. (up from 60) Increased the overall spawn chance of the fish.

v1.1
Change Menus and added music/sounds

v1.0
Initilazed game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#251Graphics(Jam)3.68
#267Mood(Jam)3.28
#295Audio(Jam)3.22
#309Theme(Jam)3.28
#376Overall(Jam)3.20
#407Innovation(Jam)2.93
#598Fun(Jam)2.50
#611Humor(Jam)1.85

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

Good thing you put ut linux binaries, the webplayer doesnt work in linux.

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The game doesn't capture the mouse cursor, which makes taking pictures kinda difficult. But otherwise, enjoyable gameplay and nice atmosphere.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

2070 pts, relaxing.
Nice underwater atmosphere with this music !

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Soooo, pretty...

The game would benefit from Screen.lockCursor, and for me the mouse sensitivity was way too low. Still... Very Pretty.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

very polished game!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Fishes are realistic and this idea is original!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Very interesting game! Quit button didn't seem to work (Web).

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

This is good, but it seems that you are using the default Unity Mouselook script. There are several other Mouselook scripts on the web that are a loot smoother and some even have acceleration. Maybe making the camera movement smooth or with a lot of inertia would work better than just making it slow. The music is good, too.

MidCry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Great atmosphere and aesthetics ...

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

At first, I thought I was supposed to walk along the bottom to find the fish, but I finally realized that the fish are supposed to come to me. After that, it was a pretty relaxing experience. Awesome graphics, and good soundtrack.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

Sweet idea! The fish need to scatter more when the camera is snapped. It's possible to pool large amounts of fish on screen to repeated high-scoring snaps: http://i.imgur.com/KMjJjU8.jpg ;D

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Peaceful and beautiful, nice job!

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51am

A little bit of relaxing after developing our LD game! :)

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

The water looks great. I like the reactiveness of the fish.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

Nice sense of atmosphere, very moody and relaxing, I got 13750
(must have been lucky, wasnt really trying) Great job:)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

simple but nice. Pretty relaxing, good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I like the music in your game a lot felt very appropriate. Was really easy though I seemed to have beat your high score by a significant margin as I scored 322770 Took a screen shot of it for you: http://imgur.com/W1x2JTg

It seems that if you take a picture of a fish and follow it with your mouse you can continue to do this throughout the game. So I had a nice little school built up and was gaining over 20k a picture.

Fun little game, good work :)

elmoGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Nice relaxing game. Awesome graphik and fitting perfekt to the theme.
But I think you are bad at your own game :) did 159900 in my first try.
http://imghost4you.com/?v=fishphhvh.jpg

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very much enjoyed this, it had a nice relaxing vibe. I like how the fish get scared away.

With some more devtime to develop more realistic fish animations I think this could turn into a game I'd buy :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Ahh, nice with such a relaxing game. An improvement, would be a somewhat clearer goal. Find a super special fish maybe?

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Mac build works, but you have to give execution permission.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

@morganbengtsson My first Idea was to make a few levels where each level had an objective/quest but sadly ran out of time as I had limited time that weekend :) I'm thinking on developing it into a phone game later this year

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Its a nice relaxing game. Art was pretty nice.

dusho says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

lots of mouse driving..., nice environments

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I liked the atmosphere and visual effects. This could be a really great, calm little game with a few more features :) Perhaps more points if you snap only one kind of fish up close or something...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

This caustics effect feels familiar...

Good work. Curious to see how far you take this. Photography-based games tend to be inexplicably addictive.

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I like the peaceful idea. Taking photos reminds me of Beyond Good and Evil :)

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44am

Ah, the serenity. This is relaxing.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting take on the theme! Unique photography mechanic

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice game, i remember playing a game that has the same concept as this on my old Sony Ericsson phone, the nostalgia of playing this. XD

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

@Nichii Wow! I actually did draw a bit of inspiration from that game, I too had that on an old Sony Ericsson :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Hi. Like the idea, nice water effects. Game took an age to load. Very, very unusual, at least first I've seen like this. Such a shame you can't swim around (or if you can I couldn't find how)

theengineers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Fantastic atmosphere, love it

valid4life says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10am

Loved the feel! Also loved the game itself! Reminds me of pokemon snap :)

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:43am

Beautifull watter effect! mouse was a bit undersensitive though. 14940 points :) reminded me of pokemon snap!

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08am

Sweet game, I got a score of 78,780 through tracking fish as they run away ;) https://imgur.com/NMWB2d9

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Very relaxing :)

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very pretty, in both visuals and sound. However, gameplay feels rather shallow - it doesn't feel like there's much to do. Perhaps add a photo gallery, and different locations, such as coral reefs, ponds, aquariums, etc, and require a certain amount of points to unlock more locations.

Jacksendary says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

@Lucariatias If i futher develop it which I may do later in May these are some of the prime features I thought about but thanks for you feed back, follow me on twitter if you would like to see the finished product :)

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59am

Very nice experience. Quite relaxing and enjoyable!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Super relaxing, the music is really nice. Gameplay is a bit monotonous though
Nice game overall!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]