Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Underground Millionaire

by Neonian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get out of the cave alive picking up expensive coins and slaying monsters along the way, but be careful, you have limited ammo :)
The game is written in java, but could not get it to work in browser. Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#394Audio3.00
#498Humor2.52
#798Fun2.75
#892Mood2.61
#902Graphics2.62
#1026Overall2.68
#1088Theme2.39
#1201Innovation2.00

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Such weird graphics, but fun!

myachin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

i did it
683 coins

thanx for game
i like enemies and hero style

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

I really like it

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

I agree with myachin; good hero style. Why is it that collecting coins is always satisfying? Simple yet successful concept. I was getting a bit frustrated by how hard it was to dodge shots though... perhaps a health regen between levels? Thanks for the game!

anthonyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

nicejob pretty fun

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

i died at $$420, this is enjoyable, the music is really good, maybe the controls need more precision.

Robber says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

show me the money!! yeah..I totally dig the gfx-style of your characters man, please keep this up in your next game! not being able to shoot through the walls is a kind of must though..there is no defence...an extra clip of ammo somewhere would be cool aswell, ohjeah nice music

shasharala says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

That was a fun play. The heroic music and goofy models really made it fun, regardless of numerous deaths.
At the end, I noticed I was given infinite ammo and just shot repeatedly as I walked to the end, creating my own fireworks display.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:13am

hehe nice art style :) also REALLY good music

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I made it to level 4, it's so hard when you miss one shot and you don't have enough ammo, but it made the game interesting I think.

Moosefly says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:46am

Collecting coins is indeed satisying. The sound effects were also fitting, even though the jump sound went absolutely bonkers when ever you held the jump button in a 1 tile high space :P. Graphics weren't really my cup of tea, but the worked. Here's some other things I didn't find too much fun either:
- Enemies shooting you before you can see them
- Your bullets disappearing at the edge of the screen(?). Made killing one of the enemies pretty annoying.
- Bullets traveling trough ground

Good job for 48 hours.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 3, 2014 @ 4:54am

The music is really good but i don't like the level design though.

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice job, wanna try out my game? :)

minibutmany says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

This little game was lot of fun. Double clicking on the .JAR didn't work, I had to start it from the command line. That music was my jam!

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:29pm

The first level was really pretty hard. I got passed it on the 3rd try and made it to level 3. Everything moved a bit too fast to dodge the bullets fairly and there wasn't too much to hold my interest as it was just jumping around and collecting coins without a real point besides score I guess. I did like the graphics/character designs.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]