Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light Eater

by Cawrtz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The shadow creatures are slowly darkening a tiny solar system somewhere in the Pixel Way.
Using monster fuel, a very special liquid that absorbs any light around it, they are killing the star.
This fuel is produced in the depths of the planet, you have to stop the production somehow."

My 2nd entry for Ludum Dare ! I hope you enjoy it.
If you find any typo, grammar mistakes, or bugs please tell me !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#165Fun3.56
#221Overall3.56
#231Graphics3.72
#324Mood3.26
#515Humor2.48
#608Innovation2.98
#771Theme3.02
#954Audio1.82

Comments

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48pm

When I died I lost my staff and I got stuck in a level, think is the 3rd level.
Also there is no sound or music is that correct?
Everything else feels quite good.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

This is pretty neat!
I like the mechanics, but it could've done with some sort of audio though :)

zed0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Fantastic graphics/opening scene.
Reminds me a lot of the enemies from Heart of Darkness.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Thanks !
I'm sorry about the audio. I was either sounds or the boss of the game...

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Each time I make a long bouncy shot, I was like "Kobe" :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Neat mechanics. Your pixel art is amazing, I love the colors. :)

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

This game is awesome. Very, very cool! This is my favorite entry so far :)
It's fun to play, the control are weird but not really unfair, and I love how the projectile bouncing is exploited.
A shame that the final boss don't do anything at all! :(

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Cool game, the art style was pretty simple, but nice, and it worked well with the gameplay. I found the boss battle too short and easy, but anyway, I really enjoyed the game. Good work! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Nice style and fun gameplay and controls. Audio or music would add a bit.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

very cool game... that power of geometry :)
as was already said, this game could really use some sounds and music
also the final boss (spoilers) wasn't doing anything, just sitting there receiving fireballs to the face

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Thanks !
The boss is supposed to spawn monsters, but it's random :/

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

This game seems a bit long for the amount of content it has. Mainly there is a lot of lost potential with all the different enemy sprites. There is plenty of oppertunity to use different AI. Same with the levels, there are lots of levels but they are all pretty much the same.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Well done!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Really good game !
I like the graphics, and i like shooting on these dinausaure !
Keep it up !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I like the movement controls, it feel nice. Would have been cool to shoot with right mouse button instead maybe. Found no bugs but got a glitch on the 3rd level where the little people kept bouncing in and out of the walls

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Awesome game :D Love the controls, really missed sound effects and music xD

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

very fun game! I loved the simple graphics!

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

The graphics are great (particle effects!), it's simple and fun, neither easy nor too hard, modern HTML5/JS, and the intro is fun. Great job!

miwuc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Very cool! Beautiful art, especially at the beginning and end. I liked the mechanics and really enjoyed playing the game even if I felt like it dragged on a bit. The different types of weapons were cool and renew the gameplay, but all the levels are still pretty similar. Overall quite impressive for 48 hours. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

I like visual style! However Controls are kinda weird. I think WASD + mouse is a better choice for this kind of games. Anyway, nice job!

alexdantas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great game!
Apart from the lack of sound, it was a nice experience.

- Controls are intuitive (although I agree WASD + mouse would be nice)
- Gameplay is solid (powerups were a nice idea, next time I'll implement something like this)
- Art is cute
- Quite addictive, made me play 'til the end.

Oh, and the opening scene really got me into the game.
It really stands out from other entries.

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Very good game, the pistol was the coolest weapon.
Would prefer WASD movement with mouse shooting.

Also check this:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3684285/how-to-prevent-text-select-outside-html5-canvas-on-double-click

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Took a while to realise what the potions were for, but quite fun overall. I didn't vote for audio because there was none, however with some sound effects this would greatly improve the mood.

JavadocMD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I really love the ability to bounce shots off walls, but the AI needs to do a bit more than sit there and take it for that to work. Still, I thought it was well put together given the time limits. The art and the back story worked really well. Nicely done!

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:49am

neat graphics. the controls were a little tricky but nice entry!

gre says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Awesome graphics. Good game mecanism. The gameplay is great but a bit hard to play without pad (maybe there should be a key like "arrows up" to move without clicking).
Would deserve some audio also but this is already quite awesome work in 48 hours.
Cheers for not using any library.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:41pm

This was really fun to play!

ryebread761 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very nice game! The AI could use some work, but that's hard in 48 hours.

copain says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:38pm

weird controls, but cool. For me, it is more a puzzle game than other. But, with this point of view, the begin of the levels are stressfull and unfair. If you make a bad start, it's impossible to survive...

Cake&Code says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:00am

I liked the enemies and the different weapons but the control scheme seemed a bit hard to work with. It was impossible to run from an enemy and shoot at it at the same time, which might be the intention but it didn't add to my level of enjoyment of the game.

I did make it to the final boss and vanquished all the minions before finally defeating the boss itself! Huzzah!

Very cool, there were minor slowdowns here and there but overall it was fun and I enjoyed vanquishing my enemies :)

sirerr says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:20am

Very cool idea, would have been neat to see him go all the way towards the mouse click, I enjoyed it though.

Rabbits... says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:35am

very good, made it all the way to the end. I really enjoyed how the character was controlled

conormn says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:34am

Super neat game. Took a little bit to get used to the controls, but liked it quite a bit :)

May 15, 2014 @ 5:46am

that was fun. it reminded me of an atari 2600 game for some reason... good work

(although it seemed like some of the little potion thhings didn't do anything... but i wasn't sure)

Hammervuis says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:15am

Great game with proper polish, only lacking some sound.

lukepilgrim says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:31pm

great gameplay idea :)

iSamurai says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice game, the control is smooth and simple, gameplay is also fun. If the enemy AI can be improved then it's awesome.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]