Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Delivery

by 7Soul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions:

- 'Left' and 'Right' (or controler) to move sideways
- Hold 'Down' to drill faster, that uses fuel

Get gold to buy upgrades!
Upgrade your drill power to dig harder materials and enemies
Kill enemies to get gold and small bonuses

-> Survive as long as possible. You will lose if you run out of gold when dying!

Made with Construct 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Graphics4.54
#160Fun3.57
#235Theme3.63
#240Overall3.53
#456Humor2.57
#526Innovation3.10
#530Mood3.00
#856Audio2.13
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Really nice game! I enjoyed seeing a little bit of the development process.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Really great, and seems like a good mobile game too!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

I loved the graphics and the randomness.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Really clean art! I like the ease into harder rocks. Nice attention to detail :D

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

a very polished game. I feel it's pretty close to become addictive. Maybe by increasing the difficulty faster

Aske says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Really nice! fun to play. I got sruck in a upgrade screen. I dunno why :(

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

man, I love the background and tiles!! and the random creation is good too (a good balance).

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

The art is really amazing. I feel like it could have been a little bit harder, though. Really good game man.

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Amazingly addictive and very cute looks, definely one of my favourites!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really fun little game, would definitely enjoy this on my phone for on the tube! charming graphics

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

Well polished and well presented. On top of that, very fun and straightforward to play.Only one question: is it a bug or a feature that we're able to drop from the main scenery and just dive forever? Being unable to score makes this pointless, but I couldn't help but notice it :).

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

To be honest I was a bit disappointed with this entry.
This is mostly due to me knowing your previous works as well as having seen the ideas you gave on twitter before the theme release.
I enjoyed a lot the idea of "you're a monster under a city and destroy it by your shakes". I'm a bit disappointed you did not go that route.
Also, isn't this game/concept a remake of an older NES game that's pretty much the same ?

I've had crashes trying to play your game in FireFox, but that's due to the gamepad API/plugin having issues there. Something to rely to Ashley or maybe even mozilla.

I've also encountered the "endlessly diving out of the play area without scoring" as well as the "stuck on upgrade icons".

Now for the good points, your art is gorgeous as usual, the global HUD as well.
And from twitter I've seen it happens to work as well on mobile, so that's a great feature as well.
It works very smooth and the controls respond as you'd expect them to.

Good job making a game during a week-end and submitting it to the jam.

mandrake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

I really enjoyed this game! I noticed a bug though; I can't use the shop at all after dying once.

lullul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Really fun game and it seems very polished, the only thing i wanted is more information about how much damage you take when you drill the frogs.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

Really fun game, nice graphics! I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Note: with FireFox 29 the game is now playable without issue and the gamepad works as intended.

Had a second playthrough. It's still strange to be able to go "out of bounds" on the left or right side of the playing area.
Nevertheless, I enjoyed it more than my first try, had a better control and did not got stuck on update this time.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really cool, great art. Would be perfect for the phone!

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29am

Pretty straightforward mechanic but I like how it forced you to plan ahead since you couldn't drill sideways. When I drilled a frog on accident, I felt like a terrible human being

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

great and polished game, I like it.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

nice graphics ! just need a cool music :D

May 1, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Very nicely presented!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I must say that the style is good, I like puzzle games a lot.
BUT
I don't really get what I'm suppose to do.
Of course there is a tutorial, or I think so.
But I wanna get it kinda like right away.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]