Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bajo la superficie

by rico.albe - Jam Entry

Esta es la segunda Ludum Dare de Rodaja www.rodaja.es un pequeño estudio independiente de cuatro personas. Esta vez hemos contado con un quinto que ha hecho un gran trabajo de sonido.

Múevete con las flechas, ataca con la barra espaciadora. Mata a las cucarachas y encuentra las piezas que faltan de tu tuneladora.

-------------------

This is Rodaja's second Ludum Dare. Www.Rodaja.es We're a four person indie studio. This time we had a fifth who did a great sound job.

Move using the arrow keys and attack with the spacebar. Kill the cockroaches and find the pieces of your borer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#120Graphics(Jam)4.11
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#228Audio(Jam)3.38
#249Humor(Jam)2.88
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#316Mood(Jam)3.16
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#644Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice job with the scenery, it must be hard to create 3D graphics in just 72 hours. I liked the inspiration of Jetpac in this game, and the crowbar-thing the astronaut holds, looks like Half Life's :D

I could never expect such an ending! Even with that suit!

rico.albe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

We didn't know Jetpac until you mentioned it, but it looks great and we'll keep that one in mind if we keep working on ours.

The weapon was meant to be a fumigation sprayer thingy, but time took a hold of it's original use.

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

Cool

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:51am

I love the way the scene has been built in 3d, very well done. Gameplay is a little dull to be honest... The music fits the game very well though.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00am

Very nice combination of 2D and 2D graphics. The animations of the character are very good. Awesome sound and music.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice graphics and camera work! I didn't found it challenging though, but that didn't made it less enjoyable. I found all the parts but the ending seems to be stuck on a loop! (The ship emerging from the planet for ever, check: http://gfycat.com/SecondLightheartedAfricanaugurbuzzard)

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Hi. Nice level design/furniture. Like the sounds.

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Yes, we didn't have time to program an exit to the program, so the ending gets stuck on a loop.

Artylo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:34pm

A very impressive game. Your team is really talented. The 2.5D gameplay is amazing in every way, but may be a bit boring. Enemies didn't seem to have effect on me in any way. Overall an amazing game.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice jump&run! I did like the whole world you created, had some frustration getting the middlepart :D Using a high precission no look jump :D Good job!!

Sadly I had to play with Wine on linux and had no sound. Maybe you could also create an linux-executable for others to come.

javifugitivo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:49pm

2D graphics are AWSOME! Nice end! Lol! We need learn unity!

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:13am

Very distinct and unique look to this game with a good combination of 3d and 2d elements. It had solid platforming but tended to get tedious towards the end as nothing was really added to it.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:51am

Great scenery work :O Very good level design too, even if I didn't really understand the combat mechanics (if they were any)the different sfx could be more randomized (it's a bit boring right now) Anyway well done !

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Intro movie is great! Pro camera movement. I had a fun.

magicdweedoo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:30pm

this is in my top 3 for this jam for sure, the guy's walk animation and music is coool

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Cool 2.5D world, music is repetitive...

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice graphics and audio but as a game I also found it too easy.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:08am

Wow very impressive work! Unique scenery and environment. Everything is polish and nicely done. You should be proud ;)

XenosNS says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Solid platformer. Looks great, plays great.

joe40001 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:00am

This game was interesting, some of the art was really well done while some other elements came up a bit short. The end looping over and over was weird and I got no acknowledgement for getting all 100 things. Also at some point the attack animation stopped working (it would still kill the bugs but no sound effect/animation).

Feels like a couple of times you put the proverbial cart before the horse in this one. There certainly is talent in your team. I'd say good game but the fun-ness elements and level design need a bit more attention. Still overall you definitely did well.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:13am

i like the mix of 2d and 3d - great job

May 13, 2014 @ 11:35am

Good work! I like the walking animation a lot, and the music is cool too.

TeamFlare says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The level is really cool. Loved the art. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]