Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubWars

by Random Abductions - Jam Entry

The cuban crisis is on its peak and only you can save the world form a nuclear holocaust. You and your submarine need to destroy the target before the target destroys you! However, you can only use your morse decoder and you radar!
Good Luck Comrade

-- For the Motherland! --

Bug fix, tutorial now starts at beginning and more message now spawn reducing the waiting time. I hope this can be allowed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation(Jam)3.50
#262Audio(Jam)3.31
#276Mood(Jam)3.25
#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#445Graphics(Jam)3.19
#477Humor(Jam)2.30
#680Overall(Jam)2.54
#748Fun(Jam)1.88
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

Game may need some more instructions.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

Wow, this game's complex!
I admire all the work you put on it; the UI is great and very immersive.

Unfortunately I couldn't stand it.
Maybe I have a very short attention span, but I couldn't read all that text.

If you do care about people like me you should come up with a quicker way of explaining the gameplay (the actual things that make actions).
I fiddled around with the tacks and stuff.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

Such wait, very motherland, so messages, wow!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

Very confusing trying to figure out how to play...very nice graphics and sounds though.

brogrammers says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I loved the concept, even though, like the others, I was not able to figure out how to win.
Anyway, the atmosphere was what really hit me most.

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I couldn't quite figure out how to enter into the target box? The graphics and audio made this game really real feeling and interesting.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Impressive immersion. The controls were kinda tough to figure out. I liked the typewritten text effect.

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Very complicated, but it is well presented. Maybe a bit dense, but good job

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Yeah, I think I agree with the general implications of previous comments: marvellously complex, but kind of confusing. The sounds and UI did make the game quite engaging, but I would advocate abstracting out all the unnecessary elements until you're left with the absolute core. Then work from there.

pLaw says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:43pm

It was hard to find out how to play. Also, the log to the bottom right has a way too small font and is hard to read. Since it's introduced as very important it should be more prominent.

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:28pm

nice graphics

May 2, 2014 @ 8:43pm

It was quite hard to understand how to shoot the target. Sounds is perfect, they keep keep you into the mood of the game. It could be a great game if it stated clearer what the player had to do - and how should he do it!

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

After the third time I discovered the PIN BOARD, neat! Adds up to the command-room-feeling

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:04pm

The game's instructions don't explain the game adequately. Also, I recorded your morse code and found it to be -. -... -.-. -... -.-. ..-- - .- ---- .- .-- - -... -.-. ----- ...--... -.-. ..-- - .- ----- --- -... -.-. ----- ...-- .---- which translated gives NBCBC?TA?AWTBC0?C?TA0OBC031 where ? are unrecognized symbols. Either your morse code is fake or you are simulating some kind of encryption. This is disappointing, as a system to synthesize real morse code sounds is extremely easy to program. This is the kind of thing that catches detailist people.

GarethIW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:47am

I won, but it seemed kinda random? Ship 33 said they passed Big Island, so I typed 33 in the target box then clicked the radar dot closest to the big island and then got a victory screen :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]