Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Something Beneath the Surface (Sea's will)

by Striwx - Jam Entry

Post-Jam version is a finished version of the Jam one.

Controls 1 : Arrows/Moving, Down/Dive, Space/Map, Return/Sound
Controls 2 : Down/Dive
Controls 3 : Arrows/Moving, Space/Attack

Read the intro to understand what's going on :D



08/05/2014 : Post-Jam version released ! Eventually i finished it \o/
Keep in mind that this is just a complete version of the previous, i just wanted to do everything i planned during the jam :D




@Striwx
From Nice Penguins (http://nicepenguins.tumblr.com/)

If you want to see the ludum game of another member of Nice Penguins : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=24843



Credits :

LeHobbit - Graphics
Jorsuh - English Traduction
Striwx - All the rest.

Freesound :
Akoustikos - Sea recorded from Seashore (near) (https://www.freesound.org/people/Akoustikos/sounds/137159/)
laurent - tie the boat.wav (https://www.freesound.org/people/laurent/sounds/15553/)
hazure - seagull.wav (https://www.freesound.org/people/hazure/sounds/23707/)
Argitoth - archi_soundscape_cavern3.wav
(https://www.freesound.org/people/Argitoth/sounds/38963/)

Dafont :
Apostrophic Labs - Scriptina (http://www.dafont.com/fr/scriptina.font)
Philipp H. Poll - Linux Libertine (http://www.dafont.com/fr/linux-libertine.font)



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#152Graphics(Jam)3.96
#236Mood(Jam)3.36
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#329Theme(Jam)3.25
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#603Humor(Jam)1.90
#657Overall(Jam)2.61
#758Fun(Jam)1.79

Comments

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

I like the graphics, very poetic. But I didn't really know what to do under water..

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

A very interesting idea and art style. It could have a lot of potential post jam. I didn't feel like I had a lot of control with the current version.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43am

The black and white graphics--those that are completed--are really lovely, and I adore the animation of the sailing boat. At the moment your text is cut off on the screen in both French and English versions, and it would be helpful to have a button to advance rather than merely waiting (as there are no visuals attached, so nothing is lost by this approach). I also could embark in the diving bell in only one position--and when I got to the bottom, the game ended. There wasn't very much here game-play-wise, though there were certainly some very beautiful assets and a well-crafted mood. I look forward to seeing what you do with this idea in the future.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:55am

Ugh, I want to play it.

Striwx says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

@mir007 You have to go near the bottom, but you don't have to touch it.

@eugman Post-jam out ! Yeah i agree the gameplay of the two first part is too on rails. This is one of my regrets.

@VictoryGarden Strange, there is 3 places where you could diving (you have to be accurate, i hope this isn't too accurate)

@InvisibleWonder Go on, 4 versions of the game are available now :D

Striwx says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Thanks for your comments ;)

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Beautiful graphics and sound

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Nice graphics, nice sound. Though i didn't get much enjoyment from playing the game to be honest. Best of luck though :)

foodzilla says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Interesting, but it feels weird (the controls, maybe, or the style of how you are supposed to interact with the world)

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice. I found it!

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Cool, check out my game!

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like the overall style, but the controls were too frustrating. There's also no actual gameplay or challenge besides wrestling with bad controls, which is not a fun kind of challenge.

slumber says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

Cool Graphics- simple yet elegant. The sound was nicely done- music needed presence. Found myself spending a lot of time to figure out what is going on. Could use more direction. I think I see what was intended for this game, and I like it. Very excited to see what comes of it. Cheers!

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:36am

I really like the art style and the sound, but honestly the gameplay left me confused as to what I was trying to do. Glad you found some time to fix it up afterwards, though.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really beautiful. I didn't quite know what to do, but enjoyed exploring the world and figuring it out. Took me several tries to eventually get down to the bottom without crashing, the controls were maybe a little too floaty, or I could've used some sort of buoyancy indicator. But the mood and atmosphere with the music were great.

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice drawings. I see some potential in this. As others have said, the controls may need some fine tuning. Good mood!

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I really have no idea what is going on with this game. I don't understand the point of the map. It seems I can dive, but that lets me just go down to a cave? I usually run out of air. I managed to get to a screen that said 'found it!' but then the screen just turned "unity blue" and there wasn't nothing to "attack" even though some text told me I would attack something. I do like the drawings and the audio work. I just wish the game was less confusing/had something to do.

Pitzik4 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:23am

It looks very good, but I couldn't figure out what I had to do.

May 12, 2014 @ 6:34am

Nice and meditative game.
But it is difficult to understand how to play. Maybe you need to add to the description of controls and purpose?

misterwalter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:52am

The graphics were wonderful, but the game was only slightly playable. Try to focus more on gameplay and player goals in the future, you have the graphical sides covered without question.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Lovely graphics !

Snoother says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:48pm

The black and white graphics are just gorgeous, and you're instantly captivating and excited when you begin the game and see the animation of the ship. Sadly, however, it is too short, definitely finishing way before I would have liked it too. (And this only applies to the jam version. I'll play the post-jam version at some point but, obviously, my ratings are based on the jam version.)

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Really cool art. Nice audio.

May 13, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I like the idea of the pencil graphics, but the gameplay is very unforgiving

TeamFlare says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Very cool graphics and the idea with the sound is pretty cool. Cool that you kept going and released a post jam version.

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:43am

I'm a sucker for doing something stylistically different with the art in a game. Plus supporting multiple languages was awesome. I think this game has some real potential.

Mase says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:41am

The game-over condition seems strange because there's not a lot of indication that the player has hit the bottom.

Art & sound are interesting & unusual. Nice little details such as the sails filling with wind.

Some visual cue for locating diving spots might be nice.

ninjascript says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Love the use of stereo. Great job!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Beautiful graphics and wonderful sound! The controls were a bit frustrating, though, and the purpose of the game was a bit unclear. Overall, still one of the most visually appealing games I've played this LD!

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Really loved the graphics and the whole mood. Could not really figure out, how to play it though.

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:25pm

The art style was really nice and unique. Completed both the jam and post-jam versions. The post-jam one is certainly more enjoyable and more complete. Took me quite a few tries to figure out how to effectively fight my way past the enemies. Especially the last two.

Nice work tho! Looks amazing! :)

Striwx says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Thank you all for your comments.
Yes the gameplay is frustrating and confusing, i'll try to do something better next time :D

Ps : If you want more infos don't hesitate to read the post-mortem : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/12/something-beneath-the-surface-seas-will-postmortem/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]