Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wave Raiders

by 4KbShort - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions are in the menus. Please be careful of bugs. Quit button does not function.

Controls:
ARROW KEYS to move (Instructions are wrong in game)
Space to Enter/Exit dive zones

Feedback appreciated!

SOURCE (Unity Project Files):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zyod96x6n842n35/WaveRaiderSource.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Audio3.24
#375Graphics3.44
#412Overall3.32
#431Mood3.13
#444Theme3.39
#629Fun2.94
#679Innovation2.89
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

4Kb, i love you >_>

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This is great! Graphics are excellent! I love that when you die you go into DJ's locker (I assume thats what it says). Music is awesome!

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

Was very fun to watch the stream of you making this! Nice job. As you stated, there are some bugs, but they're not too bad.

Thanks also for leaving feedback on my game. Meant a lot coming from you. :D

abuzreq says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I liked the graphics ,the mood and the store .
I don't know if it was my problem or that I need to refresh the browser to return back when dying
collision boxes where sometimes acting strangely , some items where located just behind a jellyfish .

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Oh this is really fun! I liked the combination of surface adventuring and beneath the surface puzzles, and the cargo graphics were so unexpected and cute! Nice job!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:36am

Loved the art style. Enjoyed the various dive locations. Nice work.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:14am

Love the art style!

pjchardt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Reminds me a bit of Jaws on the original NES :) Interesting premise, I enjoyed the mechanic, art and sound.

May 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Lovely music, it really fit the game. That, combined with the graphics, also reminded me of the DOS games I used to play, so that's a plus. :D

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:57am

Fun old school game, like it! Great ideas, graphics and implementations. Keep going and don't forget to improve the bugs :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]