Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The drill thrill

by d_0o_d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello people, this is my game... The drill thrill!

Simple game, you've got an awesome drill and like mining. This is your regular job, you do this to get money, because you like money.
Fortunately the shopkeeper also likes money and he can equip your drill.

But what's the point? Digging down, getting money just for the sole purpose of upgrading your drill? Pfff...
But wait! There's more! Deep down there lies something ... what could that be?


Installation instructions:
Windows: Just download the file that fits your machine. If the 64Bit version won't work, try the 32Bit one.

Mac: I don't know how you run your apps. Seriously guys, I just followed the packing instructions. But if it works, please tell me.

Linux: Yeeeeah, sorry. Linux is also my main OS, but there's no good way to make binaries. So just download love2d for your distribution ( reference: http://love2d.org/ ). Then open a terminal, cd into the directory where the *.love lies and execute
love thedrillthrill.love


Thanks for playing and rating.
Have fun, I know I had while programming it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Fun3.81
#83Theme3.90
#258Overall3.50
#367Mood3.20
#414Graphics3.38
#462Innovation3.19
#483Humor2.53
#626Audio2.63
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32pm

That was fun to play :)

Scam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Fun! Definitely try again to find what lies down there.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Very nice work, most of my points go to theme and mood.

Blokatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I dig this.

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Cool game!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Awesome!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I spend more time on this than I should have haha. Nice game ! Yet at the beginning it is frustrating when you can hardly get the coins you mine

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

funny idea

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I really enjoyed this game. Scary to go down further, while it gets darker and darker.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

This was a fun game, great job! I like the upgrades a lot!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13am

Cool game! Very well put-together. The graphics get the job done, and the tutorial is great. As it stands right now, the collision detection is a bit too precise. I know, too precise, right? But yeah, sometimes you've gotta cheat a bit in favor of the player to make them feel more awesome than they really are. Make it a bit easier to pick up coins, and you've got a really fun little game on your hands.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29am

Loved it! Really great RPG-progression elements.
Was expecting something exciting after the boss (phase 2?) dissapointing :(

Spaceoff says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:19am

This was actually really fun. I was addicted enough that I had to get everything :D

The window was a bit too tall for my laptop screen res (1366x768) leaving the text at the end after the boss cropped out, but oh well.

voxel says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:09pm

OSX version works great. Only confusion I had was trying to work out how to exit the shop. Nice game, liked the art style a lot

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]