Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Total Tipanic

by tiffi_gaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second "Ludum Dare" entry:

Total Tipanic - Danger beneath the Surface!
Click all the fish away to save the Tipanic!
5 Fish are enough to let the iceberg grow enough to sink the ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#189Humor3.16
#693Theme3.11
#792Audio2.28
#873Fun2.65
#948Innovation2.54
#963Mood2.52
#971Overall2.74
#985Graphics2.51

Comments

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16am

Holy crap this game is hard, especially with a touchpad, but so is mine so I gave it my best XD. Nice work.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16am

Man, that's HARD! I think the detection's a bit off, I have to click ahead of the fish. It's a real challenge though.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Yeah, I'm slow with touchpad.. :) Simple game, but playable

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

The humor in the game is great. You also did an awesome job with animations.

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Nice game, I guess I am a master thanks to pc gaming. Good job.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Great game, didn't think it was too hard, and nice visuals. Little short though.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

evil fish! always trying to build an iceberg!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Beat it, first try (well second, but I didn't get it the first time), pretty fun:)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Fun... you should keep working on it I think it would be a great mobile game.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

Fun game, but damned near impossible!

Those little fishes sure were cute too :)

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

very gpod!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Fun little game, but kinda easy and not very long. Endless mode ?

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

I really wish you'd used a different sound effect for the fish building the iceberg. Fun and rather difficult; I like it when you can actually beat a game even if they were about hoarding as high a score as possible!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Nice little simple game and goes well with the theme.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice one! :) The ending was pretty cool.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

thanks a lot! :) i liked yours as well, pretty funny and enjoyable experience! good job!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

"Well that escalated quickly!"

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

xD mouse and I knew someone would use that iceberg picture! It would be pretty fun on mobile

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Super difficult on a touchpad! IMO the fail/retry cycle would be a lot tighter if you ended the game when the iceberg was too big, instead of waiting until a timer runs out. It's frustrating when you know you've lost but you have to wait until the end to restart.

Nice entry though!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Tipanic's fall is inevitable here. :P

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

@Techblogogy: Iceberg picture was handmade with Inkscape...
@oatsbarle: thank you for your input. I will consider this strongly if I develop this game further!
@all: Thank you for your nice comments!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

This was very hard for me. But I got a kick out of it, good job.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I could keep killing the fishes after passing the iceberg. After arrival I was like "I slaughtered them like animals"

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This isn't funny my dad died on the Tipanic.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

It's impossibru!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38am

I hate those pesky evil iceberg-building fish!

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

Simple, easy to get into game! I thought the premise was hilarious, great job.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I have the feeling that I had to click on the icecubes instead of the fish, so that caught me off guard the first few tries.
I never did beat them, I killed 71 at most!
However, the idea is nice and simple :D

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08am

Ha, was wondering if anyone would make a titanic game. Thanks for doing that, turned out really nice :)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Cool idea, needs to be longer! Super hard, but might be great on some touch-screen platform

neosam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Funny, love it :)

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Funny entry. Made me laugh.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Love the story-wrapper!

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Saved the Tipanic. I am awesome.

Hermes says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Too many fish ^^'
I was paniqued!

Cool :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]