Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghostlord Depths

by HelixFox - Jam Entry

A top-down action RPG. You have been murdered and buried deep beneath the surface, but your spirit wants revenge. Fight your way through the spirits of those who wronged you and claim your vengeance.

Developed by Kyle Rodgers (@kylerodgers) with audio from Will Bedford (@WBedford)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#51Fun(Jam)3.74
#65Overall(Jam)3.77
#72Graphics(Jam)4.29
#89Audio(Jam)3.79
#147Mood(Jam)3.59
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#454Humor(Jam)2.36
#468Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

gorgeous character art and animations, and pretty enjoyable gameplay, I found the environment art to be a little stale, but I'm sure that was due to time constraints, anyways, really great job:)

enosshenk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Feels like it could have used a bit more decoration or variety to spice up the areas. But it's quite fun and very playable!

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Really hard! Apparently there's a boss so I'm determined to get there. Love the graphics, sound and controls!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Those skulls are really evil

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really fun! Repetitive, but still good considering time constraints. The boss made me say "Ahhh! Boss!!!", so there was that.

KickBack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Died at the boss (couldn't find a better strategy than just kiting him). Overall it was enjoyable, the controls are quick and responsive.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Very nice atmosphere! Gameplay is quick and intuitive, I like it. I wish i could move while I shoot though. It becomes very hard very quickly.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Really awesome game! Loved the sound and graphics and really enjoyed getting to the boss and ALMOST beating him!

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Loved the feel of this game! Gameplay was solid, art was beautiful, and music was very fitting. The only complaint I had was the first level got stale really fast after fighting the boss and dying. It would be better of the enemies sought you out rather than just waiting for you to come. This feels like a solid start for a much bigger dungeon crawler. Nice work!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Very good graphics and I enjoyed it!

acerunox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Fantastic game. Art, music, gameplay - just everything!

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Great character sprites and I really like the attack animation. Would love to know how it was done. Only thing that I would have liked to have seen is a bit more of variety in the enemies

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

The pixel art is just perfect!

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

Really lovely stuff Kyle! Figured out the best way to fight right as I was at 9% health, which made everything much more intense!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Hi,
I like the presentation and speed here, the attack moves give a good sense of power.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Fun game Kyle, almost reminiscent of Gauntlet for me. Got to the boss twice but completely failed to gain vengeance!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:27am

Really fun game and nice graphics. It's hard but overall well balanced.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

Its an addictive game, the graphics are pretty good and the monsters come flooding in which adds a challenge. Well done XD

Kuchalu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really addictive. Love the art style, music and gameplay. Very well done.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Okay, so I am a floating skeleton dressed in Death's clothes, and I fight flamming and giant floating skulls with psychic powers. I think I have a new definition for 'badass game'.
Seriously though, your game was awesome. Nothing more to say, except that I was left wanting more.

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:12am

Skulls! Scene wipes! Creatively Avoiding Walkcycles! Lovely!

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Excellent game, me like!

CogComp says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:20am

This is a great action RPG! Loving it! Is it possible to get kill the boss?

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Loved the character design in this.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:25pm

pretty cool game

May 19, 2014 @ 10:19pm

It's a fun little game though it feels a bit bare. I think you guys need to disable mipmapping on your textures, as the game looked very blurry on my graphics card (example: http://i.imgur.com/Zp6lod0.png). The boss took me from almost 100% to 0% in one attack which felt a little cheap.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Goddam boss ganked me with his red aura thingy :'(

Love the music, very melancholic. The art is great too :) The gameplay is a tad repetitive though, and I've got some resolution issues on my laptop (can't fit the whole game in frame).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]