Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dirt Rush

by Kar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Mouse

Deep, deep under the ground the braves ones may find gread riches. Gold, crystals, valuable stones are only the beginning. A lot of adventures awaits those who dare to take their chance. And there is one more thing, the legendary resource - Myst which lays in the deepest corridor. Will you be able to find it and bring a lot of other jewelry as well?


Dirt Rush is a dungeon-like game which also connects with the card games. By using the cards move your drill-vehicle and aim for the deepest levels of the dungeons. Collect cash by finding valuable items and make good decisions. Your ultimate goal is to reach the Myst - legendary resource laying somewhere on the deepest levels.


Known bugs:
- Sometimes it happens that 1 or 2 cards from the player's hand disappear. It seems to be more possible to happen if you click too fast.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#391Innovation3.30
#629Humor2.33
#636Theme3.18
#756Graphics2.85
#850Overall2.88
#856Fun2.67
#931Mood2.56
#975Audio1.76

Comments

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

it was pretty confusing at first, i like the card idea though, but it's mainly based on luck isn't it?

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Fun! It was frustrating at the end how I had clicked too fast and had disappearing cards (limiting my choices to 1), but overall a great digging and treasuring card game.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

Fun little game, i got the bug where i only got one card each turn, this caused me to get stuck down in the lower left corner of the playfield for about 100 turns. After a while, i stopped receiving cards all together. What can i use the resources i mine for? Good job!

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

Could you please provide a .zip?

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hey, thanks.

@TomBoogaart: A lot of luck, sure. But there is not the same chance of every card for all the game. The possibilities changes as you make progress. It's still not perfect, and may be pretty annoying, but hey! That's just a bad luck then! :)

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

@JALgames: sure mate! .zip is available now.

@Mstrp2ez: Hey, thanks for playing. And ye, I know about this bug, it's a "relic" of the old mechanic, which I had no time to implement. It doesn't happen all the time and the game is beatable. But unfortunately I cannot remove the disappearing card problem with a little effort.

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

@Mstrp2ez: Ah, and the resources are handy at the end of the game ;)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

It was fun, reminds me of a board game called RoboRally. It took me some time to realize that the effects of the chests (and the rest of the information) is in the bottom left corner though.

My middle card disappeared at one point I thought it was because I broke an engine by ramming into a solid rock.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Interesting idea, could make a funky board game too! Bugged a bit when the "play card" animation didn't play and I could no longer play any more cards, but reached the bottom. Visuals're good too! :D

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Great idea! The only issue I had was that in 98% of all turns my only option was to go down, so I had a really hard time getting all the ores.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Played it until the end! I found the hermit hut that showed me the orb. Awesome game :)

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Great game, good combination of a card game with mining

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

@Jed T.: You're the boss! I doubted that anyone would beat this game here ;) Even with little cheats I had some problems beating it by myself while testing.

leddkire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Very nice. I liked the card mechanics. Some sounds would have made it a very solid game.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice idea and good game.

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Cool idea. Like the combination game types. The card possibility made the game a little bit difficult though. You could maybe try a different card bias.

Stratovarius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Game was fun, I liked the concept, although the disappearing card bug that left me with only one option was really bothersome and left me trapped in a corner at the bottom.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

played through it. have you changed stuff around? (Because it was easy to beat for me, the comments suggest it's kind of hart. I made it to the end screen with the planet thingy. - tough I was getting frustrated at the end.. had to go 5 fields right.. took forever since I always drew GO LEFT cards ^^ )

Kar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I haven't changed anything ;) If it was easy for you, you may feel lucky (we can call it a "skill" if you prefer :D)

Almost says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:07am

The game basically froze once when I tried to walk to the right into a wall. Also it gave me around 20 downs and lefts in a row. I'm on the bottom row and need to get to the bottom right and it seems to be nearly impossible (also to go up is very difficult) Why does it give me down and left so frequently when I am in the bottom left corner of the map?

Almost says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:08am

To elaborate, I probably had 1 up in 40 cards, and just kept going down and left until by some fluke I drew around 8 rights in a row and eventually made it to the one tile that I needed to reach.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18am

Pretty cool idea! Kept getting down and right cards though so i just got stuck on a stone :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]