Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snack on the fly

by pandavigoureux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control a shark !

Jump out of the water to eat birds and refill your stomach. But be aware of the ships that sail the sea !

Play with mouse only, on browers and mobile devices.

Controls:
Use the yellow handle under the shark to adjust its direction and jump strength, then release.
Once you're in the air, click/tap once to take a bite (hopefully not of void).

Destroy the ships from above.

Try to get the best score before your hunger kills you!

Made with Phaser !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#414Graphics3.38
#421Humor2.63
#588Theme3.23
#629Fun2.94
#654Overall3.09
#660Innovation2.91
#789Mood2.73
#792Audio2.28

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Nice, really enjoy the concept!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

Love that shark, looks awesome..!
Fun game, good work...!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

At first i didnt get how to shoot the shark fine :)
Other than that the game its fun.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Its really hard to eat something (except boats), but the graphics are brilliant! Would be great on android

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

fun concept!

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice, the a bit too sensitive controls

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

AngrySharks, haha. Nice.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Very good concept... loved the art but i found the controls a little clunky - the launch velocity gradient is too high for the distance we stretch the yellow dot making it annoying to set the right velocity.

Tuism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

A nice little game! I like that there are many little touches like the sounds and the animations on everything. The deviation of this from the regular formulas prevent it from it being just another one yet is familiar enough to be immediate. Good one for the scope! :)

Some of the stuff could do with a bit more design but such is a 48 hour jam :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

i enjoyed it, cool game.
but somehow I did not manage to kill boats (I just thumbed on the deck from above) but hey, I ate many birds!

I hope eating some birds makes up for all the sharks I blew up while making my game ;)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

This graphics are really cool!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

I managed to get 150 once I figured out the controls... shows what I get for not paying attention. The mood is quite nice. I played The Mariner's Revenge Song while playing this one to add a soundtrack.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09am

I liked the graphics. Fun game.

But I didn't really get when the game is over. Sometimes it lasts longer sometimes it's very short.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39am

Not too bad. A wider play area would have been nicer.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

Thanks for all the comment. I intend to work again on this after the jam. Any feedback is appreciated. I'll try to take all of them in account.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

I really like the idea. The controls could do with a bit of work: more room to drag at the bottom and maybe some indicator that helps you aim. Fun game and nice gfx/colour palette.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Ahh, the controls are so sensitive! This game is hard! Really like the graphics and the idea.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

nice artwork and small game :)

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34am

That's one talented shark. Nicely done.

local minimum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:15am

I like your colors, and the ink-feel of the back stuff.
I wasn't so happy with the yellow-dot controls reactions when I got out of the game-area (which happened a lot since the dot was close to the edge). There could have been a springy-feeling to the dot so it stopped going further away from shark when it reach the maxSharkJump amount.
It took me a while to realize it really wasn't a game about eating birds but eating boats -- point-wise too.

One way I think the game could improve a bit is if the shark would start its next jump from where it landed. That way, how you handle the boats becomes a bit different. You could simply have the shark wrap around the world on the x-axis. And on that matter, it was a bit frustrating to have the shark go out of screen and would have been nice to have the camera track the shark as it flew high up.

Finally, I didn't understand or see any meter for the number of jumps left. A nice way to show that could have been to have the sun set a little every jump made (or go by play-time).

(And btw, I like lengthy comments)

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:03pm

liked the gfx, neat concept - sometimes a ship appeared directly in front of my flying shark

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:02am

Does this game play a sound of you breathing? Because that freaked me out.

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:43am

Great art style!
Had some problems with the controls, as I kept moving my mouse out of the window when trying to launch the shark.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Pretty sweet. The graphics have really nice contrast. I would recommend developing this further for the mobile platform.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:02pm

nice color scheme, and great concept, well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]