Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Fields

by ryangatts - Jam Entry

The Fields is about a colony of bunnies (one at a time) trying to make their way across the mine-laden no-mans-land of a WWI battlefield.

Make your way across each field and try to sidestep or jump over any landmines in your way. Dig to learn how close you are to a landmine: red is one block away, yellow is two.

Themed after the costly and muddled nature of the war effort in WWI, The Fields is game about managing risk with limited information. You will very rarely know exactly where every landmine is, only that there is one nearby. Some levels are easier to complete by sacrificing a bunny to learn more about which bombs are where so that the path is clearer and safer for the next one in line.

--------------------------
Instructions:
Move = WASD / Arrow Keys
Dig = Space
Long Jump = L-Shift / R-Ctrl + Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#14Graphics(Jam)4.63
#25Theme(Jam)4.02
#34Mood(Jam)4.13
#65Overall(Jam)3.77
#95Audio(Jam)3.75
#140Humor(Jam)3.24
#162Innovation(Jam)3.49
#216Fun(Jam)3.26

Comments

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Couldn't get it to run.

Kulomin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Really nice graphics and mood. Although your rabbit exlpoding was progress, since the next time the landmine wasnt there anymore, it always felt like loosing...every single time.

MattV says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

dig the art, didn't really feel like I had any control over what happened though - I might as well have flipped a coin 10 times and watched a rabbit explode each time it came up tails.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

This is why having a team is great! Only negative is that the gameplay is mostly trial and error.
+6 for rabbit anus.

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

The file is a bit too big, the gameplay is a little too slow, but big up for the art, it is really awesome !

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice concept !
This is a great work !
And really cool graphics !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Loved the art work. Slightly traumatizing as well.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This game was beautiful, and then it wasn't :'(

Fantastic sound and art design, I really love it's theme in general!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I chose to sacrifice bunnies for the greater good instead of carefully plotting the minefield. My strategy was just to jump towards the goal if I dug a red spot and take my chances. It's a humorous skin on a slightly more simplistic Minesweeper, and the artwork was very good.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

What a beautiful game. The lost bunnies will be remembered.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I get the feeling of Minesweeper meets Watership down

rogberth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Strange game, not very playable, but really interesting graphics and story.

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Enjoyed the game. Took me about 3 times blowing up to figure out that digging would reveal a mine, AHHHH!!!

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

The rabbits move too slow! When you die you already have to wait a long time to regain control, and when you do you'll probably take a long time to get back to where you were.

Other than that, really cool idea! Super gorgeous graphics too, top notch!

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

wow the graphics are pretty fantastic! i especially loved the animation on the title scree. and yeah like other's said, its pretty much just a trial and error game. except you dont learn from your mistakes since bombs dont reset. nice job though!

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

Beautiful! The bunny animation was excellent. It was a great way to interpret the theme, too. Very impressed.

mtrc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

So beautiful.

TeamAlpha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15am

Man I wish I could model rabbits like this. Amazing graphics, the 3D and the draw, and the concept of the game it's pretty unseen nowadays. Great job.

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:18am

I managed to finish with 8 losses. It was always scary when you had a bunny explode, but it looked really cool when that happened too though! Great art and sound work. Because there was no real penalty for digging as much as you want or losing a bunny here and there, it wasn't super challenging. I dig like the tension of hopping around wondering if my bunny was about to explode or not. Yikes!

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15am

Great job, once I realized what each color meant and that I could actually long jump over the spaces with two mines by them I had a ton of fun. Great graphics. The first time my bunny exploded made me laugh.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15am

AWESOME! had a ton of fun, great art, super well made.

Nice job.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice puzzle! With the instructions were in the game, as opposed to on this page. Play was a bit slow, but it had great ambiance.

WetDesertRock says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

I AM TRAMATIZED, before I knew the minesweeper-esc technique to playing the game, I was horrified to jump, and then immediately explode. I screamed. My girlfriend screamed. It was not good.

I did really like your game though. If you had more time, I can imagine you actually producing an in game tutorial or such.

Also, technique I found that only failed me once was:
red -> long jump
green -> short jump

And FYI, I had to get someone who wasn't partially colorblind to help me play this game. Perhaps you can use colors that stand out more. This means red and green are out when put together, or just change the shades of the color.
For your game, you could do something like dark green and bright red.

Good job :)

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very pretty, although the background breaks the immersion somewhat. Smart, but the deaths were seemingly random, and felt punishing for something not under your control.Movement felt kind of slow, as well. I know it's tactical, but it could have moved faster.
Very impressive game, though.

taocayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Top notch graphics, theme and, maybe I misinterpreted it; but, a bit funny. I second the feeling of not winning unless I get no casualties at the end.

NoahC_ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:44am

Very well done! The graphics and utilization of the theme are excellent and very interesting! Good work!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:53am

Wonderful game. Beautifully animated bunnies. Great artwork all around. Very tense atmosphere. Some of the situations I found myself in solving puzzles felt a little too much like trial and error at times which I wasn't too crazy about. Overall though, I very much enjoyed this game. Very good entry! Well done!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Hahaha, great game! Really love it. Oh, those poor rabbits! I feel sad when they blow up.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Wow. This was super intense. This game has a very strong immersion, every time the mine exploded I freaked out. I would love to see some more obstacles/mechanics besides the mines in a post-compo version to add more variation to the gameplay.

Managore says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:49am

Stunning graphics and a really well thought out game mechanic! Trying to beat levels without losing a single bunny was wonderfully challenging and rewarding. Really well done!!

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:27am

The graphics are beautiful, but the game really just feels like an invisible maze with insufficient clues as to the right path through that punishes you for making good guesses because sometimes the only way through is to let a rabbit get blown up to clear the way for the next one. I didn't really enjoy playing it.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:08pm

oh my gosh the bunnies are adorable :D

May 5, 2014 @ 2:03am

Once I read about the strategy, it was a lot more fun. The game looked great too.

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:55am

Amazing set up and mood! I loved the art at the beginning, and the bunnies with the style of gameplay made me really care about what happens to each and every one...although it was beneficial to sacrifice a few to get a better sense of the land. Great game overall! It's super cute!

DonovanWu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:57am

Wow! Never too much to say this game is awesome!

spotco says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:37am

Really impressive 3d art!

cardboard says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Oh wow, this game is so beautiful; it's also extremely intense. Before I learned to longjump, I was playing with fire: bunny explosions were a thing that happened at random. I'm glad I didn't know how to longjump at the start though, and I know I should've read the description before playing, but if I hadn't then I would not have witnessed the beauty that is an exploding 3D bunny. The music fit the atmosphere well, the gameplay was fun the whole game, and the graphics were super cute (both in-game and the intro/ending art); nice work!

May 23, 2014 @ 9:28am

I made a video of the game here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcyZUR7o8hk&feature=youtu.be

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]