Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It Came from Beneath the Surface of the Sea!

by JavadocMD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Awaken the slumbering beast!

In a world where mega corporations ply the ocean's depths for riches, one such -- Zungo Corp -- becomes too greedy, goes too deep. There in the darkest unknown they discover something truly horrible.

All that remains is to tally the cost humanity will pay for their arrogance.

-----

Thank you very much for playing! Feel free to reach out to me on Twitter as well! http://twitter.com/javadocmd

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Humor3.91
#176Fun3.54
#599Mood2.94
#611Graphics3.09
#614Overall3.13
#691Audio2.51
#944Theme2.73
#1010Innovation2.43

Comments

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Nice - you had great pacing, giving me time to play with the controls and slowly escalating the number of choppers. The most exciting part of the game for me was the end - I had just started running, and a huge cloud of choppers came to attack me as I was destroying Zungo Corp. I'd love to see some more variation in the buildings - I was disappointed when I was only able to punch the bottom floors of the scrapers, rather than being able to topple the whole thing.

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Nice game :). Liked the damage message, even though they faded very fast.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10am

Take that, ISPs, Uwe Boll, and Nicholas Cage! Very well done, seamless tutorial phase. Pretty good take on the classic Rampage formula, plus I got to "biff" things, that's always a plus.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

Great game, very funny. I also like the pacing of the game - the pop-up messages are helpful. Also, it's always fun smashing things!

CogComp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Very funny. The controls feel a bit sluggish at times. Really like it!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Nicely done! I had a few laughs at the office sections I was destroying :)

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

Haha! Take that Zungo Corp!

That was fun, good presentation.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22am

The first message in the game reminded me Pink Floyd's Echoes :) Pity that game itself is too short and kind of repetitive :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

That was pretty hilarious, nice job on this. Really funny. Dinosaur slap!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Funny stuff. Graphcis are passable, audio can be a bit annoying, and the controls are fun. Not too sure about adherence to the theme though.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Great humor! Fun game! However, I found it way to easy to just go right and destroy all the lower parts of the buildings untill you reach Zungo Corp. Most helicopters are so far away that if you destroy it quickly you don't take too much damage.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:36am

Loved taking down all that is wrong with this world! I accidentally skipped the intro though. You can kinda just run through it as well to get to the end, won't do much for getting a hiscore but people could abuse it.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

There aren't enough games where you get to destroy cities as a giant monster! This was a very enjoyable game, and great work with consistency in the graphics.

The gameplay lacked a bit, but the game was short enough that it didn't become an issue. Overall a very solid entry.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

I scored 675,000 but alas I didn't not defeat Zungo Corp. Almost... I loved the random things that I destroyed. Favorites were Nickleback and the Half-Life 3 team! :D

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice job! Really fun! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

nice game - wish I could destroy the chippers! great game.

Wakka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51am

very well made. Sweet art. I really like the way the game is explained to you while you play.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:02am

Fun game. Liked the graphics and presentation

May 1, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice little game, reminds me of Rampage :)

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17am

Great entry! I especially liked the AI of the helicopters, which was simple enough to be brought down easily, but annoying enough to justify destroying each of them.
Near the end though, there are 3-blocks high building. Is there a way to destroy the top block?

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I liek destroying thing.

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37pm

That was fun to play! Game is simple and descriptions were funny "TAKE THAT KARDASHIANS!" Good job!

cageinabird says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:07am

Simple, fun, and funny. I liked having to time the jumps when fighting helicopters - just wish I could reach a little further. :)

Jod says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Short and sweet, I like it! Love the diversity of people that I can destroy.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02am

Suck it Zungo Corp! Very funny game :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:59am

I agree with JoeProgram, and being able to climb/toggle a skyscraper would have been awesome! Needless to say, it was a fun romp through the city destroying buildings :)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Haha I defeated Zungo Corp! This is quite a funny game.
It would been nice if one could down the helicopters.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:14pm

For the record, it is possible to down the helicopters. :) Their hitbox is a tiny bit smaller than their on-screen rendering and your hitbox is a square around where the punch animation happens. It is a difficult shot, but intentionally so.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Intro was the coolest part of the game :).

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Fairly short, but pretty funny and fun to play, didn't find it that challenging though, made it to the end on almost full health!

osthekake says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Hehe. Phone sanitizers. Reference to HHGTTG?

PaperBlurt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:08pm

It's kinda looks like a green Barney in a kids friendly Godzilla version!
Love it..

Snoother says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Well-paced, with the number of helicopters by the end being pretty overwhelming (in a good, challenging way). It was pretty funny at times too. Gameplay-wise it could have been enhanced a bit -- maybe with the ability to destroy, not damage, buildings; or something like being able grab helicopters. Also some killer, forceful music would have been good.

But overall it is really fun.

(By the way, I replied to your comment on my game, if you're interested.)

Snoother says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Ah: I just saw your comment on being able to take down helicopters. Completely missed that in the game. So you can skip over that criticism.

May 10, 2014 @ 12:13am

The audio can get grating, but the humor is great. The dinosaur has some awesome vertical leap!

TobiasW says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:12am

Ha! Take that, Zungo Corp! RAWR! I'm a freakin' underwater dinosaur! My favourite part of this game is probably its adorable slapping motion, demonstrating that he doesn't even need FORCE to destroy those buildings, haha.

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Yeah nap time! Cutest Rampage style game I've ever seen. Loved getting to destroy Uwe Boll not once but twice hahaha. Bigger helicopter bullets would have been nice though :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:10am

Reaaally funny! I enjoyed it :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]