Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Multi Mining Operation

by Peni6 - Jam Entry

An online competitive mining game. Up to 10 players race against the clock to mine & sell as many rare minerals as possible. Dig for victory!

10 players
60 minutes
1 winner!

Music used under licence of Eric Taylor, which is available for free from http://www.mediafire.com/download/1ams7w5efrgvide/EricTaylor-Music-Pack-2014.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#401Innovation(Jam)2.95
#443Overall(Jam)3.10
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#496Fun(Jam)2.76
#612Audio(Jam)2.12
#711Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

kbjwes77 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

This has to be influenced by Motherload

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

Interesting Motherload inspired game

Peni6 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Motherload was indeed our initial inspiration. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to include upgrades but are very proud of the multiplayer component. Thanks for your comments!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I'd love to play, but I don't have Windows, sorry!

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

This was a bit too much motherload and I think you could probably have played around with the concept a bit more. Some of the graphics didn't quite fit and the music was a bit repetitive. However, the art for the tiles was very well detailed and I'm very impressed by the multi-player aspect of the game (even though I never got to see it in action).

I think ideally try not to focus too much on multi-player since ludum dare gamesare meant to be short quick game you can play by yourself

Peni6 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Thanks for the comments guys.

davidwparker, I'm uploading Linux and Mac versions very soon, check back later!

DazKins, appreciate the feedback. Both of us on the team really wanted a multiplayer game just because it is cool! However it is still functional and somewhat fun playing singly. Let me know if you want someone else to play with online and I'll hop on!

Wir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

impressive that u made a multiplayer game, we thought of adding it too, but time was to short.

ps.: could you pls check our game again if it works for linux now?

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Impressive multiplayer component!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

Great idea!!!

wilpel1234 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:49am

Cool idea, but i dont have anyone to Play with:/

mechabit says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:58pm

good job getting a multiplayer game into a jam

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:19am

took me a while to realise i needed to wait a bit for the blocks to mine - some kind of audio cue for digging would have worked well here!

unfortunately didn't get to experience the multiplayer aspect

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:05pm

It seems to crash when touching the right edge of the map one tile below the "surface level". Too bad I had to play by myself, really nice to see someone undertake such a project though! Some visual/audio indicator of the drilling would've been nice.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sink says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Cool idea but it seemed to have a poor connection. Gotta have respect for the cool idea and ambition though!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]